We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is about right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Average is about right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is larger than first appears, it has over 50 rooms spread over quite a large area. The location is great, probably the closest hotel to the beach. It is also convenient for shops and restaurants; you can park your car and walk everywhere. Our room was quite large and warm (on a hot day, no A/C). It could have used a ceiling fan. It had a small patio with a high brick wall (no view). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom/dressing area was adequate.
When we checked in we were asked if we wanted breakfast at 8:15, 8:30, 8:45 etc. We didn't know where or when we would be so asked for it at the 8:15 time. A later arrival guest was not offered the 8:15 time so obviously there was a limited number of delivery times. The following morning we were on the beach at our appointed breakfast time and expected breakfast to be left outside the room. We were told that was not possible as the birds would eat it, but if we had asked, the breakfast could have been placed inside out room. When I asked why we not given that option, I was told "we only do that if we are asked". What sense does that make?
When we said we were back, breakfast was delivered very quickly. However it was very meager, consisting of orange juice, a croissant and a small cup of fruit. This small offering allows them to advertise "breakfast included".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    133
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a lovely room with a small balcony overlooking the street. The room was clean and the bed quite comfortable. The room itself was on the small side but adaquate and the location was very nice. Short walk to the beautiful beach in Carmel. Very easy to walk to restaurants and shopping. Our stay was the beginning of Sept. and it was rather warm. There is no air conditioning but at night it cooled off nicely and was comfortable. Management was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect location in "downtown Carmel" ...3 blocks from the beach and walking distance to everything in town. Quaint little hotel that falls down the hill providing many unique rooms.
We stayed in #26 which was very large with big cathedral ceiling, but no air conditioning was a real negative on our early Sept visit. It was hot and no cross ventilation was possible.
Would recomend #27 which was 2 large rooms with excellent ventilation and a distant view of the ocean through the trees. Very nice continental breakfast delivered to your room complete with carnations.
Very pleasant stay ...would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: 27 was very spacious with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in #45 which was quite musty - it doesn't help the windows don't open and there was no a/c - so realistically no air circulation.

Had to run a fan all night which was a bit disruptive to a good nights' sleep.

Location was good - although downtown Carmel is quite small so everything is pretty much walking distance.

Breakfast is ok - juice, scone and some fruit.

Overall wouldn't say here again but you could do worse.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved location, right in town with easy walking distance to beach and great restaurants. Charming rooms with fireplace and small balcony in room 33. Quiet and peaceful retreat with very accommodating staff. Coffee and cookies always available in lobby and an added plus. Breakfast was ample and pastries were different each day and wonderful. Loved the idea of different levels for each room.

Room Tip: Room 33 had no stairs with fireplace and small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very romantic, perfect for the couple who is looking for a romantic getaway. It's been a while now, since I've been there with my husband, but quite frankly, I don't know why I haven't written this review sooner, as we always remember the lodge with tenderness. The rooms are very clean, and cozy, all of them with a fireplace and very spacious. And the complimentary breakfast delivered to the room was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Lobos Lodge for nearly 20 years while vacationing in the Carmel, Monterey area. It has always been a very comfortable place, charming decor and a very helpful management. Convenient parking, easy walking to the city shopping areas and dining spots. Would highly recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: If you want a glimpse of the ocean choose rooms 18 or 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.