We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We chose Lobos Lodge based on the Tripadvisor reviews and so glad we did! Our room for three was larger than we imagined, included a fireplace, living room area and cathedral ceiling. The breakfast was a nice touch and the location couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Wish I could go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    133
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just leaving a three night stay at lobos lodge. We are a family traveling with two young children. Rooms were spacious and so nice. Grounds were very pretty. Loved the location- a quick walk to restaurants or the beach. Very comfortable place to stay. Also enjoyed having a fireplace and fridge in the room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our first time vacation to Carmel and area was everything we hoped it to be! Lobos Lodge proved to be a real gem with spacious room (#17), excellent location with a view of the ocean from our patio. The only negative would be that the high wall on the patio required one to stand to see this great view, and not enjoy while seated, but still was delightful. It was a very short drive on 17 mile road to Pebble Beach, where we seemed to gravitate to frequently. Back in town, it was located such that you could walk to most of the restaurants and shops without too much trouble. Just a lovely vacation, and one that insured that we will be back, and without hesitation, to the Lobos Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was such a pleasant surprise! We arrived in a downpour but were so pleased with our warm and inviting spacious room. Our room was what was called the "basement level" but it was light-filled and we had a lovely private patio. Comfortable bed, large bathroom, quality construction. Someone really cared about designing and building this hotel. It was so quiet and it didn't feel like we were in a basement at all. The staff was helpful and kind. The continental breakfast was delivered every morning and the pastries were "French bakery quality". Location was an easy walk to the beach past lovely residences and was just across the street from the shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a "basement" room which I believe was less expensive but it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My delightful experience with Lobos Lodge in Carmel begun with the check in. I was impressed when, after having just opened the door to the lobby from the parking lot, I was warmly welcomed by the front desk employee, who promptly called me by my family name. He was very kind and made us feel at home right away. The suite was beautiful and cozy. Everything was carefully arranged, neat and clean. We were worried at first with the fact that our suite was maybe too close to the main street and would be probably be noisy. However, we did not know Carmel. We had the most wonderful night’s sleep and when we went out to dine next evening, we realized that the town was quiet and peaceful. Room for improvement: maybe only with breakfast. They could offer a greater quantity and variety of the delicious breads, pastries and juices they served daily. It would be perfect!

Room Tip: If you're carrying heavy luggage, be sure to choose a room close to your parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Close to a "five" in many ways but not quite there. We very much like the location, amenities, decor, quietness, cleanliness, size, gas fireplace and the balcony/deck of the deluxe king rooms (particularly one!). The grounds are very attractive . . . brick walks through beautifully maintained landscaping--brilliant flowers and attractive trees. Coffee, cookies and fruit in the lobby is always good. Parking is very close to the rooms. You can walk to almost any restaurant in town in less than five minutes (which means no driving to those of us who enjoy a glass of wine in the room and at dinner).

It is our experience that you can't beat this fine lodge for the price in central Carmel. Period.

A few small negatives, that as "regulars" as opposed to first time and rightfully impressionable visitors, cause us to withhold the fifth "circle" (call it a star). There are quite a few stairs and very narrow passageways to some of the room . . . which can make dragging a large wheeled suite case to the room a real drag. The delivered continental breakfast is always a disappointment--poor pastry and no fresh coffee (the coffee in the room is less than enjoyable--we tend to got out to one of the local coffee shops for a latte and a good pastry) And, the "service area" of the bathrooms could be larger--single sink and somewhat limited place for personal toiletries. These are very petty concerns. Last stay 2/27-28.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

besides the architecture that is so beautiful, the reception and the room were great. a new experience, the room is apart from the office and other rooms. the fireplace is awesome too. very romantic place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.