We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant/Quaint Accommodations--No A/C & Disappointing service Except from One super-nice front desk person” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Elegant/Quaint Accommodations--No A/C & Disappointing service Except from One super-nice front desk person”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We wanted to stay in Carmel but the prices were higher than we wanted. Luckily we found an online special through Priceline for the queen room.
It was hard to find the hotel as the buildings in downtown Carmel do not have address numbers--there are just tons of signs for each shop on buildings that have multiple occupants. The desk clerk was not very helpful when I called to say we were there but could not find the hotel. I called twice, and told her each time where I was, what was in front of, to the left, right, behind me...she had me walk into the fancy restaurant in front of me to ask someone to point me to the hotel lobby. Apparently the hotel and restaurant is connected in the same building--but rather than the girl simply telling me to walk past the restaurant, turn left, and the hotel entrance would be about the 3rd door up some steps, she had me traipse through a fancy restaurant with everyone looking at me and interrupt a waiter to help me. I thought it was put-offish for the girl to pretty much blow me off, and she didn't even apologize or anything when I checked in.
The lobby was fancy, very Victorian. The room was a little small but comfortable. The bed and pillows were EXCELLENT and the most COMFORTABLE ever! The bathroom was nice (marble counter), but being an older building the tub drained slowly when showering. I was surprised that such a nice hotel did not have conditioner, which isn't that big of a deal but in a location like Carmel and the style of hotel it was, I would think they would have had an ounce of conditioner. (The Pine Inn must somehow be affiliated with the Tally Ho in around the corner, as the soap and shampoo labels said "Tally Ho").
Parking was free in their small lot located a block behind the hotel, but we chose to stay in our spot on the street. I could not tell if the lot was full and did not want to give up our spot in the event it was. Wi-Fi was free and worked well.
The room was 31 on the 3rd floor--and there are no elevators. This made it difficult with luggage (we had someone take it up for us) and if anyone has trouble walking it would be hard to go up the older staircases. Being on the 3rd floor also made the room really hot! There was no A/C, so we opened the windows immediately and turned on the ceiling fan. It took quite awhile to cool off the room, and at night we were not certain about leaving the windows open for 2 reasons: 1) there was an outdoor stairwell just next to the one window which would have been easy to enter and climb into our window, and 2) the neighboring buildings would have been able to see right into our room. The sun in the morning was beating in the windows, so it is easy to see why the room was so hot (and a picture was very faded, so the sun must be constant). Our view was also the roof of another building, which was tarred so that could also have caused the heat in our room even though the air temperature was cool.
Breakfast was complimentary until 10:00 am. We arrived around 9:20. There was no oatmeal, no regular coffee, no yogurt, no spoons...(we witnessed an adult man use his bare hand to scoop out brown sugar since there was no spoon--however, that is NO EXCUSE to do something so crass and gross!) The sausage was cold, as were the eggs and the potatoes. There were some pastries, and fresh cubed fruit. I had to ask the hostess if we could get some more yogurt and oatmeal. She seemed like it was a problem or beneath her to take care of this, and she was in no hurry to replenish it--it took her at least 10 minutes to bring out the oatmeal, then eventually the yogurt. (They were not busy but we did not see any waiters/waitresses to ask, and the hostess was just standing at the podium so that is why we approached her.)
At 10:05 a couple came to eat breakfast, but everything had already been put away. When the hotel says 8-10:00, they mean it! Aside from the fact that the couple were obviously late for the stated breakfast, it would seem that the hotel would in fact maintain the temperature of the items and keep them replenished until 10:00. We should not have had to eat cold eggs, sausage, and potatoes, nor should we have had to ask for oatmeal, yogurt, spoons, or coffee.
The front desk girl (Caroline?) was working on the morning of July 19...she was super-perky and super-nice--she totally made up for the rudeness of the girl the night before who couldn't bother to help me find the lobby, and the aloofness of the hostess in the restaurant. Caroline gave us some suggestions of places to see and directions, and was really extremely pleasant and friendly. Too bad the others we experience don't follow suit.
All in all, the hotel was a great value (for the special we were able to obtain) for staying in the heart of Carmel, on the shopping strip about 3-4 blocks from the ocean.

