We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

When I phoned to reserve,I requested a quiet room. The clerk recommended an upper room not facing busy Ocean Avenue.

We were assigned room 15 facing over (quiet) North Casanova St.. It was ideal. The balcony with small table and chairs for two could easily accommodate four people. There is even a slight view of the ocean several blocks away.

King bed (firm and comfortable) in an alcove,table and two chairs,work desk and chair,sofa for two,sliding glass doors to balcony with sliding louvered doors to the inside for privacy and adjustable lighting,toilet and bathtub/shower closed off by mirrored door from rest of bathroom,louvered doors close bathroom area off completely from rest of room,large screen TV (no movie channels),small fridge.

Daily breakfast is juice (tomato or orange),muffin or sometimes croissant,lovely fresh fruit cup,and a bud vase with fresh flowers from their beautiful gardens which dominate the property.

Gas fireplace built into wall.

Leave the balcony door ajar at night and hear the surf.

We,re missing it but you shouldn't.

Room Tip: Go higher and avoid busy (noisy) Ocean Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    133
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Perfect location for one night in Carmel. Walked to the beach, shops and restaurants. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast served to the room was a nice bonus. I also enjoyed the free parking for our rental. The staff was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not sure we could have found a better place. The room was cozy but spacious at the same time. We were able to relax with some wine in front of the fireplace without feeling like we were in a hotel. The location is Ideal for exploring Carmel, right in the middle of things. The staff was friendly and helpful, gave us great recommendation for dinning, but that's for another review

Room Tip: Room's on the parking lot side are probably quieter than those on the Ocean Dr. side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location couldn't have been better as we were right in the middle of the village of Carmel, close to all the shops and restaurants. In addition, our room with fireplace, was big and comfortable. Finally, the price was reasonable, given our wonderful location. If I had any one complaint, and it is mild, I thought all of the desk personnel seemed distracted and slightly disinterested.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The room was large and the bed was comfortable, however the pillows were terrible. Hard foam. Towels were soft and plenty of shampoo and soap was provided. A continental breakfast was served each morning. Our room, #34, was a bit dark and stuffy. Ceiling fans would be a welcome feature. The location is very good. Near many restaurants and shops. We would stay here again. Good value for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found this property through trip advisor when our drive on the PCH found us in Carmel. The front desk staff was extremely accommodating. We walked in to ask what was available and they allowed us to actually see the rooms before renting for the night. We stayed in unit 25 at the end of the property. Even though the deck opened to the street, the unit was very quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was immaculate. Our breakfast was brought to our room exactly when promised. It's an easy walk to the beach and the fireplace is wonderful for the cool evenings. Our only regret is we didn't have more than one night to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent two nights here summer '12. You're right on the main drag of Carmel, which is the whole point. Walk a few steps to coffee, ice cream, and too many good restaurants to mention. Walk a few blocks to the gorgeous beach. Drive a few miles to Point Lobos and soak up the amazing coastal scenery. This place is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.