We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, comfort and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charm, comfort and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found this property through trip advisor when our drive on the PCH found us in Carmel. The front desk staff was extremely accommodating. We walked in to ask what was available and they allowed us to actually see the rooms before renting for the night. We stayed in unit 25 at the end of the property. Even though the deck opened to the street, the unit was very quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was immaculate. Our breakfast was brought to our room exactly when promised. It's an easy walk to the beach and the fireplace is wonderful for the cool evenings. Our only regret is we didn't have more than one night to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    127
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
212
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent two nights here summer '12. You're right on the main drag of Carmel, which is the whole point. Walk a few steps to coffee, ice cream, and too many good restaurants to mention. Walk a few blocks to the gorgeous beach. Drive a few miles to Point Lobos and soak up the amazing coastal scenery. This place is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights in room 33 and would stay again for sure. The rooms were spacious and charming with shuttered doors to bathroom & closet area and shutters on sliding glass doors. Our king bed was in an alcove and there was a nice seating area with a couch & a fireplace. There was a table and chairs to enjoy continental breakfast which was delievered to our room each morning. Even a desk where we could use our ipad with good wifi service. A balcony looking over the very well kept gardens. The bed was a bit hard, but we still slept well. Very clean and well maintained. This hotel does not have a fitness room or a pool but being in the heart of Carmel, who would have time. Your exercise is walking and hiking being so close to the ocean as well as all the shops in Carmel. Our room was on the parking lot side and was very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level. Our room, #33 was in the center with a view looking towards the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Got the room basics we wanted at a good price and a great location. We stayed two nights mid-week at the end of May when no large events were schedule in the area. Room #26 had two double beds, comfortable sofa, gas fireplace and small lanai looking onto Ocean Avenue in Carmel. A considerate room design put the toilet and tub in their own room within the bathroom. Sink and generous vanity area could be used while someone was in the toilet or bath. Room was missing windows but did have a sliding glass door to lanai. Room tended towards being warm, so we had to crack the sliding glass door at night and use the provided fan to sleep. The decor was basic and dated, but clean and useful. There was no movie option included with the cable service. Our stay was quiet. In room continental breakfast was offered, but we turned it down. First delivery time was 8:00am and we like to be out earlier than that. Many breakfast diners and coffee shops were within walking distance from the hotel. We walked easily to everything in the cutsie shopping area. More practical stores were nearby via car.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is very clean, and one of the least expensive in Carmel. The positives are the housekeeping-- it's spotless, and they come like 2-3x a day to clean the room. The downsides, our room (#21) was on the ground floor, and there was very little soundproofing-- could hear every footstep upstairs (but not voices). Also, very loud street noise, everytime a car went down Ocean Ave (the main street), it reverberated through the room. The morning breakfast isn't really a breakfast-- it's a muffin and some fruit. The Wi-Fi is ridiculous-- it doesn't work (although poor service everywhere in Carmel). Free parking, good location, close to the beach. Would recommend a room NOT in the basement.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are loud b/c of people walking above you. Would recommend a higher room, maybe away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed just for one night but that was not enough! The hotel is set over a wide area and to get to your room you walk though outdoor paths and well kept gardens. Almost made you feel you were staying in a cottage and not a hotel. Rooms were large, well apportioned and the bathrooms had everything you needed. Breakfast delivered to your door was a nice touch, but there are better dining options up the road anyway. Can't find much to fault the place really.

Location of this place is mega, a short walk to the beach and the main road with most restaurants and shops is on the doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed just one night here but wished we'd stayed longer. Very close to the shops, restaurants and beach, the location was perfect for our short stay and the room was huge! We had a massive bed, sitting area, fire, very large bathroom and the little balcony was an added bonus. If you want wifi this is not the place to stay but if you want a large, comfortable, clean and central place to stay with a little continental breakfast to start your day then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If all rooms are like ours then I doubt they have a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list