We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Powell, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The Pine Inn is a charming old hotel in the center of Carmel. It does have its quirks, but it is old and beautiful and that just added to its charm. Our room was clean had a fantastic view of the town. We were on the third floor and didn't feel the lack of an elevator was a problem. However, if stairs are a problem for you, this probably would not be a good choice. The staff was fantastic. Everyone we spoke with was friendly and helpful- making suggestions for restaurants, giving directions and even returning an earring I lost the first night there. Breakfast in the restaurant was good- both from the menu on the weekend and the buffet during the week. I was very impressed with the buffet as hotel breakfast buffets are usually unremarkable, but everything was fresh and hot and the selection was good. We only did dinner one night in the restaurant, but it was very good and we regretted not eating there again. Parking on the weekend was a little bit of a pain, but from Sunday on we had no problem finding a spot in the lot. The location is on the lower edge of the shopping/restaurants and only a few blocks from the beach. It is an easy walk down, but uphill coming back-a very refreshing early morning walk. If we return to Carmel I would not hesitate to stay at The charming Pine Inn. My only complaint (which has nothing to do with the inn) is that ALL the shops and galleries in Carmel close early (5-6 pm). There is literally nothing open except the restaurants and bars after that time. I really wanted to visit the shops and galleries but I had too many other things planned during the day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    150
    74
    22
    11
See reviews for
40
280
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KC-MO
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

So we start with a third floor room- oh did I say no elevators and narrow - oh yes historic and charming staircase. But then--oops the card doesn't work-- you know the drill.
So then the toilet is plugged--and yes plugged the second day too--no we only used it appropriately. Then the windows don't open and frankly I don't know what I would have done I. A fire!! No sign in the room.
Then the Internet didn't connect x 2 days. Donna at the front desk said her GMs iPhone connected so the problem was mine--indeed it was -ugh
So was it terrible no!
What about the buffet breakfast.
For many non-Americans I can only apologize - the spread was meager, the bread scraps left over from their Italian restaurant
Carmel is expensive so if you get here cheap know what you're getting.
Frankly a disappointment- needs some infrastructure, some better caring management a better food service- besides that great

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Potential Guests,

I am somewhat at a loss on how to respond to this guest.

Let me first say that I (we) am very sorry that the accommodations were not up to this guests' expectations. I sincerely wish that this guest would have contacted the front desk or me during his stay. By doing so, we could have listened to the issues and made the necessary repairs or simply moved the guest to another room.

With regard to life safety issues, there is an evacuation plan located in the Guest Directory as mandated by Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Lastly, the full American breakfast buffet that is complimentary to the guests serves freshly cooked food each morning. We have a bakery on property where the breads and pastries are freshly made each morning as well. Our restaurant, Il Fornaio translates to "The Baker" in English, hence the freshly made breads and pastries.

Sincerely,

John Lloyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place. The room was comfortable and having windows that opened to let in the sea breeze yet remained quite was the best. Breakfast was served in the adjoining restaurant in a beautiful, sunny glass enclosed porch. The entire experience was very romantic and relaxing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our deluxe patio queen room was not in the main building, which was a plus. We were only a few yards from Carmel's main street, but didn't hear any noise. The bathrooms are huge and the bedrooms are spacious. The included breakfast buffet at the restaurant had scrambled eggs, potatoes, French toast, oatmeal, bacon, fruit, pastries and bread. The only negative is that the rooms don't have coffee pots so we couldn't heat up water for tea when we returned to our room after dinner. If you're over 62 be sure ask for the senior discount.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rooms are small and nicely equipped. Average friendly service. 4* breakfast. We had a great dinner just across the street in Portabella (they do a discount for guest of Pine Inn – which the restaurant were kind enough to tell us). Free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped off in Carmel for 1 night on our way to San Francisco . A charming tree lined town full of art galleries, quaint little shops and restaurants. The hotel we stayed in was the historic Pine Inn. It is an old style Inn hotel situated in the centre of town in a little courtyard setting admist lovely antique shops and galleries. On arrival we had a very warm welcome from the staff on reception. The hotel was busy and had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was traditional small... but cosy although it didn't benefit from the modern convenince of air conditioning, the receptionist quickly provided us with a fan for our room which was very welcomed. It was a lovely touch to recieve complementary breakfast tokens and we enjoyed l the tasty breakfast in the morning which had a good range of hot breakfast and pastries. We also checked out their restaurnat Il Fornaio where we had an excellent experience for dinner, its a lovely italian restaurant ( I believe part of a chain in California). Service was really good a choice of dishes... I had the penne in a Vodka cream sauce... it was delicious one of the tastiest pasta dishes I've had. Overall we enjoyed the old world charm and personable stay at the Pine Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon that was spent on Hwy 1 of the Coast of California.

Located in the heart of Ocean Avenue 3-4 blocks from the ocean, the location was perfect! The Pine Inn stands out from other hotels with it's charming white tall building that is anchored with quality boutiques on the first floor. The Inn is nicely decorated with an 1880's elegance charm that made us feel like we paid a million bucks!

Built in the 1880's, we expected the hotel to be run down and have an 'old wood' smell but we did not experience that at all. It's ornate 1880's inspired decor carried throughout the hotel from the lobby to the individual rooms.

The breakfast that is included Mon-Friday has a variety of choices and is hosted in the in-house restaurant, il Fornaio.

Room Tip: Room 17 has a view of hotel's private parking lot and street. Not horrible but not the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.