We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“One of the best in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I've been traveling to Carmel and the Monterey peninsula on and off for the past 24 years and have stayed at a lot of different places. Carmel remains one of my favorite destinations, as I think there is no other town in the US quite like it. It's charming, and most of it's hotels and B&B's are as well. But many of them are way overpriced, tiny, and due to restrictions, unable to be updated very much. But I really like the Lobos Lodge. The best thing about this place is the size of the rooms. They would be large in any city or town, but for Carmel, they are HUGE! The room consists of a bed in an alcove, and a living room arrangement around a fireplace. Its so nice to be able to relax in your room on a couch or chair or table and chairs rather than just having a bed. The only thing I would suggest is to group the living room seating around the TV, instead of having the TV only visible from the bed. The bathroom is also nicely designed with more than ample counter space, along with lots of drawer storage and a nice closet. The hotel is in an ideal location on Ocean Avenue, midway between the central shopping area and the beach. We stayed in room 17, which had a partial ocean view from the balcony, and a high ceiling, giving the room a very spacious feel. This is not a luxury hotel. If you want to spend big bucks in Carmel, there are plenty of places to do that. But the rates this place charges for the size of the room will make this my first choice of a place to rest my head next time I visit Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    133
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LEICESTER, ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Lobos Lodge was our base for a weeks golfing and was a good choice. The hotel was lovely and the staff very efficient and friendly. The hotel is in an ideal position to walk to the beach, shops and restaurants and parking is free and secure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 3 days for our 35th Anniversary. We couldn't have been more pleased. I had ordered their flower package and champangne(sp). My wife was so surprised. The flowers were unbelievable. Lobos is right on the main street EASY access to everywhere. Right down the hill is the ocean. We could hear it through the window next to the bed. The room was so big(room 16). The ONLY drawback was the TV. It was small so when you laid in bed it was hard to see. Continental breakfast was good. Parking was great. The hotel across the street had happy hour and pizza for$5.00 great for our first night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at the Lobos Lodge in Carmel for one night during our trek from San Francisco down to San Simeon. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will definately return to stay at this cute hotel in the future. Here is why I recommend it: Friendly staff, nice amenities, including the in-room breakfast, large comforable beds, nicely decorated rooms, great shower and bathroom, great location in a neat little town. There weren't any negatives from our stay at this place and I would highly recommend it to anyone!! I really didn't like the in-room coffee, just because my personal preference. But no worries...the Carmel Valley Coffee Co is just a few doors up the street for affordably prices java!! The staff were all friendly at this hotel and you could really tell that the owner/manager cares about the place and does an excellent job with it! We will return to Lobos Lodge on our family trip next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. You can see that the decor of the rooms are not the latest trends but honestly, that suited the place and our room was spotless and the furniture was well maintained. From the outside Room #51 looked small but once inside it was huge with high ceilings. The window placement was a bit odd (one really high one) and another facing a courtyard. The place is built on all sorts of levels, with stairs here and there and there was a gift shop and beauty salon just outside of our door. I felt like I was somewhere in Europe especially when the fresh fruit, juice and croissants arrived for breakfast. The beach is a short walk down the road. There was no air-conditioning but the ceiling and floor stand fans were fine for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

"The Owner Pours Her Heart Into This Place". That's what the desk clerk said to me as I complimented him upon check out. You've read the other reviews; they're fairly accurate. We tend to stay in antiseptic, predictable hotels (e.g., Hyatt) but that doesn't exist in Carmel-by-the Sea. At Lobos Lodge you get a large, clean room with sitting area. The property itself is where the proprietor's creativity is evidenced. It is designed to have the feel of a retreat despite it's postage stamp size (plenty of parking, though). Well done.
Last thing: you've probably noticed people writing about the "make your own coffee" with the breakfast delivered to your room. Skip it. You can't walk a block in Carmel without coming upon a good coffee shop. Throw on a pair of pants, grab a cup and bring it back to your room ;-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This small hotel is on the main street in Carmel , Ocean Blvd. Big room , remodeled bath, king bed , continental breakfast delivered to your room at no extra charge. Free Wi/Fi. Very quiet and near restaurants, shop, etc and free parking. All in all very, very nice.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.