We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel River Inn to your Saves list
Carmel River Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Corona, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quaint Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had never heard of the Carmel River Inn, but we received a promotion and could not pass it up. I'm glad that we didn't. We booked a room in the hotel, not a cottage. When we arrived, they upgraded us to the David Jack's cottage. The room was nice with a fireplace inside and outside, a nice patio with chairs to enjoy the beautiful scenery and close to the swimming pool. The bed was comfy. The bathroom area seemed a little bit dated, but was ok. The hotel staff was very friendly. Even the other visitors at the hotel were friendly.

If you are going to Carmel don't pass up this little hotel.

If I return to Carmel I will stay here again. We were only there for one night and it just wasn't enough to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    79
    37
    22
    23
See reviews for
56
94
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here mid-week and got a great deal with Travelzoo. It is a bit dated, but clean, and it has a pretty setting of trees and flowers. The walls are a bit thin, but we did not hear too much noise from our neighbors. The staff was very nice and the location was great. We stayed in the two story building, but they also had cabins.

Google Maps got us to the proper location. it is just a right turn off Highway 1 at Oliver St.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

While in Carmel, we made a reservation on this hotel due to its good reputation on Tripadvisor. It did not let us down. It is a very nice and clean hotel. The room was very nice, on the first floor, with a balcony overlooking a garden! The location is great, right next to the Highway, so easy access to the main attractions, and close to Crossroads mall, with everything you need right next-door.
The only complaint I had (and I heard other visitors had the same issue) is the internet connection, which is terrible. Very unstable.
If you are on the first floor you may also hear some noises from the upstairs room. But nothing that bothered us.
But, overall, we had a great stay and highly recommend it!
One tip: if you use the GPS, two locations will show up. Try the Hwy 1 location (you will turn on Oliver Rd from Hwy 1), since the street address will take you to a dead end, and you won't be able to access it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, one year old daughter and I stayed here for one night in March 2013. We stayed in a small cabin which was comprised of the bedroom, the kitchen (which included a small table with chairs, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, decent counter/cabinet space and dishes), a small bathroom and closet. The bedroom was equipped with a twin bed (which is where my husband slept) a full (or queen...I can't remember exactly) which is where my daughter and I slept, tv, lamp, wall heater. The dog slept on the floor between the two beds. Yes, it was a little small; we had to sit on the beds as there was no other seating, but it was just enough space for us for one afternoon/night. We took the dog for a stroll amongst the grounds, which were rustic and pretty, and even walked into the adjacent neighborhood. We enjoyed it and I feel it was a good deal. The man at the desk was nice and helpful with information when we checked in. Our cabin was located about midway (if one walked from the hotel/pool area to the end of the property) and it was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our second stay here. The fist time we chose it because we were traveling with our dog. This last time we chose to stay here because the first experience was so good. We stayed in a remodeled cabin. The grounds are nicely landscaped with numerous flowering plants, tall trees, and water fountains. The room is cozy, comfortable, and clean. This is not a 5 star hotel and doesn't claim to be. There are no extreme frills or fancy amenities. It's is a quiet, quant, and comfortable place to stay. The grounds are great for a dog. It is a easy ride to town, restaurants and shopping. We had brought a bottle of champagne with us and were thrilled to see that they stock a couple of wine glasses in the room. They also had plates and flatware, which we appreciated as we also ordered takeout and ate in the room. We will for sure stay here, along with our dog, on our next trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert,CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved this place. We stayed with our dog and found a couple of large wonderful grass areas for ball playing. The little cabin we had was clean and adorable with good atmosphere. There are little patios with outdoor seating which was lovely. It's only about 5 minutes into central
Carmel (by car) and close to a shopping center.

Room Tip: Perhaps don't get the cabin next to laundry, but it does have a private patio in the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Address: 26600 Oliver Road, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93922
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. This Central Coast location offers outdoor activities abound, including camping, kayaking, running and cycling. Just a few miles away, you will find the vast coastlines of Monterey Beach offering everything from dramatic cliffs with breathtaking waterfalls, to sandy beaches great for surfing, fishing and swimming, no matter your reason for visiting the beach, you will find it in Monterey! With its close proximity to the world-renowned village of Carmel-by-the-Sea, famous for its extraordinary charm, guests can also enjoy shopping, visiting the local wineries and enjoying a meal at one of the nearby restaurants. Travel with your dog? You will be happy to know that Bring Fido - one of the largest pet travel websites, give both Carmel Beach and Monterey Beach 5 dog bones and ranks them in the top 10 dog beaches in California! And here is what they have to say, "This is a beautiful beach with the happiest dogs on the planet - you'll see every shape, size, and age, running in the sugar sand and splashing in the aquamarine surf. There is no leash law ..." Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.