We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint historic hotel, great location, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quaint historic hotel, great location, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed several times at the Pine Inn.
You can't beat the location, right on the main drag close to everything in Carmel.
The hotel is a relic, but a fun one, of a bygone era. It keeps its historic charm. That means that, though the rooms have modern conveniences and are decorated in period styles, you won't find the latest style of decor. That's not why you go here anyway; it's for the charm
Nice romantic getaway.
Breakfasts are very good and usually included.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    144
    71
    21
    11
See reviews for
39
274
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is centrally located on Ocean Avenue, the main street of Carmel-by-the-Sea. One can easily walk to the beach or visit the shops and galleries. The staff is friendly and the rooms, although not luxurious, are quite comfortable. A full breakfast buffet is included in the connecting Il Fornaio Restaurant on weekdays, and breakfast can be purchased on weekends. A big benefit in this town of limited off-street parking is the free parking provided in the inn's lot across the street. The inn does not allow pets, so I will not be staying there the next time I take my dogs, but I would stay here again when traveling without them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east wing are away from the restaurant exhaust fan. Our room # 33 had twin beds, a pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night and found it a pleasant hotel with slightly dated decor but very friendly staff, free Wi Fi is available and there is a separate coffee shop and restaurant on site.
Parking in Carmel is not so easy but if you can get a space in the car park it is very close to the hotel.
Carmel buildings have no numbers in the address so keep you eyes peeled or you may drive past the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Frequent traveller totally charmed in this hotel, very special atmosphere in perfect location. Old but still going strong. Stylish breakfast area, and in house italien restaurant. Open terrace and room w a view. Highly recommended, we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was the last stop on an amazing trip up the CA coast to San Francisco, Napa and Carmel. We were very excited to stay in this cute beach town of adorable cottages and shops.

When we arrived, we had to trust the Navigation to find as anything in Carmel there is no street addresses. Just locations like "Between 6th and Ocean Ave." Once we finally found it, we checked in and was a little surprised at the lack of service. We gave up on waiting for the Bell man to help carry our bags to the Room.

The room itself was dated, not the type of furniture you would expect to see in a beach town. The worst part, the room had poor ventilation and only the bedroom had a window to allow fresh air inside. Never felt comfortable...Felt like I was staying in a museum. They also gave us a silly coupon ($5) to use for breakfast. Passed on that!

Loved Carmel and the town, hated the Pine Inn...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Pine Inn is right in the heart of Carmel. Authentic, historic but immaculate. The buffet breakfast had lots of variety. Parking was convenient. There is a restaurant and a breakfast/ lunch bistro that is great if you want to take a picnic lunch with you for a day heading down the coast to Big Sur, one of the most spectacular drives I have ever taken.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We recently spent a night in a corner bay-view room at Carmel's Pine Inn. We were there for a special dinner so staying there made sense. Our room was spacious with a wonderful period-piece king bed. Our only problem was a nonfunctioning outlet in the bathroom. I'm sure it will be fixed by the next time we stay there. If stairs are a problem, this is not your place to stay. All rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floors with indoor stairs. It was not a problem with us, especially with the cheerful helpful porters. Having a restaurant on the premises made for a convenient breakfast, which was very good. The dinner at our event was excellent. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.