We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Lobos Lodge is in a great location in the heart of Carmel. There are many restaurants, shops and places to explore within walking distance. The beach is a quick walk as well! Our room was clean and spacious, and included breakfast in the morning. Breakfast consisted of delicious pastries, juice and fruit that is delivered right to your room. We were able to walk to dinner both nights of our stay and walk around town. The only complaints about Lobos Lodge was that the walls are very thin, we could hear the couple staying above us walking and talking. I would stay here again but request a top floor room! We highly recommend dining at Dametra Cafe which is across the street from Lobos Lodge. Make sure to make a reservation as without one you will have a long wait. Overall the Lobos Lodge was a great place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Top Floor room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    130
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
214
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

For the price and location, I'm happy. But, upon arrival, there was no where to park because businesses (hair salon) had filled up the parking lot. We had to drive for blocks trying to find a parking space. The man greeted us nicely, and there were a plate of cookies available but no restroom which hurts after a long drive...The room was nice, clean, surprisingly big, with a fireplace. But, they are stingy with the towels! Only two adult towels? I need two just for my hair and body! So I had to dry off with a handtowel and dry my hands with a washcloth. The rates here on tripadvisor are also deceiving as the minimum price is $155 for the cheapest room. The evening noise was filled with banging from the neighbors, drunks from the beach, and tourists who didn't want to stop partying. Laughter, screaming, hooting, and yelling isn't my idea of a lullaby. In the morning, our breakfast arrived late - and they gave us sugary muffins instead of croissants as we requested. The fruit was a tiny plastic jello cup mixed with fresh fruit and CANNED pineapple! The woman at the desk in the morning, Nancy, was bitter and catty - who left a bad taste in the mouth. We were just trying to be pleasant to her but she was short, catty, and quite unpleasant. Hopefully you'll deal with the guy, and not run into her. The plus is, there is a noon checkout, and late checkouts are forbidden. Overall, there are so many places to stay in Carmel, I wonder if this was the best experience we could have had here....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked a five night stay at Los Lobos after reading all the glowing reviews here, and we are so glad we did! This lodge is in the heart of Carmel Village and blocks from Carmel Beach! We had free parking off street, but rarely used our car as we could walk almost everywhere. The rooms are casual but spacious, with a beachy vibe. We had a sitting area, small eating area, spacious bathroom with soaking tub, and a king sized bed in an alcove. There are lots of windows to let in natural light. We also had a small patio and the whole property is in a garden setting with winding paths and lush landscaping. The daily continental breakfast featured a gourmet muffin or pastry with fruit. The property is kept impeccably clean and the staff are very welcoming. The rates are very reasonable for Carmel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Lobos Lodge is the perfect location for exploring Carmel. Five minute walk to the beach ans in the middle of the shopping area.

Pros: Friendly staff, location and large clean rooms.
Negatives: Slow Wifi, a bit noisy on the bottom floor, and bed was soft.

Overall we had a great stay and I would return.




  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Hotel is the best real down to earth hotel. Rooms are so comfortable and inviting, Prices are exceptional, People are beyond exceptional. Everything one could want. From walking to the beach, to shopping Carmel is an experience. We went to the Mission. Could have spent a day just reading everything. Nice deli in Carmel for a quick bite to eat if you feel like staying in. Lobos Lodge can accomodate whatever your wishes are...Contintenal Breakfast so fresh, Coffee in the room..or in the lobby. Fresh fruit in the lobby also. Just a great feel good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This small lodge is ideally suited to explore Carmel. Although it is on the main street (close to all shops and restaurants), it is quiet and only a few blocks from the ocean. It is good value for the rates. It is modest in its decor but has everything one needs. My only recommendation would be to take a room on one of the upper levels as one can hear footsteps of the people above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on intermediate or upper level not lower to avoid footstep noise. We liked the room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Lobos Lodge after reading through the reviews on TA. Carmel (the cutest town on the coast) was on our trip itinerary and Lobos seemed the best value. And it was. The property is a rambling arrangement of low rooms with walkups and outside doors. What I like most was that Lobos was just off the main business street and a 5 minute walk to the beautiful public beach with Pebble Beach golf course in sight.

Our room (18) was on the top level, away from the street and very private. We also had a view of the ocean from a small private court/balcony. The room was huge, with a fireplace, vaulted ceilings, small breakfast table and king bed.

The decor was a bit tired but for me it added to the casual comfort of the place. We really loved our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 are on the upper floors and have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.