We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gem in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed just one night here but wished we'd stayed longer. Very close to the shops, restaurants and beach, the location was perfect for our short stay and the room was huge! We had a massive bed, sitting area, fire, very large bathroom and the little balcony was an added bonus. If you want wifi this is not the place to stay but if you want a large, comfortable, clean and central place to stay with a little continental breakfast to start your day then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If all rooms are like ours then I doubt they have a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    127
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
212
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arrived in the enchanting town of Carmel on a Sunday afternoon and checked into Lobos Lodge. Had picked my room when booking. Check in was easy and friendly. Hotel is located on a hill so there are multiple levels. We were on the intermediate level facing Ocean Av with a small balcony. Room was spacious with a king sized bed, full couch, small table and small gas fireplace. Bathroom had a seperate toilet/shower room and loads of counter space near the sink. Mirror and sink arrangement not the best for a short woman but a common problem in most hotels. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. There is parking in a tight lot but in Carmel space is at a premium!

We took their recommendation for dinner that night and for lunch the next day and were not disappointed.

Continental Breakfast of pastry, fruit and juice arrives at a pre-arranged time to your room each morning. Just enough so that you don't have to go out looking for breakfast and can relax in the AM.

Location is great for anything in center of Carmel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There is a site map on their website, take a look and decide where you want to be. If you mind road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night on our way up the coast. Stayed first weekend in May and got "winter rates"....$125 a night! Perfect location; right in the thick of things....Shops, restaurants and a short walk to the fabulous beach. Rooms were spacious with quasi living room/dining area with small refrigerator for wine/cheese, etc. Great deal....check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only had one night in Carmel and stayed here on the recommendation of some people we met in LA. Very well located at the end of Ocean Ave (almost) and rooms we massive. Ours just had an ocean glimpse but the room more than made up for it. Easy walking to shops and restaurants and staff were very helpful. They offer a complimentary breakfast delivered to your room at a time you specify (from the range they give you). It is small but enough to get you started. The best thing for many travelers is the12pm check out, but don't bother asking for a late check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is one of the best values in Carmel. The location can not be beat. The room we stayed in was large, old but completely up dated with new paint, counter tops and furnishings. Safe off street parking. A continental breakfast delivered to the room, with fresh flowers!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but will be back. The room is more like a suite, very large and comfortable. Very convenient location close to the beach and on the main street of Carmel. You can walk everywhere. They bring a continental breakfast to your room. Simple but sufficient for a light breakfast. There are some views and you have a little patio or deck with most rooms as well as a fireplace. Our room 25 was in very good condition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in 4 different places between Monterey and San Simeon and this was by far the best value for money. We rang in the morning and got the best price we had in 4 days. Location as others have said cannot be beat (walk everywhere in town and to the beach) and we didn't have any problems with noise even though the hotel told us when we were booking that there was someone in the room above us. Check-in/out was fine and staff were friendly. The room we had (33) was right off the parking lot at the back so at first we were a bit concerned but as soon as we went in couldn't believe the size of the room - king bed, small lounge area, large bathroom and outdoor balcony overlooking the well maintained garden. This was also the only place to include breakfast (continental - croissant, fruit cup and juice). There is also an evening turn-down service, with mini mint chocolate. No fee for parking. Free coffee, tea, cookies and fruit in the lobby. Free wifi. We were very happy and would stay again. It is a very pretty town with lots of art galleries and wine bars - and the beach is lovely and long enough for a good walk or jog - or swim in the ocean if you can brave the cold water!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list