We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old World Charm in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Carmel and provides excellent service. The old world European elegance is wonderful, especially as decorated for Christmas. However, it would not be the place for anyone with limited mobility. The narrow stairs and uneven flooring can make moving around - even in you room difficult.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    144
    73
    22
    11
See reviews for
39
275
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We loved the beautiful European elegance of this hotel's decor (especially the lobby), the central location and the friendly service at reception. The hot breakfast was not disappointing either. However we were unlucky with the two standard rooms assigned for our one night stay, which were on the second floor on the backside of the hotel facing a parking lot (rooms 16 and 17). The problem was that these rooms were directly over the hotel's restaurant back door and trash cans. We were awoken twice during the night, once after 11 am by dumping of what sounded like a big load of glass, and then again at 7 am by the emptying by a recycling truck. Best to avoid this side of the hotel if you want a peaceful night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the backside, which face a parking lot and back of the restaurant (noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

And we LOVE the Pine Inn. You can't ask for a better location than being right on Ocean Ave in the heart of it all. Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast included. It's not cheap, but I guess I'm saying it's nice that they don't charge an additional fee for these things. I had read some negatives about noise but did not experience any of that. We stayed in room 34, a king room overlooking the courtyard with no walls adjacent to another room. Our package included a $40 voucher for dinner at Il Fornaio which is adjacent to the Inn, which is also where breakfast is served. The food is excellent. We also had breakfast at La Bicyclette and lunch at Village Corner, both very good. The highlight of our dining experience in Carmel was dinner at Dametra Café. If you like Greek/Mediterranean and a LIVELY atmosphere, you will love this place! Ladies wear your dancing shoes...just sayin'.
Our first visit to Carmel was simply wonderful and our stay at the Pine Inn helped make it so. I would stay there again and again. Hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Room 34 a king room was quiet and suited us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Spent wonderful evening recently at the Pine Inn in Carmel. Great hotel. Ambiance was perfect. Great location right in the heart of Carmel. Pricey but worth it. Parking is limited so you have to time it right to get a space in their lot, but not a big deal in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Perfect Location, perfect room, excellent breakfast and good service. Just perfect. This is one to revisit. Carmel is a delight with great restaurants and shops. The beach is beautiful and we watched a school of dolphin come close to shore

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Pine Inn couldn't be better positioned - walk out the front door and you're smack in the centre of Carmel and 5 minutes from the beach. The building is old and has bags of character - a real old fashioned hotel experience with great service. The age does have one or two disadvantages, the main one from our perspective being the very noisy air conditioning unit which seemed to be on the roof above our 3rd floor room at the back of the building. It did disturb our sleep, especially as we were still getting over jet lag. The room itself was perfect for our needs and the breakfasts were also very good (choice of tea not great if you like normal breakfast tea, but this seemed to be a problem in California generally, not exclusive to the Pine Inn). Parking is limited in the lot behind the hotel, but it didn't affect us and there is plenty of street parking in Carmel.
Carmel itself is a beautiful little town with a fabulous beach. Nice relaxed feel to the place in spite of its celebrity status and we wished we had stayed longer. Great choice of restaurants - we ate in La Bicyclette which was very high quality, and The Grill, where the food was also of a good standard.
Carmel Mission is worth a visit and of course the scenery on Big Sur is a highlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in October. Our room had a great view of the bay and the room was nice and clean and big. The service was good except for the second evening; the maid came to turn down the bed at 7pm when I had just come out of the shower. I asked her to come back in 10 minutes, but she said she had another hotel to service. That was weird. But generally the people were nice and the service good. Nice hotel. A couple of bones to pick:
1. The breakfast was free on Friday morning and it was a great meal, all you could eat. On Saturday however, they give you $5 vouchers for the restaurant attached to the hotel. Really? You can't splurge $10-$15 with the prices you charge?
2. You had to jiggle the toilet handle sometimes.
3. The window wouldn't stay open.
That said, the place is nice, great location, and a nice room. For $260/night I didn't expect the problems and probably would stay at a different place next time for less money.

Room Tip: Good views on the third floor, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.