Please note: If it had not been for the disappointing breakfast experience and the poor attitudes of the first front desk girl and hostess at breakfast, I would have rated this hotel as "Excellent" especially given the special price we were able to obtain. But I believe in a service industry--especially at a hotel that is typically much more expensive than what we paid--all aspects should be taken into account to bestow an "Excellent" rating on an establishment. If we had paid regular price I would have rated it "Average" based on the price.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the East (sun beats in, no A/C)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    156
    75
    22
    11
See reviews for
44
286
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Typical last minute plans by me, the husband (aka Mr. Procrastinator) on the 30th Anniversary, turned out to be one of the most memorable. We are a couple of very simple pleasures, but the Pine Inn really went out of their way to make our two day stay fantastic. I squeezed in reservations last minute via TripAdvisor, and let them know I was desperately seeking a room, a barn, a stable, anything at the Inn. It was a surprise for my Wife. Upon arrival, late of course, they presented us with an upgrade to the Penthouse, and a bottle of Champagne for our celebration. Completely unsolicited gesture on their part, made our memories and warmed our hearts.

It's the oldest hotel in Carmel with the best service! Quaint, comfortable, historic, and in the best location ever! 2 blocks to the beach, zero blocks to shopping, and award winning restaurants. Very relaxing and low key.

We will stay here again, and again. They have earned our loyalty. Next year for sure!
~The happy Robertson's.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Really enjoyed our 2-night stay. The facility is quaint, but one must remember it IS a historic buidling. So no elevators, and small rooms, with one huge TV. Staff are friendly as well as the staff at Il Fornaio. I brought my own coffee maker, and obtained a small creamer of 1/2& 1/2 each evening with no problem. We could sit on our bed and see the ocean. The breakfast which is included by Il Fornaio was adequate. Even though this is an old building there are plenty of outlets for culring irons, hair-dryers, and charging cell-phones. Water pressure is great, with plenty of hot water. As someone else mentioned you step out the door and are in the main shopping area. Parking can be stressful, it's free, ....if you can find a spot in the one little lot which filled quickly. This left you having to park on the street with the 2-hour parking limit, making you NOT be able to relax and forget about time. Rooms very clean, and towels were new and sparkling white. My other wish was for a mirro that had magnifying capability, but this is something I wish more hotels/motels had. I would recommend this establishment, but one needs to remember it is and old building, but not old like it smelled musty, or "old'..............it just doesn't have the presentation of a brand new facility. Also of note this facility does not allow pets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The room (Standard King) was nice except for the bathroom.......towels were very old and scratchy on skin and the shower tub combo in desparate need of work. It was very difficult to slide the shower glass doors back and forth and caulking needed work. Also, you have to sign in every time you want to use their wifi which seemed odd to us. The location of the Pine Inn is excellent and the morning breakfast was fantastic. Would I stay there again, yes, but would call to make sure the room was a bit more upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have been staying at the Pine Inn now for 5-6 years and have enjoyed each stay. John & his team do a trmendous job making you feel right at home. The location is right in the middle of everything in Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was my second stay there. The first was 13 years ago on my honeymoon. This feels like a european B&B, but it is a full service hotel. The lobby is very wlll appointed. The rooms are all well dedorated with some suites, some ocean view, some neither. The location is fantastic; walking distance to everything. The staff is friendly and helpful. The resturant is satisfactory with a well stocked bar. It is several buildings that have been cobbled together through the years and is most interesting. I will always stay there when in Carmel

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic, especially the ones with fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had such a lovely stay here I cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff go above, beyond a million times over, the atmosphere is lovely and all of the facilities, including an EXCELLENT restaurant for breakfast and dinner are so well maintained.

Our room was spotless and the little touches like the maid who turns down the pillow each night at 6ish and the chocolate placed on the pillow were so lovely.

We also took advantage of the happy hour in the Il Fornaio restaurant, a restaurant that has a great name for itself even among the locals we found and chatted to several of them in there. Happy hour is great for food, wine, beer and cocktails – all of which are at amazing prices and immaculately served as everything else is. The breakfast was one of the best we had in a whole three weeks of travelling the California Coast in terms of variety and in terms of the quality of food.

All in all we would stay here again at the drop of a hat and I wouldn’t, for the quality and value consider staying anywhere else but this quaint and lovely Inn by the sea.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.