We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B for this pefect town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Attleboro, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The perfect B&B for this pefect town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Lobos Lodge is the perfect B&B for exploring Carmel and the Monterey area. My wife and I stayed there on a recent trip and absolutely loved it. We had an upper floor room with a balcony. The room was huge with a vaulted ceiling which made it feel even larger. We had a peek at the ocean over the tree tops from our balcony.

A wonderful continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. The fruit was fresh and the pastry excellent. Juice is delivered too, but you need to go to the office for your coffee. While their coffee is good, I preferred to take a short walk to one of the excellent cafés for a gourmet coffee and then bring it back to the room for breakfast.

The staff is very gracious and helpful without being overbearing. The Lodge has more of a resort hotel feel as opposed to a traditional B&B, which is perfect for the area. Carmel itself is charming - like a fairy tale town. And, the location of the Lobos Lodge is perfect - right in the middle of the town and close to the ocean. For those who are not used to walking a lot, the walk to the ocean is a bit steep so wear comfortable shoes!

One word of advice to pass along which I wish I knew or at least researched more. The Monterey peninsula and the entire coast up to San Francisco have very changeable weather and legendary fog, especially in summer. Even if the temperatures charts say the mean temperature is 70, that’s deceiving. If you watched the 2010 US Open at Pebble Beach this June (i.e. all the pros wearing sweaters), then that’s what I’m talking about! Be sure to bring a windbreaker and sweatshirt and you’ll be fine. That being said, it never rained, and was still one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. You just need to set your expectations.

Thank you to the Lobos Lodge for a great vacation. I would stay there again in a minute and recommend it to anyone. And thanks to my fellow tripadvisor.com reviewers – you haven’t let me down yet!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    130
    26
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
215
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

I just drove into Carmel and found this haven - from the welcoming smile from the manageress till when I left this was just a wonderful experience. I was in room 45 and the bathroom/dressing room was fabulous. Having a fireplace in the room was just wonderful. It was central to everything I needed and only a 5 minute (max) drive to Pebble Beach Golf Club - US Open playing there next week. The restaurants nearby where plenty with lots of options t choose from. As a solo traveler is was fantastic and could only be even better with a partner. I left something in my room and they are posting it to me....good service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stay two nights at the Room #35 and everything was fine. A very large room with fireplace, nice decor with new furnitures and a balcony with chairs and table. The bathroom also is very good. The location is near of all you need to enjoy Carmel. Free parking and Internet. A small Continental Breakfast was send to our room every morning. Sharon take care very well of the Lodge in all details.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

spent one Weds nite here and could not have been more pleased!!! Just total satisfaction. Price, room, location, layout of room/suite, staff, cleanliness, parking, walk to dining or the beach and shopping. Any stop in Carmel and do yourself a favor and go here. Lodging problem solved.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed here on tripadvisor reccomendation.
It is lovely- huge room with buns for breakfast.
It is very central with a decent car park.
The staff were helpful and know the area well.
i only wish we had thought to stay longer!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed here one night in April, the hotel is clean and in a very good location, but I thought it was somewhat tired and dated, we had to drag luggage down steps and up steps to get to the room, breakfast was lacking, I think overall the location was the best thing going for this hotel, also the rooms were large and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Lobos Lodge is a charming small hotel with spacious, well-appointed, clean and modern rooms, right smack on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel. My wife and I, together with my sister-in-law, stayed in Suite 37, a one bedroom suite wiith a separate living room with sofa bed. It was very comfortable, to say the least. Wifi, large screen TVs, and all the expected bathroom accessories. The building is not brand new, but it clearly is well maintained, and the room was both comfortable and clean. They bring a continental breakfast to your room at an appointed hour that you arrange with the front desk; juice, croissant, small dish of fresh fruit. You do have to go to the lobby to get coffee or tea or hot water. The front desk staff was not overwhelmingly friendly, but definitely polite and pointed us to a great nearby restaurant for dinner. Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.