We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Location, What more could you want?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegance and Location, What more could you want?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We walked in to a beautiful lobby, decorated in rich reds, located right in the middle of town on Ocean Ave. The town was very busy due to the U.S. Open ending, but the staff even though short handed was very helpful and accommodating. We checked into our quaint room. By American standards, they are a bit small, but the location makes up for the room size. The hotel is historic so there are no elevators, so be prepared to carry your luggage and do stairs. Again it is all worth it, especially if you get an ocean view room. Breakfast came with our room and was a nice buffet of hot items, like bacon, eggs and potatoes, as well as yogurt, fruit and rolls. The attendants were kind and polite. Overall the atmosphere of the hotel was lovely, the staff accommodating and friendly and the location could not be beat. You will definitely enjoy the Pine Inn and Carmel, it is like stepping foot into a fairy tale.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    170
    85
    23
    11
See reviews for
54
301
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is very old but clean and comfortable. Resturant is excellent! I would definately stay at the Pine Inn in the future. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was large!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

You are welcomed with a huge fireplace and comfortable lobby furnished with antiques. Rooms are nicely furnished with comfortable bedding and wonderful down pillows. Hallways and staircase are narrow and there is no elevator. This is a historic inn! Staff is friendly and helpful in every way. We were missing vouchers for our package and it was taken care of immediately. The restaurant is wonderful and breakfast included is a full breakfast. Location could not be better-2 blocks from the beach. Price is very reasonable for the various packages.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were only planning to stay in Carmel for one night at another nearby hotel and then we were going to head out to San Francisco. Well we enjoyed Carmel so much we wanted to stay another night and the hotel we were staying in but they were already booked, but highly recommended the Pine Inn. We called and were greeted by a very welcoming voice on the other end of the phone. Alli made us feel very welcomed and she met our needs when we arrived. We were pleasantly impressed with the decor and the beautiful spacious room we stayed in. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable and the spa robes they provided were luxurious. We never had to phone the front desk for anything and was treated just as nice when we left as when we arrived. This was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and I will highly recommend it to others. I am global event coordinator and am usually treated very well especially when a contract is going to be signed. I did not disclose this information at all and was treated as if I was a big client. That is customer service at its best for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Carmel is a lovely town with lots of great shops and a truly gorgeous beach. However, the Pine Inn is not the place to stay to enjoy it. The other reviews do not seem to accurately represent our experience of staying at the hotel. The room had a layer of dust, and we were woken (without warning or apology) by builders clambering around on the roof literally outside our room. Furthermore, the room itself was actually in a separate part of the block and therefore a real pain to get to with cases and of course parking was an additional walk away. We hope to return to Carmel soon -- but rest assured we won't be staying at the over-priced and over-rated Pine Inn.

P.S. Breakfast was not even worth bothering with. A rude and disinterested staff member simply went around looking grumpy, while the selection of food on offer was very poor indeed. It was a disappointing end to our stay at the Pine Inn. Avoid it.

P.P.S. We would however recommend the great restaurant in Carmel: Demetras.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
With all due respect to the guest writing this review, we were in the process of painting the outside of the East Wing building, which is located right next to the main building. Knowing that the painters would be around the outside of the building, I wrote a letter describing the process and scope of the painting to be performed. The letter was placed in each guest room for viewing. As the letter stated, the painting would begin daily at 9 am and conclude daily at 4 pm. Furthermore, the letter stated that if there were any concerns I could be reached at extension # 403. I (we) never heard from any guests complaining about the painting.

The parking lot is located behind the hotel and is just as accessible from the East Wing as it is from the main building, perhaps even quicker to reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Right in the middle of town, great location. States it has parking, but beware, we were told that since it was a holiday weekend and they were completely booked, it was first come - first serve, so parking may not be there. Also, no breakfast provided on the weekend! Otherwise, very nice place with a very nice staff!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

After reading so many "outdated hotel" reviews, I was not expecting much and was SO shocked to see how lovely this hotel is in reality. Who is bashing this hotel??? It reminds me of a European style hotel that is full of charm and history. The location is fabulous, the staff was amazing, the breakfast was delish and even the linens were up to my high standards. Did I mention that we had a walk-in closet???!!!

I actually feel bad for this hotel re: the online reviews, it doesn't seem fair and had me alarmed. I'm so glad we kept our reservation and stayed at this charming old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.