We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Save Saved
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not only is the location wonderful, but the property is too. Our room was very nicely decorated and the people at the front desk were very nice. Carmel is such a beautiful location with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    135
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
36
255
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is a little gem! We just had a 1 night stay here this week
Perfect location in the very centre of Carmel just a 5 min walk down to the beach (downhill but uphill coming back) Carmel itself is so pretty! Lots of boutique shops art galleries and quaint restaurants. It really was a beautiful place to potter around.

Our room at the Pine Inn was very cute if a little small but we could see the sea and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was nice the next day and the hotel had free WiFi and parking.

We had to call down and have someone come and show us how to use the shower in the morning as it was a little complicated but other than than no complaints at all!

Staff very friendly and we really wished we could have stayed longer.

All in all a great option in this quaint beachside town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First time back to Carmel in a decade and first time at Pine Inn. Quaint old hotel in heart of town within an easy walk of the shops and restaurants. Rooms are scattered on 3 levels amongst dining, coffee and shopping areas. Wonderful breakfast included to feast on at the sunny porch. Delightful staff always willing to assist. Parking conveniently adjoins hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We wanted a quiet place to stay before taking on the Big Sur after the hustle and bustle of San Francisco - particularly as the Holiday Inn had been so noisy (we were able to share our neighbours tv programmes through the walls, and the domestics). This served the purpose so well. It was very close to the delightful shops and the beach. I always feel first impressions count and the receptionist was friendly and professional. Within minutes we were checked in. Yes, this place is oldy worldly but that was what we had seen on the Internet and what we wanted for our stay in Carmel. Oldy worldly does not mean poorly maintained (again the H Inn) and everything was extremely clean and we had our first good night since arriving in the US. The bed was so comfortable. Quite small, but anything else would not have fitted.
We ate in the Il Fornaio restaurant where our server could not do enough to help and kept coming out with tasters as this was our first time here. The bar tender was equally good. No cocktail menu, he was just able to make whatever was requested.
If we were ever here again, would have no hesitation booking this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great location. All the rooms are very clean and the food was wonderful. Ask for the patio room if you want a great location in the hotel as some rooms are small and you have to use the stairs. Oscar in the restaurant is a wonderful server and all the hotel personnel are very helpful and friendly. We look forward to visiting again in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Pine Inn several times and nothing has changed. The old world charm of this hotel must be on the visitor's 'ok' list. The décor is Victorian with authentic furnishings. Modern is not a word that comes to mind.
It is a charming and romantic hotel centrally located in Carmel By the Sea. It is one of the few properties within walking distance of all of the restaurants and shops, ocean front, and parks. Then again, every hotel in the central Carmel By the Sea area is within walking distance. The perk of this hotel is the luxury treatment. It's also not bad to walk out the door and take in the beauty of the small town and the ocean air.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. It has an authentic Victorian feel yet is updated and incredibly comfortable. It reminds me of similar Victorian bed and breakfasts where we used to stay on the coast of Maine, yet it also has that particular Northern California charm. The ambience is lovely, from the lobby to the hallways and rooms themselves. We also had a fantastic dinner at Il Fornaio. I would definitely repeat both experiences and the Pine Inn would be my first choice the next time I'm passing through Big Sur.

Room Tip: The beds were way too soft for me. I'm not sure if they have the option of asking for a firm mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.