We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good! Best we've stayed in so far in the Carmel Village!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very very good! Best we've stayed in so far in the Carmel Village!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

For what would be considered a 3 star property in the 3-star category, I would give this an A+.
Location = Excellent. A few blocks closer to the beach than other inns/lodges but still in the main village and walking distance (within 4-5 blocks) of all the shops and restaurants.
Off street private parking = excellent.
Size of room (room# 21) = EXCELLENT! Biggest room (I would call it a suite or studio) so far of the 3 other places we've stayed in within the Carmel Village.
Room was very clean so no complaints on that side.
Property was very well kept, staff were very pleasant and helpful, cookies in the office were outstanding, etc etc ...
Now granted the decor was very quaint (dated) ... but unless you are willing to drop 400$+ a night, that is what you are going to get will all the Inns, Lodges, and B&Bs in the Village.
All in all a very very good stay. And am much inclined to book this place again when we visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    137
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
64
235
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in Carmel for one night while driving north on Highway 1. The room was large and clean. Our particular room was rather dark and it was a little difficult to get any fresh air. A fan was supplied and it was an unusually hot spell at the time... check in was smooth and the gentleman on reception was very helpful. Location is excellent with shops and restaurants on the doorstep and the beach a short walk down hill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My husband, I and our 9 month old daughter stayed there during New Year week. We just booked a regular room, we asked so there would be no stairs to get to it as we have stroller. The room was big! There was a beautiful fireplace, sitting area with a big couch, big closet, we loved it! When we opened the door we were right outside in the hotel yard and then just around the corner and we were walking on Carmel's beautiful streets. It was very convenient for us with the baby in the stroller :) Plenty of space in the room to put the bags, stroller and the baby's portable crib! OH! and they also gave us FREE breakfast every morning! It was just coffee/tea/juice and some fresh baked croissants but it was nice! :) and FREE cookies in the lobby too! :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Room was large and conveniently located on Ocean Ave. The decor needed some updating, and the freestanding fireplace was a little useless (& ugly). Breakfast, while delivered to your room is minimal, and the coffee you have to make with your in-room coffee maker tasted like rusty pipes. While we loved the central location during the day, nights/early mornings were a different matter. Our room overlooked Ocean Ave. The car traffic IS minimal at night, but the loud foot traffic continued long after the cars went away. Then the car noise started up again early in the morning. We wanted to try the lodge based on the reviews here, and I really can't fault their cleanliness/location/price but we will not stay on Ocean Ave. again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

First of all: Carmel is a bore for teenagers. That is why we stayed only one night. The Lobos Lounge gives good value for money. Reception was professional and very welcoming. The room was large, with a balcony and a semi-seperate living room which even had a gas fireplace. It was a bit dark though. The walk to the beach takes only about 8-10 minutes. The continental breakfast served to the room was small but quite good

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

had agreat time with the family in this small hotel with friendly staff. rooms are very roomy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have stayed in many, many hotels, motels and time share condos. I have to say this is the cleanest I've ever been in. Wonderful room. Beautiful Flowers. Quaint town and area. loved it all. The people at the Lodge were super friendly. We did not want for anything.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#16 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#6 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.