We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for price and walking to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Orlando
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel for price and walking to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Super cute hotel with rooms that look more like apartments than a hotel. Perfectly appointed and generous in space. Great value!!!! Great staff at the front desk who informed us that there was coffee in the lobby for the day and a continental breakfast delivery at our room for whenever when requested it. We loved the location which is on Ocean Avenue and a little uphill from the beach. We didn't expect Carmel to be so hilly (so bring good walking shoes). The hotel was clean and had a great king size bed. It was cool at night and we slept comfortably with the windows open. We had a gas fireplace in our room, but only used it for a few minutes in the morning to warm up.
We look forward to coming back to Carmel just to stay at this property. It was our favorite hotel out of four hotels on our week long trip to California, as well as the cheapest one.

Room Tip: Number 33 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    132
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
221
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two night at Lobos Lodge in early June. Our room was somewhat elevated level and the slider door faced the ocean so I was able to listen to the sounds of the sea in the morning, which was nice...Lobos Lodge is a very nice place to stay. The room has plenty of space and it was very clean. What I really liked was the location of the hotel, about 5 blocks up from Carmel Beach and very close to the Carmel Gate which takes you onto the 17 mile drive. Lobos Lodge is only a couple miles to the Pebble Beach Golf Course, a very close drive. Another fun thing to do weather permitting is to drive down Hwy 1 about 25 minutes to the south and take a tour of the Point Sur Lighthouse, first come first served on that tour.

We will definitely stay at the Lobos Lodge again next time we travel up to the Carmel area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and spacious, however the kitchenette had no facilities at all , not even a glass!!!
The continental breakfast was ok , but consisted of a pastry and a small bowl of fruit.
The hotel is located in a really good position and clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We live just about 3 hours from Carmel. It's our favorite spot in California and we always try to stay at Lobos. We love the clean rooms, great service and how close it is to the beach. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay in room 21. It was noisy- both from the neighbours above (we could hear EVErYTHInG) and from the mechanical room next to us. Rooms are spacious and location is great. But for the price point, continental breakfast of pastry and fruit is laughable. We've stayed in the same price point all along the coast and Napa and this does not compare- in a negative way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel: clean, comfortable, attractive. Our room I'd say was enormous by Carmel standards. It's very conveniently located at the end of the commercial part of Ocean Ave. only about 4 blocks from the beach (just know that it's a bit of a hill down and back). The staff is friendly and the amenities (linens, towels, afternoon cookies, etc.) are nice. Breakfast is basically one big pastry, but a good one.

Those things said it's important to choose you room very carefully. In downstairs rooms you hear the people upstairs walking around a lot. Rooms in the front are right on Ocean Avenue which has a lot of foot and car traffic. Rooms in the back are quieter except for Room 34 which backs up on a salon. They were open from 7:30AM until 7PM and we heard loud talking, water running and things moving around pretty constantly through that whole time.

In summary, with the right room this is a nice place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 34! Also I recommend second floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is located at the bottom of the hill of he busy Carmel By the Sea shopping and dining area of town. After reading the reviews when I booked our room, I asked for an upper floor room but there weren't any available because our trip was so soon. We were located off of the parking lot in room 34. I never heard anything or anyone upstairs and they were completely sold out. The only time I knew anyone was at the hotel was I heard some people talking as they walked by. The room was much larger than I had anticipated even with seeing the photos. It had beautiful hard wood floors and what looked like brand new couch and rugs. The mattress was great (although we did bring our own pillows). The breakfast was great. The pastries served were huge and tasty. The first morning we had almond croissants and the second morning it was enormous blueberry scones. If we head back this way again I would definitely head here again. Not only is the price great but the rooms are large, clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.