We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Owner Pours Her Heart Into This Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Owner Pours Her Heart Into This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

"The Owner Pours Her Heart Into This Place". That's what the desk clerk said to me as I complimented him upon check out. You've read the other reviews; they're fairly accurate. We tend to stay in antiseptic, predictable hotels (e.g., Hyatt) but that doesn't exist in Carmel-by-the Sea. At Lobos Lodge you get a large, clean room with sitting area. The property itself is where the proprietor's creativity is evidenced. It is designed to have the feel of a retreat despite it's postage stamp size (plenty of parking, though). Well done.
Last thing: you've probably noticed people writing about the "make your own coffee" with the breakfast delivered to your room. Skip it. You can't walk a block in Carmel without coming upon a good coffee shop. Throw on a pair of pants, grab a cup and bring it back to your room ;-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    133
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This small hotel is on the main street in Carmel , Ocean Blvd. Big room , remodeled bath, king bed , continental breakfast delivered to your room at no extra charge. Free Wi/Fi. Very quiet and near restaurants, shop, etc and free parking. All in all very, very nice.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Lobos Lodge in Carmel was lovely! It is one of the closest lodging choices to the Carmel beach. We felt the location - close to shops & restaurants as well - was perfect!!
The people at the Lobos were friendly & nice. Check in was smooth and quick. Parking was convenient & hassle free.
Our room was fabulous! Room #16 was huge! We loved our little balcony, the bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious, lovely sitting area.
The Lobos office has free coffee available all day long, with cookies and brownie bites and fresh fruit as well. They also deliver a continental breakfast to your room each morning. We stayed 2 nights at the end of a ten day California road trip and were so happy that we chose the Lobos Lodge. :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

For what would be considered a 3 star property in the 3-star category, I would give this an A+.
Location = Excellent. A few blocks closer to the beach than other inns/lodges but still in the main village and walking distance (within 4-5 blocks) of all the shops and restaurants.
Off street private parking = excellent.
Size of room (room# 21) = EXCELLENT! Biggest room (I would call it a suite or studio) so far of the 3 other places we've stayed in within the Carmel Village.
Room was very clean so no complaints on that side.
Property was very well kept, staff were very pleasant and helpful, cookies in the office were outstanding, etc etc ...
Now granted the decor was very quaint (dated) ... but unless you are willing to drop 400$+ a night, that is what you are going to get will all the Inns, Lodges, and B&Bs in the Village.
All in all a very very good stay. And am much inclined to book this place again when we visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in Carmel for one night while driving north on Highway 1. The room was large and clean. Our particular room was rather dark and it was a little difficult to get any fresh air. A fan was supplied and it was an unusually hot spell at the time... check in was smooth and the gentleman on reception was very helpful. Location is excellent with shops and restaurants on the doorstep and the beach a short walk down hill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My husband, I and our 9 month old daughter stayed there during New Year week. We just booked a regular room, we asked so there would be no stairs to get to it as we have stroller. The room was big! There was a beautiful fireplace, sitting area with a big couch, big closet, we loved it! When we opened the door we were right outside in the hotel yard and then just around the corner and we were walking on Carmel's beautiful streets. It was very convenient for us with the baby in the stroller :) Plenty of space in the room to put the bags, stroller and the baby's portable crib! OH! and they also gave us FREE breakfast every morning! It was just coffee/tea/juice and some fresh baked croissants but it was nice! :) and FREE cookies in the lobby too! :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Room was large and conveniently located on Ocean Ave. The decor needed some updating, and the freestanding fireplace was a little useless (& ugly). Breakfast, while delivered to your room is minimal, and the coffee you have to make with your in-room coffee maker tasted like rusty pipes. While we loved the central location during the day, nights/early mornings were a different matter. Our room overlooked Ocean Ave. The car traffic IS minimal at night, but the loud foot traffic continued long after the cars went away. Then the car noise started up again early in the morning. We wanted to try the lodge based on the reviews here, and I really can't fault their cleanliness/location/price but we will not stay on Ocean Ave. again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.