We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Save Saved
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended Inn. Beautifully presented albeit the bathroom was very small other than that we loved our very short sty and wished we had longer. The reception design makes you feel like you're transported back in time and the staff were very pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    118
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
32
225
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent 3 wonderful nights at this charming inn located just 3-4 blocks from the ocean. (Breakfast which was included) was quite ample and very tasty though the same every morning. The staff is more than hospitable and though they had met us only upon checking, they remembered our name and room number each time we approached the reception desk. The room was small but ample and very nicely appointed. Most important of all, it was clean -- and I am PICKY about that. The location is the best as far as we were concerned -- being close to the beautiful ocean and in the midst of quaint shopping. Not going to find run of the mill shops in this area. Only negative factor here is that there is no elevator as it is the oldest inn in Carmel. Assistance with luggage is available.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is in a great location but doesn't have any air conditioning so you need to open your windows to get air into the room.

That's not too bad until the restaurant takes out the trash at 1am or people start blowing the street down at 7 am. Then there is the trash truck at 8, all 10 feet below our open windows. It actually sounds as if they are in the room. For over $200 a night I hope to get a good night's sleep.

If I had it to do again I'd stay away from the Main Street in a quieter area and drive or walk into town.

This isn't so much a knock on the hotel, it is over 100 years old and with no ventilation, I should have known what to expect. If you don't mind stuffy, no worries.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that overlooks the back street, the noise will wake you throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Only spent 1 night he in Carmel and regretted not have more time . The hotel is fairly historic and is a very nice place to stay . Room was very nice with good views . The breakfast was plentiful and tasty although atmosphere a little stuffy. Most staff were friendly. Didn't have a room safe and not all features worked on the TV - minor irritations but the place of Carmel made up for everything

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is located in the best possible place in Carmel, right on the main street and 2 blocks fom the beach. It was built in 1903 and it keeps it's charm! The interior seems old but in a great shape, very clean and cozy. Il Fornaio restaurant inside is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family stayed in Carmel one night as we traveled up and down the West coast. Hotel room was really great size for family with college and teen kids. Room had two double beds. Separated bathroom and sitting area. in addtion has a queen sleeper couch in a full living room. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant, ate in town. However went back to the hotel for coffee and muffins, and pastries later in the day, and coffee and food was great.

The only thing I can say negative about this hotel is the beautiful lobby had too much perfumes or candles or strong smell in it. There is a candle/perfume store next door.

Room Tip: Large Suite on the back of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here this last wee for 3 nights. First, if you've never been to Carmel, it is a relatively small area and if you want to stay near the ocean, your options are very limited. Location is good, parking is TERRIBLE! If you get to the hotel after 4pm, just plan on parking on the street (2 hour parking max, so you will have to move your car). No elevators since it's such an old property, and it is a pain to take your luggage up 3 levels. The bathrooms are very dated, cracked caulking everywhere, virtually no space to move around. Bedrooms are also very small, I've stayed in larger ones in NYC! The bed is comfortable, but the comforter on the bed is dated. We generally stay in Marriott's when we travel, and even if it is a price difference of $50 a night, it's definitely worth it to me to stay in a place with a gym, nice amenities, and a comfortable room.

On the plus side, the staff is extremely nice and the breakfast was above average.

Overall, I will not be staying here again...there are better options close by in Monterrey

Room Tip: Try to get one on a lower floor since there is no elevator, also there is no A/C FYI
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Good Afternoon,

I wanted to write a brief response to this review. It is true that we have no elevators but we have a bellman on duty all day and evening to assist with luggage.

Also, as with many similar hotels in Carmel-by-the-Sea, some rooms are smaller than others. The Pine Inn offers a variety of rooms to include large ocean view rooms, rooms with large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs and several two-room suites.

Thank you for your time.

John Lloyd,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Also Known As:
Pine Hotel
Pine Hotel Carmel
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.