We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to bring you dog!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel River Inn to your Saves list
Carmel River Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Russian River area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to bring you dog!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Cottages in various sizes; some have a kitchenette, living room, wood-burning fireplace;
others are just studio size - bedroom, bath; Grounds are lovely; Many places to walk your
dog; location is near shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    77
    35
    22
    23
See reviews for
55
92
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Reserved a room in the "lodge". When we got there we had been upgraded to a cottage. The cottage was at the very end of the drive, kind of far removed, not crazy about the location so we went back and "downgraded" ourselves back into a regular room. Old cabin/motor lodge place. The doors were all Dutch doors, which is ok, small locks to keep the door "together", then regular dead bolts. Clean room, bathroom could use some work, sink was heavily pock marked but painted over, some caulking beginning to peel. Comfortable beds. Nice pool, but it was mid December so didn't use it. Nice grounds around the cottages. Booked this place as we were travelling with our dog, so it was pet friendly. Run area and bath for the dogs. People at check in not sure of where some landmarks were, but lots of brochures available. Other than it being a bit worn it was a good value for the location in Carmel.

Room Tip: Cottages were cozy, lots of choices to make...single cottage, duplex cottage, pet friendly, multipl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel twice in the past two months and can attest to the comfort of the cottages. This is a very well maintained property with beautiful grounds. The cottages have been remodeled recently, but still have a traditional cabin feel. We felt comfortable bringing our border collie because there was room outside for him to play and they even have a dog-wash station outside for hotel guests to use! On our second stay, we rented a two-bedroom cottage with a fireplace and we were really delighted to sit around the fire with our family and make dinner in the (mostly) equipped kitchen. This place isn't a 5 star hotel, so don't expect down comforters or marble floors. If however, you are looking for a comfortable place for your family and pets, this is it. We loved our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The cottages each have an individual parking space which makes unpacking very easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I were looking to stay in Carmel for Veterans Day weekend. We just wanted a little getaway and weren't really wanting to spend too much. We found this great little inn online and could not believe how reasonable the prices were! We stayed in a little duplex-style cabin that said newly remodeled. Our cabin, Jose Castro, was very clean, bright, and obviously had been updated recently. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was very clean, and the little patio (that I wish we had taken advantage of) was private and quiet. I was really impressed with the whole place. The cottages are spaced apart with parking right by the room. We couldn't hear our neighbors at all. Next time I think I would personally like to try out one of the cottages that wasn't a duplex. On Sunday morning, we went into the front office to ask about trails nearby and recommendations for Big Sur. The man at the front desk was so incredibly helpful and honest about what we should see and what we could skip. It's a short drive (2-3 minutes) to downtown Carmel and just a minute to get to the Barnyard shopping area, where we spent most of our time. It isn't downtown so it's cheaper and less touristy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Carmel! We highly recommend! Thank you for a pleasant weekend away!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staying in one of the cottages is your best bet if you want to vacation in Monterey/Carmel with your dog(s). Great location, you and your canine friends will enjoy the grounds. Close to all the amenities in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stated in cottage 24 for our 5th anniversary. It was setup for dogs but ours had passed away that very morning. The room was very clean so much so I could smell cleanser still in the room. I used the whirlpool tub everyday, just loved it. The gas fireplace made the room very warm and cozy. We loved the king size bed and appreciated the dishes, refrigerator, and microwave. The staff was very helpful in providing all our needs including a complementary chilled bottle of champagne, our dishes washed in the room, and as much towels as needed. The location is off of the highway but surprisingly quiet. We couldn't hear a single person or car in the room. We loved the stay and plan to return. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Since summer was over and rain had, evidently, been scarce, there was no water to be heard flowing in the river behind the inn. The ground floor room was quite nice, until people moved in above us then their heavy footfalls were quite loud. The sound of the sliding glass patio door above was also quite suddenly loud. The highway sounds were nicely muffled by the trees and shrubs planted around the place. The room was spacious enough with the usual amenities, but for a microwave. I found them listed here and therefore got a good price. The staff was very helpful when asked about how to get places. We did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Address: 26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. This Central Coast location offers outdoor activities abound, including camping, kayaking, running and cycling. Just a few miles away, you will find the vast coastlines of Monterey Beach offering everything from dramatic cliffs with breathtaking waterfalls, to sandy beaches great for surfing, fishing and swimming, no matter your reason for visiting the beach, you will find it in Monterey! With its close proximity to the world-renowned village of Carmel-by-the-Sea, famous for its extraordinary charm, guests can also enjoy shopping, visiting the local wineries and enjoying a meal at one of the nearby restaurants. Travel with your dog? You will be happy to know that Bring Fido - one of the largest pet travel websites, give both Carmel Beach and Monterey Beach 5 dog bones and ranks them in the top 10 dog beaches in California! And here is what they have to say, "This is a beautiful beach with the happiest dogs on the planet - you'll see every shape, size, and age, running in the sugar sand and splashing in the aquamarine surf. There is no leash law ..." Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.