We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a terrific central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Save Saved
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Binfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a terrific central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Located right on Ocean Avenue and in the centre of Carmel's Golden Rectangle this is a really nice hotel with access on foot to everything Carmel has to offer. The hotel takes up most of one block with street access on 3 sides and a quaint courtyard within. The room was small (but that was a deliberate choice on my part) yet comfy and well equipped. Il Fornaiao restaurant is right on the premises and is an excellent choice for a meal at any time of day. The parking can be a bit tight as there are limited spaces but in 4 days there I always found a space. If the weather's fine there's nothing else to ask for.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    135
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
36
255
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greensboro, nc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Loved the odd shaped rooms, stairways, and uniqueness of this old inn. You could never get that feel in a nation chain. It has old school decor lots of reds and golds and dark furniture, not that it's a bad thing, it just adds to the feeling of being in a special little town. Plus everything was in great condition. The room was large with a view of the ocean in the distance. Enjoyed being able to open all the windows and catch the fresh breezes at night with no noise. It's a quite town after 9pm. The location is in heart of the village, you can walk to restaurants, bars, shopping, and if you don't mind a hill or two the beach. Room service was quick and helpful, the bed very big and comfy, and breakfast in the restaurant was a solid B+, the eggs and coffee ok but the fresh juice and pastries perfect. Parking was limited but free.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman MT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We went to Carmel for a girls trip and wanted to stay where we wouldn't have to drive. This is the place! While the rooms look a little something the Queen would wear, the beds were super comfortable, big bathrooms, perfect for having dinner out and stumbling back to the room. Breakfast is included and was perfectly acceptable. Best of all, they made us to-go drinks for our rooms so we could watch the Giants in our jammies! The people at the hotel and restaurant are very helpful and accommodating. If you get sick of shopping, the beach is minutes away. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Pine Inn for our honeymoon. I informed them of the reason for our stay when making our reservations. Not only was there a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling in our room when we arrived, but they also informed the restaurant affiliated with the hotel, Il Fornaio, that it was our honeymoon, so our first dinner there we were "guests of honor" receiving star treatment. The staff is courteous and helpful, rooms are clean and nicely appointed, and the rates are extremely reasonable, especially for Carmel. I would recommend Pine Inn highly to anyone looking for a comfortable, relaxing stay.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We have always stayed at the Pine Inn when we visit Carmel. The central location means that you can walk to the beach, shops, galleries and restaurants, which is unusual for an American town. The staff are most friendly and helpful. Sure, the rooms are not as large as in regular chain hotels, but they more than make up for this in charm and originality. Il Fornaio restaurant is highly recommended, for dinner and the complimentary breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I thought it was really all a person needs in the way of a hotel. the only problem was the stariways made wheeled luggage a tiny bit of a problem and the rooms with views were too limited, but...who needs a view when you are in Carmel. You should be walking around outside enjoying the delightful community.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel reminded us of a lovely hotel in Amsterdam. It was cozy with seating areas and lovely decor. The rooms were beautifully appointed and also very cozy. The adjoining restaurant, Il Fornaio, was very good, indeed. It's location in Carmel was ideal, in the heart of shopping. It is not good, however, for people who need an elevator (unless there was one hidden somewhere.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.