We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Carmel Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous Carmel Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked our stay at Lobos based on a recommendation from my sister coupled with reviews on TripAdvisor. We were NOT disappointed. It is located on Ocean Ave right in the heart of Carmel....convenient and easy to find. The front desk staff were so welcoming and helpful. Our room...a standard king suite...was great, well appointed and very clean. Since the Lodge is on a hillside each room was on a different level...very unique. For Carmel, the rates were very reasonable. Unfortunately we were just passing through, so only stayed one night, but you can rest assured that anytime we are in Carmel Lobos Lodge will be our first choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms not fronting Ocean Ave are quieter. There is no air conditioning, but each room has a fan and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Orient_Ex_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were on a 10 day California EXTRAVAGANZA and Lobos Lodge was our third hotel to stay in.

From the reviews and the price point, I did not expect it to be anything more than adequate.

What a lovely surprise .... check in was smooth and easy. We parked and walked up to our room - which was #25 - A King plus Sofa.

It had a large sitting room with couch, table, small vanity and armoire... off the main room was an alcove with the King sized bed.

The bathroom was large with a vanity and closet and a second room with the tub and toilet.

It was clean, breezy and had a lovely patio that looked out on the main room. THe room did not have air conditioning, but as soon as we opened all the windows it cooled down plenty.

I would say that the furniture is dated, but I would not say it's shabby. It fits well with the laid back beachy feel of Carmel.

Lobos is in the last block of shopping and just a few (VERY STEEP) blocks up from the ocean ... perfect location!!! There is a bit of street noise, but we didn't mind as it got us up and going in the morning.

We had a lovely turn down service while we were out and then breakfast the next morning (my only critique was that the fruit was not very good!).

All in all .. we simply could've not asked for better. I HIGHLY recommend the hotel and room number 25!!!

Room Tip: If you want something quieter, ask for a back of the hotel room .. but if you enjoy watching people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meliachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great atmosphere and only a few blocks from the beach. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. I'd come back and stay here again! I highly recommend to anyone staying in Carmel for a night or 2.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linplifk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROPHY CLUB TEXAS
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The place is exactly like the reviews suggest. We received great service at check in . the room with King bed was spacious and the bath was also. Had a fan in the closet that came in handy even though it was cool there in July.Can't find anything to complain about and have to seriously quest the folks on this site that do. I say for the price you get more that a great bang for the buck. The Village is right there and so is the beach. We Love Carmel and will try to go back some day and spend more time.
I have just two tips:
Stay a couple of days
&
try Little Napoli for delicious Italian food.

Room Tip: it can be a bit cool even in July , spend at least two days there and we love Italian and found Litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JESUSFOLLOWERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located on the Ocean side of the downtown area, great for walking to the beach or around the town.

Room Tip: Count on going up and down a few steps to/from the room and office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwajlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, KY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel proved to be a great place to stay our three nights in Carmel. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient for walking to either the shops or the beach, so we did not have to leave our free parking at the hotel. The breakfasts brought to the room were pastries with fruit cups and orange juice. Good coffee was always available in the lobby, whcih is only a few steps away from most rooms. There is no onsite restaurant, but many good ones are only a block or two away. All in all this hotel is a really good value for Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stng1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,Va.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We unexpectedly had to change our room reservation to a different night, and Mark went out of his way to accommodate us! We weren't expecting a fire place in our room, but we did use it--in July! Try to arrive before dark since we had some difficulty finding the hotel. Street signs/poles, at night, are hard to read. In the morning, we discovered some wonderful shops and restaurants while walking around the town. If you are arriving late, make sure to schedule a time for the continental breakfast to be brought to your room before 9 p.m.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in room 44, but understand it's the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonspringfieldVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing