We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Lindfield, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed two night in August, over a busy weekend. Staff were extremely helpful. The room was spacious, almost the size of a suite, which made the price extremely reasonable for Carmel. Breakfast delivered to the room each morning - basic, but nicely presented and leaves you enough room to visit the wonderful Carmel bakery. Highly recommended

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    128
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
213
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is really good. The location is in the middle of the main street of Carmel, you can walk all day through Carmel and come back easily. We parked the car and took it just to go to Big Sur.
You can see a hotel by his towells, and those from Lobos Lodge were good quality and new.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here a few nights in Oct. on a week-long coastal trip and we loved it. The location is outstanding, the value is incredible, the rooms are large and clean, the bed was great, we had a nice fireplace if we needed warming, The room has a great little sofa and sitting area and the bathroom area is huge. Nice touches include breakfast delivered to your room in the morning and a great little patio area to enjoy outside if you'd like. Folks at the desk were extremely nice and it seems like there's always fresh cookies around to enjoy if you're in the mood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been staying at Lobos Lodge since the 70s and it has never failed to disappoint. It is quite simply the best hotel in northern California that I have ever encountered. It is incredibly quaint, layed out among beautiful gardens, about a 3 minute walk to the beach on Ocean Avenue, and a 1 minute walk to the center of incredibly beautiful Carmel, one of the world's true treats. About a 45 minute ride along the windy and heartbreakingly beautiful Pacific Coast Highway to Big Sur, great restaurants abound for all tastes. The rooms have been redone and are amazing, with comfortable beds, fireplaces, desks for work and beautifully appointed bathrooms with no useless accoutrements. It is a stunning place, great for lovers and just for hanging out and it is the only place I stay in that part of the world. The attendants are wonderful and exude class, just like the rest of the town. The complimentary breakfast is to die for and the little snack and read area next to the reception desk is outstanding, with wonderful coffee and snack treats, everything one would want after a rough week in San Francisco or San Jose on business. The Monterey Fisherman's Wharf is 15 minutes away and John Steinbeck's Salinas about 45 minutes.. It is a wonderful place - I guarantee you will love it!!!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful and park your car in the lot and leave it there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhill, Ireland
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked Lobos based on TA and asked for room 44 at the time of booking. We were delighted with the room, very spacious, airy. It was a little hot in the room but after opening the slide door to the balcony it cooled right down. There is a fan also in the room. There are stairs up to 44 just so you know if you have heavy luggage.

The hotel is close to everything on main street carmel and the beach and the 17 mile drive.

Breakfast is included but is small, enough to get started though!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have been here before. As happened on our previous visit, the receptionist could not find our reservation (albeit we had paid, 7 months earlier, a one-night's deposit for each room). This was rectified when a colleague came to her assistance. We requested suite 37, as on our previous visit, but it was not available. Our double room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the property is generally well maintained. Lobos Lodge's location is ideal and we will happily return, again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be more different from a chain hotel. Rooms are big and feel very private. our room #26 had a balcony on ocean ave. Sort of a mini suite with couch, breakfast table for two and huge bathroom. I recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list