We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute motel in the heart of Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute motel in the heart of Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent three days in April at the Lobos Lodge in Carmel. The Lodge is a well kept motel just off of Ocean Avenue (aka "main street"). It has cute little manicured gardens and the staff are all very helpful. Our room was truly spacious. Even though the Lodge has been around a while, the room seemed like it had been recently refurbished. It was clean, light and airy. The bed was very comfortable. It was easy walking distance from the beach, restaurants and galleries. We found the complimentary breakfast disappointing; limp pastry, canned fruit salad, etc. We decided to get our breakfasts elsewhere. Other than that, we highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Pay the higher rate for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    127
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
212
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Basically it was the best room we stayed in during our 3 week road trip. The position is great, leave your car and you can walk to all the restaurants. The breakfast is very nice, not massive but very enjoyable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August. Totally agree with all the other glowing reviews. Huge bed, huge room, immaculately clean,fabulous fireplace (even in August the evenings were cool enough to allow ourselves to turn it on!), lovely breakfast, really pretty grounds- all great!The lay out of the hotel- with gardens and over different levels and seemingly in different sections, gives such a lovely feeling of privacy- and a really warm , welcoming character. The location is superb - so central.We had an upstairs room with a balcony looking at Ocean Avenue and towards the beach(even though there are cars going by to the beach- the traffic is Not a problem, its going very slowly and its not really a through route as such- this is coming from someone with a total aversion to traffic disturbance!)Sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was a real pleasure-and for watching The Dogs go by!!- Carmel really is a paradise for dog lovers! We had a fabulous stay in this gorgeous hotel in this amazing town- thank you to all and we would love to come back!Would strongly recommend Lobos Lodge!

Room Tip: we had an upstairs room with a balcony looking at Ocean Avenue- fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed two night in August, over a busy weekend. Staff were extremely helpful. The room was spacious, almost the size of a suite, which made the price extremely reasonable for Carmel. Breakfast delivered to the room each morning - basic, but nicely presented and leaves you enough room to visit the wonderful Carmel bakery. Highly recommended

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is really good. The location is in the middle of the main street of Carmel, you can walk all day through Carmel and come back easily. We parked the car and took it just to go to Big Sur.
You can see a hotel by his towells, and those from Lobos Lodge were good quality and new.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here a few nights in Oct. on a week-long coastal trip and we loved it. The location is outstanding, the value is incredible, the rooms are large and clean, the bed was great, we had a nice fireplace if we needed warming, The room has a great little sofa and sitting area and the bathroom area is huge. Nice touches include breakfast delivered to your room in the morning and a great little patio area to enjoy outside if you'd like. Folks at the desk were extremely nice and it seems like there's always fresh cookies around to enjoy if you're in the mood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been staying at Lobos Lodge since the 70s and it has never failed to disappoint. It is quite simply the best hotel in northern California that I have ever encountered. It is incredibly quaint, layed out among beautiful gardens, about a 3 minute walk to the beach on Ocean Avenue, and a 1 minute walk to the center of incredibly beautiful Carmel, one of the world's true treats. About a 45 minute ride along the windy and heartbreakingly beautiful Pacific Coast Highway to Big Sur, great restaurants abound for all tastes. The rooms have been redone and are amazing, with comfortable beds, fireplaces, desks for work and beautifully appointed bathrooms with no useless accoutrements. It is a stunning place, great for lovers and just for hanging out and it is the only place I stay in that part of the world. The attendants are wonderful and exude class, just like the rest of the town. The complimentary breakfast is to die for and the little snack and read area next to the reception desk is outstanding, with wonderful coffee and snack treats, everything one would want after a rough week in San Francisco or San Jose on business. The Monterey Fisherman's Wharf is 15 minutes away and John Steinbeck's Salinas about 45 minutes.. It is a wonderful place - I guarantee you will love it!!!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful and park your car in the lot and leave it there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list