We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Save Saved
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was nicely decorated, they left us out a bottle of champers for our honeymoon. The bar was quite stuffy, the bar lady wasnt the most friendly. Our view from our room wasn't great, although from the bathroom you could see the sunset! We only stayed a night here and it was great to be so close to the beach and main area. Free car parking and breakfast included during the week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    131
    66
    19
    11
See reviews for
35
248
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I looked online for a good deal in Carmel for our anniversary. The Pine Inn was the perfect location, close to the beach and on the main drag for shopping! When we arrived we were told that we were upgraded to a suite! It was fabulous, two flat screen TV's and a view of the street. Service was first class from the check in to the service at the restaurant (best bar, fabulous dinners and brunch).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the oldest inns in Carmel, and its very traditional lobby decor will telegraph that fact the moment you enter. It is well maintained, however, and the rooms have an old world charm to them as well. The location on lower Ocean Avenue is ideal, and the inn even has its own parking lot - much appreciated on a busy weekend. Other reviewers here have complained about noise and room location. Ours, however, was small but comfortable and had a view of Ocean Ave and the Pacific. On the weekend that we last stayed on Nov, 2012, the room rates were a relative bargain compared to many of Carmel's other lodging options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for one night, the room nice but very small.
the breakfast was great.
the hotel looks very nice with all the decorations inside.
however, to get to our room on the second floor we had to climb the stairs and it was hard with all the luggage. even to get to the lobby we had to climb the stairs.
if you come in the late night you do not have any parking spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
As the general manager of the Pine Inn I wanted to respond to this review. As a reminder, we have a bellman on duty from 6:30 am until 10:30 pm - everyday to assist with luggage. We also have a ramp access to the lobby located just to the right of the stairs that also lead into the lobby.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On weekends in Fall, hotel rooms are at a premium in Carmel. The Pine Inn sits in the center of the downtown area just 3 blocks from the ocean. It sounds perfect until you enter the fading red lobby. Hallways are narrow and rooms are tiny. The bathrooms are small with no counter space. I searched for a hair dryer to no avail. We found it hanging in the closet when we went to check out. We had to carry our own suitcases up the steep narrow staircase. The price was quite high for this quality. This hotel could regain it's glory with a major remodel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rooms were average, small and overpriced but clean and quiet (except the AM banging of workers). Had a view of the parking lot which was always crowded. Had to park on the street overnight and move the car to the parking lot in the AM. Will try another place next time in Carmel.

Room Tip: If you can get a parking spot early, grab it. Hotel staff will not assist with parking or anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is very pleased with itself but guests are likely to be less so. Room 33, where we stayed, looks out on mechanicals on a roof, and the noise from fans kept us awake on a night too stuffy to close the window. The bathroom was ludicrously tiny and cramped. Free parking was a plus, as was downtown location 4 blocks from the Carmel Beach. Parts of the hotel are reachable only up 2 flights of brick stairs

Room Tip: avoid room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.