We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great atmosphere, great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, great atmosphere, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed in room 31 on a rainy night in January and loved it. The room was one of the largest we've every stayed in but the gas fire in the corner lent it a cosy atmosphere. The bed and shower were fantastic (two things we look out for). The atmosphere is modern despite the homeliness implied by fresh cookies in the lobby, and the service friendly and efficient. We've stayed in much more expensive places that displayed less attention to detail. The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the beach in one direction and less than a block from shops and restaurants in the other direction. It was our favourite accommodation during a recent trip to California, we'll be recommending it to friends!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    132
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
221
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Lobos Lodge may not look like a european cottage like so many of its neighbors, but I found it to be plenty charming and refreshingly un-pretentious. A private inner courtyard features tidy, eclectic landscaping. Inside, the rooms were large and clean, and just slightly dated and worn, but not to the point of being unattractive. Rather, it feels homey and warm. The location on Ocean is superb, you couldn't have better access to shops and restaurants and of course the ocean.

Our room had a pass-through door to another room and at times we could hear our neighbors a little more than we liked, but luckily this was not an issue. For ultimate quiet, you may want to ask for a more private room if possible. Also, their site seems to indicate that all rooms have single kings or queens, but some rooms have sleeper sofas so this is useful for families, etc.

Carmel has a lot of achingly cute places to stay, and they come with a price to match. If you care a lot about staying somewhere that looks "quaint" and want a full b&b experience, look elsewhere. If location, clean comfort, and value are important to you, look no further than Lobos.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

1. Immaculately maintained
2. Large rooms, especially by Carmel stardards
3. Great location
4. Very fair rates
5. Very personable efficient staff... very helpful
6. We've stayed here three times and will return again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Lobos lodge offers location and intimacy at half the price of similarily ranked TA hotels in or close to Carmel. The rooms are large with a gas fireplace and sitting area. There is a balcony with chairs to enjoy the weather in warmer months. Wireless access comes with the room. Room delivered breakfast is a quick starter for those who enjoy a roll and juice at this time of day. Specialty coffee is one block away.The grounds of this boutique hotel are pretty and well maintained. Service is average and would benefit from more interaction with guests in terms of recommendations as to what might interest them. The lodge is located on Ocean Blvd. If you walk 100 feet you are in the midst of shops and restaurants. The Carmel Beach is a five minute walk in the opposite direction. Great weekend retreat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin, Ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My mom, sister and I stayed at the Lobos Lodge for a girls weekend and had a very pleasant stay. We had two different rooms, my mom and my sister stayed in the king suite room#41 and I stayed in a king room #33.

The suite was a great size, allowing us to sit together by the fire, have breakfast together at the table and just enjoy the room. The down side to the room is that it is on Ocean Ave, we had people walking by and talking, and some stop and look in. Also, as was mentioned in one of the other posts, you had to be sure that the door was shut and locked, it would look shut but could be pushed open.

The second room, was a nice basic room, I pretty much was there to sleep and shower and it was fine for that. It also had a nice balcony that looked out on the courtyard.

As I stated earlier it is right on Ocean, which can be annoying when sitting and talking, but overall is a great advantage. We were able to walk around town, to dinner and pretty much where ever we wanted to go.

In other reviews, it says that rooms are dated, but are nice overall. It is nice that they will bring a continental breakfast, with newspaper to your room. The breakfast was fruit, a warm pastry and choice of juice. This was fine for one breakfast, but we went out on Sunday, didn't want a pastry a second day.

Overall , it was a great stay, at a very reasonable rate. I would and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Our stay at Lobos Lodge was average. After just leaving a wonderful B&B in Napa, we were a bit disappointed at first, however the room really was fine. This is maybe the 4th B&B/guest house style lodging we've tried in Carmel, and all of them including Lobos Lodge have dated decor and facilities. I have yet to find a quaint place with up-to-date amenities and decor, without spending $350++ per night. Our room #23 was very spacious with a King bed, separate sitting area with a couch, TV, and 2 chairs. There was a separate dressing area with sink outside the shower area. That was convenient so 2 people could get ready at the same time. The downsides were the room was on the 1st floor, and so we couldn't let the sliding door open at night (it was quite warm, with no air conditioning). The hair dryer broke on our last morning there, and one of the lamps died (incuding a smokey smell) on an earlier day. And there we had 2 ceiling-leaks in the room during an all-day rain storm. The office does provide cookies and coffee/tea during the day. I also felt that they skimped on extras. We only had the exact number of towels for the two of us, so we were short after using two to clean up the water leaks. And when the power went out due to the storm, we almost had to sign our life away to promise to return the battery-powered lantern they loaned us. All in all, it was an OK room. A good value for the size, but not somewhere we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

It had been almost 15 years since our last stay at the Lobos Lodge and we were curious to see what it would be like now. I am pleased to say that it has stood the test of time and remains a fine place to stay in the heart of Carmel.

Our king room was on the courtyard, a veritable oasis in inself. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a sofa, fireplace, desk, beamed ceiling and plantation shutters. Although the room and furnishings might be considered somewhat dated by other reviewers here on TA, the place is immaculate and has such wonderful ambiance.

The staff are all very professional and helpful. You can pay a lot more for a lot less in Carmel. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.