We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel River Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel River Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the hotel- not the cottages. The rooms were worn, but charming. We had booked a room with two double beds, but they gave us adjoining separate rooms. We had a nice little balcony to sit with a bottle of wine and enjoy a lovely evening. The bed was super comfy. There was a fridge, but no microwave. And just a single cup coffee maker (i don't think it's possible for those to brew a drinkable cup). But the price was good, the staff nice, it was quiet and clean. Would like to stay at the cottages- they look cute!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    33
    22
    22
See reviews for
51
88
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here because it was dog-friendly and we liked the idea of having our own lil' cottage. It was a thursday & they upgraded us to one of the remodeled cottages. It had a beautiful bathtub with window overlooking a private yard w/patio table & fenced (perfect for our pup). It had a separate shower, nice fireplace, comfy bed, flat screen tv, wireless, mini-fridge & openable windows. There was a good sized lawn area where we could toss balls to our pup & a little hose & soap area to clean her up if necessary. The staff was very helpful & gave us dog-friendly restaurant advice and a coupon for Flaherty's which had great fresh seafood & veggies & the friendliest waitresses. There is a nice trail near the Mission only 1/8 mile from hotel too. We will be back :-)

Room Tip: We loved the lil' cottages. Alvarado is beautifully remodeled. There are also some more rustic o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had never heard of the Carmel River Inn, but we received a promotion and could not pass it up. I'm glad that we didn't. We booked a room in the hotel, not a cottage. When we arrived, they upgraded us to the David Jack's cottage. The room was nice with a fireplace inside and outside, a nice patio with chairs to enjoy the beautiful scenery and close to the swimming pool. The bed was comfy. The bathroom area seemed a little bit dated, but was ok. The hotel staff was very friendly. Even the other visitors at the hotel were friendly.

If you are going to Carmel don't pass up this little hotel.

If I return to Carmel I will stay here again. We were only there for one night and it just wasn't enough to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here mid-week and got a great deal with Travelzoo. It is a bit dated, but clean, and it has a pretty setting of trees and flowers. The walls are a bit thin, but we did not hear too much noise from our neighbors. The staff was very nice and the location was great. We stayed in the two story building, but they also had cabins.

Google Maps got us to the proper location. it is just a right turn off Highway 1 at Oliver St.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

While in Carmel, we made a reservation on this hotel due to its good reputation on Tripadvisor. It did not let us down. It is a very nice and clean hotel. The room was very nice, on the first floor, with a balcony overlooking a garden! The location is great, right next to the Highway, so easy access to the main attractions, and close to Crossroads mall, with everything you need right next-door.
The only complaint I had (and I heard other visitors had the same issue) is the internet connection, which is terrible. Very unstable.
If you are on the first floor you may also hear some noises from the upstairs room. But nothing that bothered us.
But, overall, we had a great stay and highly recommend it!
One tip: if you use the GPS, two locations will show up. Try the Hwy 1 location (you will turn on Oliver Rd from Hwy 1), since the street address will take you to a dead end, and you won't be able to access it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, one year old daughter and I stayed here for one night in March 2013. We stayed in a small cabin which was comprised of the bedroom, the kitchen (which included a small table with chairs, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, decent counter/cabinet space and dishes), a small bathroom and closet. The bedroom was equipped with a twin bed (which is where my husband slept) a full (or queen...I can't remember exactly) which is where my daughter and I slept, tv, lamp, wall heater. The dog slept on the floor between the two beds. Yes, it was a little small; we had to sit on the beds as there was no other seating, but it was just enough space for us for one afternoon/night. We took the dog for a stroll amongst the grounds, which were rustic and pretty, and even walked into the adjacent neighborhood. We enjoyed it and I feel it was a good deal. The man at the desk was nice and helpful with information when we checked in. Our cabin was located about midway (if one walked from the hotel/pool area to the end of the property) and it was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our second stay here. The fist time we chose it because we were traveling with our dog. This last time we chose to stay here because the first experience was so good. We stayed in a remodeled cabin. The grounds are nicely landscaped with numerous flowering plants, tall trees, and water fountains. The room is cozy, comfortable, and clean. This is not a 5 star hotel and doesn't claim to be. There are no extreme frills or fancy amenities. It's is a quiet, quant, and comfortable place to stay. The grounds are great for a dog. It is a easy ride to town, restaurants and shopping. We had brought a bottle of champagne with us and were thrilled to see that they stock a couple of wine glasses in the room. They also had plates and flatware, which we appreciated as we also ordered takeout and ate in the room. We will for sure stay here, along with our dog, on our next trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Address: 26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.