We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our road trip in California. This hotel was the first hotel built in Carmel, it is very quaint and traditionally decorated. The location of the hotel was 10/10, as was the restaurant and bakery. Our room was comfortable but small. There was no air conditioning which wasn't a problem for us as it wasn't summer, but I would imagine it may be a problem when it's really hot. The staff are helpful and happy to advise about restaurants etc. parking is available but there's not enough spaces, so we had to get up early to get a space. Carmel is lovely and the beach area is beautiful too.
When requesting any help at reception, it was slightly off putting being watched carefully by other staff members sitting in a room behind main reception. Whilst never rude these people listened and stared the whole time. The hotel has a lot of charm and character and we would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    156
    75
    22
    11
See reviews for
43
286
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Pine Inn has a beautifully decorated lobby and the building is a historic one. The location is excellent because it is directly on Ocean Ave in the heart of all the quaint restaurants and shops. The rooms are small as expected because of the age of the hotel. Decor seems a bit dated. Noise from other rooms is a bit of a problem. When we checked in to our room we immediately noticed a strong musty odor. We asked to be moved to another room and the smell was somewhat improved. The room was neat and clean but if you notice little things like I do, you'll see that the blinds were rather dusty. If your goal is to stay in an historic inn, you will probably like Pine Inn. Many people probably aren't bothered by that "old house musty smell" but we thought it was unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I only stayed there overnight but wished we had extended our stay. The hotel was very clean and we loved the old world charm. The staff were very friendly and we greatly appreciated the free room upgrade to a bigger room. The buffet breakfast at the restaurant was good. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After eventually finding the hotel - we arrived at night and there are no street lights - we were checked in quickly. We found the staff friendly and the buffet breakfast very nice. The beach is at the bottom of the road and there are lots of shops and restaurants/cafés on Ocean Avenue. Our room did not have air con. only a ceiling fan, so was quite hot even with the windows open. Carmel is a lovely place to visit and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callicoon, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

On the spur of the moment we booked a room at the Pine Inn and found everything to be wonderful. The adjoining restaurant had delicious food in a nice milieu. We would recommend the Pine Inn as a great and charming place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: We received a special rate when we called so ask if there are any specials available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We turned up at the front desk without a reservation. Carla the lady at the desk was so great we only intended to stay one night but we were having so much fun we stayed two. Great hotel with a really good breakfast included. It was such a convenient location close to the beach and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. Loved it can't wait to go back. We got a great rate on the room, $50 less than the rate posted online. Thank you Carla with the friendly face!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We picked this Inn because it allowed us to stay a Sat with no 2 night minimum. The rooms are very small, and there is a centralized heating systems (radiators) making our room about 80 while we tried to sleep. We did turn off the radiator, but we were on the third floor, so the heat rose.

We had friends in an even smaller room in the other part of the hotel, and they had to have fans brought up as they could not sleep.

It is connected to an Il Fornaio restaurant and we did receive a $40 credit to eat there.

Lastly, they have a small parking lot which was full the entire time we were there which required us to move our car a few times so we did not get a ticket.

All this for $209 plus tax. I can see how it would be difficult to remodel a building like this - it's an old building. I would have preferred to stay outside Carmel, and drive in since we had to move the car anyway.

Room Tip: There are some larger rooms. Our friends were able to change to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.