We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Save Saved
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Marin County, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old School Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the oldest inns in Carmel, and its very traditional lobby decor will telegraph that fact the moment you enter. It is well maintained, however, and the rooms have an old world charm to them as well. The location on lower Ocean Avenue is ideal, and the inn even has its own parking lot - much appreciated on a busy weekend. Other reviewers here have complained about noise and room location. Ours, however, was small but comfortable and had a view of Ocean Ave and the Pacific. On the weekend that we last stayed on Nov, 2012, the room rates were a relative bargain compared to many of Carmel's other lodging options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    135
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
36
255
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for one night, the room nice but very small.
the breakfast was great.
the hotel looks very nice with all the decorations inside.
however, to get to our room on the second floor we had to climb the stairs and it was hard with all the luggage. even to get to the lobby we had to climb the stairs.
if you come in the late night you do not have any parking spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
As the general manager of the Pine Inn I wanted to respond to this review. As a reminder, we have a bellman on duty from 6:30 am until 10:30 pm - everyday to assist with luggage. We also have a ramp access to the lobby located just to the right of the stairs that also lead into the lobby.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On weekends in Fall, hotel rooms are at a premium in Carmel. The Pine Inn sits in the center of the downtown area just 3 blocks from the ocean. It sounds perfect until you enter the fading red lobby. Hallways are narrow and rooms are tiny. The bathrooms are small with no counter space. I searched for a hair dryer to no avail. We found it hanging in the closet when we went to check out. We had to carry our own suitcases up the steep narrow staircase. The price was quite high for this quality. This hotel could regain it's glory with a major remodel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rooms were average, small and overpriced but clean and quiet (except the AM banging of workers). Had a view of the parking lot which was always crowded. Had to park on the street overnight and move the car to the parking lot in the AM. Will try another place next time in Carmel.

Room Tip: If you can get a parking spot early, grab it. Hotel staff will not assist with parking or anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is very pleased with itself but guests are likely to be less so. Room 33, where we stayed, looks out on mechanicals on a roof, and the noise from fans kept us awake on a night too stuffy to close the window. The bathroom was ludicrously tiny and cramped. Free parking was a plus, as was downtown location 4 blocks from the Carmel Beach. Parts of the hotel are reachable only up 2 flights of brick stairs

Room Tip: avoid room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location-close to beach and town. 150.00$ a nite for queen room on 3rd floor. No elevator, garish red flocked walls and outdated furnishings Slanted floors and crooked doors, it felt like you were tipsy with everything uneven- apparently they moved the building at one time and the entire building is not square now. Horrible view of junk outside window. Bad night sleep on too soft bed. Towels old, discolored and felt like sandpaper.
Pay a bit more for quality. Would not recommend unless you like a bordello-like atmosphere and dragging your suitcase up several flights of stairs. Hot room and windows painted shut.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
As the general manager of the Pine Inn I would like to respond to this review. The Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel circa 1889. It is designated an Historic Resource with the City of Carmel. The owner of the hotel has kept that old world charm alive within the hotel. It is true that we do not elevators, however we do have bellmen on duty to assist with luggage.

It is also true that the main building slants a little bit. This is due to the hotel being moved from up the street to its present location around the turn of the century. It was originally named the Hotel Carmelo but after being rolled down the street on pine logs it was renamed the Pine Inn.

The PIne Inn has a variety of guestrooms to include ocean view rooms and luxurious suites in the Penthouse. Likewise, we have rooms with Jacuzzi tubs and wonderful marble bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a perfectly located hotel with a great atmosphere and extremely friendly staff. It matches the vibe of Carmel so well. The lobby is magnificent, although the rooms themselves don't quite match the opulence and are quite basic but pleasant nonetheless. Despite the positioning at the top of the first flight of stairs, the room was very quiet and had distant views of the sea. The breakfast was generous and in a comfortable setting.

I would strongly recommend this hotel in Carmel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.