We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I'd stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not sure I'd stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in #45 which was quite musty - it doesn't help the windows don't open and there was no a/c - so realistically no air circulation.

Had to run a fan all night which was a bit disruptive to a good nights' sleep.

Location was good - although downtown Carmel is quite small so everything is pretty much walking distance.

Breakfast is ok - juice, scone and some fruit.

Overall wouldn't say here again but you could do worse.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    137
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
64
235
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved location, right in town with easy walking distance to beach and great restaurants. Charming rooms with fireplace and small balcony in room 33. Quiet and peaceful retreat with very accommodating staff. Coffee and cookies always available in lobby and an added plus. Breakfast was ample and pastries were different each day and wonderful. Loved the idea of different levels for each room.

Room Tip: Room 33 had no stairs with fireplace and small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very romantic, perfect for the couple who is looking for a romantic getaway. It's been a while now, since I've been there with my husband, but quite frankly, I don't know why I haven't written this review sooner, as we always remember the lodge with tenderness. The rooms are very clean, and cozy, all of them with a fireplace and very spacious. And the complimentary breakfast delivered to the room was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Lobos Lodge for nearly 20 years while vacationing in the Carmel, Monterey area. It has always been a very comfortable place, charming decor and a very helpful management. Convenient parking, easy walking to the city shopping areas and dining spots. Would highly recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: If you want a glimpse of the ocean choose rooms 18 or 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent only one nice at this lovely property but it was so nice I had to add some comments. It is a quaint place with private rooms. We had a suite with a fireplace that we enjoyed and a separate bedroom that was very comfortable. It was cool while we were there otherwise we would have used the lovely balcony outside the living room that looked into a wooded area. It is truly a lovely place to stay when visiting this special town.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids mi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here out of 8 day trip in Northern CA in late July. A refreshing break from your typical hotel. From checkin to checkout the front desk staff was cheery & helpful. The grounds (gardens) around the lodge are well taken care & nice to stroll thru. The beach is a short 5 min walk which we took each day. At the end of the beach is Pebble Beach golf course & you can watch the golfers. We also walked thru all the shops just steps from the hotel. We ate at 400 degree Burger one night & AW Shucks another night. If you have a sweet tooth for a baked good or amazing ice cream go to the Carmel Bakery.
Now to the room....LOVED IT. Upon reading reviews about hearing your neighbors we booked a top floor room & glad we did (although we still heard neighbors). Loved the soft colors of the room & the spaciousness of it. The room seemed to be meticulously clean - - a must for a good review from me. We slept like a rock on the bed, very comfortable for us. At our home we always sleep with a fan on for noise so we were excited to find a fan in the closet! We could see & hear the beach from our balcony. It's quite chilly (and foggy) in Carmel so we even enjoyed the gas fireplace in the room....yes, in July! I loved the light breakfast that was brought to our room althought my husband enjoys a heartier start to the day. Enjoyed the coffee & flavored creamer in the lobby but you can also make your own in your room.
Not sure we will be back in this area again but would highly recommend to others & would definitely stay here again if we do. (I really did not want to leave & move on to our next destination.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Super cute hotel with rooms that look more like apartments than a hotel. Perfectly appointed and generous in space. Great value!!!! Great staff at the front desk who informed us that there was coffee in the lobby for the day and a continental breakfast delivery at our room for whenever when requested it. We loved the location which is on Ocean Avenue and a little uphill from the beach. We didn't expect Carmel to be so hilly (so bring good walking shoes). The hotel was clean and had a great king size bed. It was cool at night and we slept comfortably with the windows open. We had a gas fireplace in our room, but only used it for a few minutes in the morning to warm up.
We look forward to coming back to Carmel just to stay at this property. It was our favorite hotel out of four hotels on our week long trip to California, as well as the cheapest one.

Room Tip: Number 33 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#7 Business Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.