We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, Dog Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel River Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel River Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Palm Desert,CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We loved staying here with our dog. There are at least 10 acres and places to walk your dog and even a grassy area, so if you have a dog, this is a great place. There are various sized cottages which I would recommend (but not next to the laundry) as well as your typical motel rooms.,
It's a short drive to the town of Carmel, so location is convenient and Carmel is a very dog friendly town.

Room Tip: Avoid laundry room cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    79
    35
    23
    22
See reviews for
51
88
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have used Moonstone Properties before because they are pet friendly and high quality hotels. We have been to Cambria Pines Lodge quite a bit in the past and wanted to try a different area on the Central Coast. Carmel River Inn did not disappoint! The grounds are quiet and beautiful. A great deal of open space to walk the dogs and enjoy nature. The cottages are small but nice.
There are a few things that need improving. The young man at the front desk needs to take "friendly" lessons. He was just a bit abrupt. The beds are not as comfortable as the ones in Cambria but not terrible. The gas fireplace stopped working both nights we were there and I had to re-light the pilot early each morning but not a big deal.
If you are looking for a 5 star resort then don't bother…you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a clean, well kept cottage, minutes from the beautiful city of Carmel and don't want to pay an arm and a leg then Carmel River Inn is your place.
We stayed in cabin #35, Juan Alvarado. It had a gas fireplace, bathtub and shower, private outdoor patio and a minifrig and microwave. It was recently remodeled and we couldn't ask for anything else. We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Go to their website to find a property map with each room's amenities then pick and choose what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in the rooms (not the cottages). The block of rooms is nothing special to look at from the outside, but the room was perfectly acceptable. It was well sized and nicely presented. The bed was excellent - firm but not too hard. We were on the first floor and it had a little balcony overlooking some trees.
The bathroom was fine but a little worn. There were marks and chips in the sink and floor. Nothing terrible, but could probably do with a little improvement work.
You can definitely hear people walking past the room and cars coming and going, but it was pretty quiet at night.
For Carmel - which is a very expensive place - this hotel is good value.
The check-in staff were polite, but not overly friendly.

Room Tip: We asked for an upstairs room away from the staircase, to minimize the noise of people walking past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Olde but it's not in terrible shape. But there was no air conditioning or heat. It got a little stuffy even though it was cool outside. Close to Pebble Beach. And right across the highway from a grocery store and a Walgreens. No tub just standup shower.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Last minute looking to stay affordably a night in Carmel, we stumbled upon this place. We opted for a cottage, king bed with a kitchenette. The grounds were very well done, with gardens, walking paths and even a lawn with hammocks and a swing. It felt very private, with plants, bushes and trees separating the little patios. The rooms were by no means fancy, and certainly need updating. But they were cozy, clean and just right for a little get away. Some even have fireplaces. They do have a few renovated cabins, we peeked inside and they were newer and cute.
The location is convenient, even walkable, to the main beach and shopping centers. No view and not much sound of the ocean, but set back from the main road and they have little fountains you can hear running all night.
The service was top notch. We were originally booked next to the laundry room, a complaint I'd read about in another review. All we had to do was ask, and we got switched to one of two options. When we inquired about their charcoal grills they promptly brought us one, charcoal and tools included. Not only that, the delivery came with 2 gifts for our pups. Won't spoil the surprise, but the dogs were happy and it made us smile.
We will absolutely be back. To sum it up, close to attractions and centers; quiet garden grounds; clean cozy rooms and great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a single cottage, because they do have duplex style. They have a few renovated rooms, and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russian River area
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Cottages in various sizes; some have a kitchenette, living room, wood-burning fireplace;
others are just studio size - bedroom, bath; Grounds are lovely; Many places to walk your
dog; location is near shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Reserved a room in the "lodge". When we got there we had been upgraded to a cottage. The cottage was at the very end of the drive, kind of far removed, not crazy about the location so we went back and "downgraded" ourselves back into a regular room. Old cabin/motor lodge place. The doors were all Dutch doors, which is ok, small locks to keep the door "together", then regular dead bolts. Clean room, bathroom could use some work, sink was heavily pock marked but painted over, some caulking beginning to peel. Comfortable beds. Nice pool, but it was mid December so didn't use it. Nice grounds around the cottages. Booked this place as we were travelling with our dog, so it was pet friendly. Run area and bath for the dogs. People at check in not sure of where some landmarks were, but lots of brochures available. Other than it being a bit worn it was a good value for the location in Carmel.

Room Tip: Cottages were cozy, lots of choices to make...single cottage, duplex cottage, pet friendly, multipl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Address: 26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.