We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Pine Inn is right in the heart of Carmel. Authentic, historic but immaculate. The buffet breakfast had lots of variety. Parking was convenient. There is a restaurant and a breakfast/ lunch bistro that is great if you want to take a picnic lunch with you for a day heading down the coast to Big Sur, one of the most spectacular drives I have ever taken.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    159
    77
    22
    11
See reviews for
48
289
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We recently spent a night in a corner bay-view room at Carmel's Pine Inn. We were there for a special dinner so staying there made sense. Our room was spacious with a wonderful period-piece king bed. Our only problem was a nonfunctioning outlet in the bathroom. I'm sure it will be fixed by the next time we stay there. If stairs are a problem, this is not your place to stay. All rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floors with indoor stairs. It was not a problem with us, especially with the cheerful helpful porters. Having a restaurant on the premises made for a convenient breakfast, which was very good. The dinner at our event was excellent. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pine Inn in May. Great location. Really nice staff especially Tom who was super friendly and gave us great restaurant suggestions. They also provide complimentary bottles of water in the room which is nice. In addition you can park in their hotel lot (if space available)! Only negative for me personally is that since it is an older historic hotel it doesn't have that renovated, modern, crisp feel, it feels slightly aged. It also seemed that a lot of the rooms were different sizes since historic building, I wonder how they big who gets the bigger 1 bedrooms versus the smaller ones.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Historic Pine Inn is a lovely facility with the ambiance of a by-gone era. The lobby is charmingly Victorian and the rooms with the ocean view are well-sized, clean, and well-appointed. The hotel's location is great for walking all over downtown Carmel. However, on both the Friday and Saturday nights we were at Pine Inn in mid-May, there were loud, music-driven, outdoor parties on the patio below that went on till after 10pm. It was annoying enough to suggest that guests in rooms facing the ocean might want to inquire ahead of arrival about parties on the nights they plan, then ask for different rooms. Other than that, the hotel is worth a visit!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, KY, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Located on the main drag in Carmel-by-the-sea, this establishment was a nice place to stay, but a few caveats for those who are interested. My room was small, but very comfortable. The bed and pillows were wonderful. No air conditioning, so be prepared for lots of street noise. No elevator, so ask ahead of time if handicap accessible rooms available. If you are security conscious or concerned, there was direct access from the street- no doors- to all floors. Stairs are out of sight from the lobby, which is somewhat difficult to find. Parking is free, but the lot is very small. I had to park on the main street a block away. Restaurants and shops in the area are fun. Service is fair. The desk clerk called a bellman to show me how to get to my room, which was complicated. He pointed up the stairs and gave me a few turn left/turn rights.
If you really want to stay on the main drag of Carmel-by-the-Sea, it's fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson,Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Carmel, and a fantastic stay at the Pine Inn. I have been staying there for 20 years, and it always makes me want to return. I think it is amazing that the original building was built in the 1800's, and moved, somehow, to it's present, perfect location over looking the ocean, and the beautiful town of Carmel. The staff is wonderful, from the front desk, to the bell man, and the evening service that turns down the covers at night, and leaves the next day's forecast, and a chocolate. One room hint-room #1 is wonderful for the elderly, because of very few, if any steps. Also, I always book in advance, and request an ocean view room. All hotels have rooms that vary in ambiance, and you usually get what you pay for, or you get what's left, because you did not book early. I love this hotel, and will return again, and again.

Room Tip: Room #1 is nice for elderly, and someone who would prefer few, or no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Although the hotel is not very accomodating for the elderly or handicapped, the location was perfect and we had a very enjoyable stay at the historic Pine Inn. The staff was very helpful and friendly and accomodated us quite well. You still have to climb a length of stairs to the first floor of guest rooms, as they do not have an elevator. But, our room was very nice, large, clean and the bed was really quite comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, but the huge closet made up for it as it included a built in dresser, which made up for the limited space in the bathroom. We also had a lovely view of the ocean and could sit in our room and enjoy the sunset.

I really like the charm and character of an older hotel and would definately stay here again, although not likely with an elderly parent.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly when booking your room, otherwise you might be surprised by how small some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.