We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the Lobos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Liked the Lobos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Lobos Lodge has a great position in Carmel, just off Ocean Avenue, perfect for the shops and eateries and also handy for the beach.

Having booked and paid a deposit before we arrived we didn’t expect any problems at check-in and there were none. Friendly and efficient service soon had us out of reception and into our room. The access to some of the rooms appeared to us to be a bit awkward (stairs, etc.), particularly if carrying heavy luggage, so if this is a concern for you, check with the hotel when booking. To access our room (11, on the ground floor) from the car park, there was a small, lit walkway so we didn’t have any access issues.

The room was very spacious for two, pleasantly decorated with the main room consisting of a King bed, sofa, small dining table, TV unit and gas fire. Adjoining this was separate toilet and bath with shower, sink and small wardrobe. A small, private patio offered outside seating.

The small gardens dotted around the property are well tended, providing a pleasant environment when coming and going.

A continental breakfast was included in our booking and delivered to our room each day. A small fruit cup, a muffin and juice each (with coffee made in the room) got us up and out each day. The timing of your breakfast delivery is agreed at check-in and remains the same during your stay unless you change it. We weren’t aware of this before arriving and as the 15 minute delivery slots are allocated on a “first come, first serve” basis, the remaining times were limited. Fortunately, we were happy with our agreed time anyway and it didn’t present any problems for us, however, it may be worthwhile also trying to arrange a breakfast time when booking if you think you’ll need a specific time slot.

The staff were invariably polite, friendly and helpful when needed and unobtrusive when not. Coffee and cookies are always on the go at reception/lounge, too. Great.

Would we stay here again? A qualified yes. If you’re happy to stay in the big chain hotel/motel and if their Carmel properties are doing a great deal, then opt for them, Carmel is small enough that any location is only a few minutes stroll from Ocean Avenue or the beach. If, however, you prefer not to stay with the chains and prefer somewhere with character, then make the Lobos Lodge your home.

  • Liked — Location and size of room/facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    132
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
221
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Excellent value and location in Carmel. Just up from the beach and near to shops and restaurants. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We were on the ground floor with a small patio accessible from the street. The 'lite' bite' continental breakfast was delivered to the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. We got the best deal booking directly with the Lodge. The added bonus is that you have car parking without the hassle of meters and finding a space right in the center of Carmel. We ate at the 'Il Fornaio' on Monte Verde opposite the lodge. Excellent service and food at a very reasonable price.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Very comfortable room in a perfect location, convenient to the every place you would want to go in Carmel. The grounds are nicely landscaped with lots of flowers and the rooms are large and comfortable.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing, very pleasant stay.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

In a town that is almost too precious for its own good and filled with romantic rooms for two, this is the place for families. Thanks to the reviews , I booked a family suite here instead of several others I considered. Great location, high ceilings, lots of room,real kitchen , nice bathroom and a TV for the kids and one for the adults. Not a luxury suite with down comforters and scented soaps but a great value and very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

The best thing about Lobos is its location. It is one of the closest hotels to the beach, about 2 blocks up just above the residential section and on the edge of the shopping/dining area, and ideally located for strolling the lovely town. (Though admittedly, all the hotels in town are close in.)
Our room was on the second floor on the furthermost downhill corner facing Ocean Ave. We had a simple balcony with a great view of Ocean Ave, and through the trees down the hill we could almost see the Pacific.
The courtyard area of the hotel is beautifully landscaped. Not fancy by any means, but lovey flowers and plantings.
Our room was very large. We had a "suite" with a king bed and sleeper sofa. It felt more like and apartment, really, with a mini-fridge and small dining table. After looking at several other hotels in Carmel, this really was a good deal for the money in terms of size.
We had continental breakfast brought to our room every morning, with pastry, fruit and juice and a sweet bud vase with fresh roses. Coffee makers were in the room, as well as free coffee in the lobby all day long.
The room was in need of an update, with worn furnishings and wall paper, although it was very clean. The bathrooom was fairly large. The beds were adequate, by no means uncomfortable but certainly not plush. Perhaps why so affordable compared to other Carmel lodging.
The woman at the desk was helpful in recommending restaurants. We ate at a fantastic Italian place on her recommendation (Luca.)

  • Liked — Location and landscaping, large room for the money
  • Disliked — Need of an update
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We are regular visitors to Carmel and after reading TripAdvisor reviews we decided to change accommodation from where we have stayed previously. We chose Lobos Lodge and were not disappointed.
As recoomended, we booked Suite 37 which was clean and comfortable. On checking-in, there was some confusion with our booking but that was quickly resolved.
The Lodge is well located and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Spent one night at the hotel.
The accommodation was a very good standard and the postion of the hotel suited us as a base for the town.

A breakfast snack was delivered to the room at a mutually arranged time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.