We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Carmel Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Carmel Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked our stay at Lobos based on a recommendation from my sister coupled with reviews on TripAdvisor. We were NOT disappointed. It is located on Ocean Ave right in the heart of Carmel....convenient and easy to find. The front desk staff were so welcoming and helpful. Our room...a standard king suite...was great, well appointed and very clean. Since the Lodge is on a hillside each room was on a different level...very unique. For Carmel, the rates were very reasonable. Unfortunately we were just passing through, so only stayed one night, but you can rest assured that anytime we are in Carmel Lobos Lodge will be our first choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms not fronting Ocean Ave are quieter. There is no air conditioning, but each room has a fan and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    130
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
214
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were on a 10 day California EXTRAVAGANZA and Lobos Lodge was our third hotel to stay in.

From the reviews and the price point, I did not expect it to be anything more than adequate.

What a lovely surprise .... check in was smooth and easy. We parked and walked up to our room - which was #25 - A King plus Sofa.

It had a large sitting room with couch, table, small vanity and armoire... off the main room was an alcove with the King sized bed.

The bathroom was large with a vanity and closet and a second room with the tub and toilet.

It was clean, breezy and had a lovely patio that looked out on the main room. THe room did not have air conditioning, but as soon as we opened all the windows it cooled down plenty.

I would say that the furniture is dated, but I would not say it's shabby. It fits well with the laid back beachy feel of Carmel.

Lobos is in the last block of shopping and just a few (VERY STEEP) blocks up from the ocean ... perfect location!!! There is a bit of street noise, but we didn't mind as it got us up and going in the morning.

We had a lovely turn down service while we were out and then breakfast the next morning (my only critique was that the fruit was not very good!).

All in all .. we simply could've not asked for better. I HIGHLY recommend the hotel and room number 25!!!

Room Tip: If you want something quieter, ask for a back of the hotel room .. but if you enjoy watching people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere and only a few blocks from the beach. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. I'd come back and stay here again! I highly recommend to anyone staying in Carmel for a night or 2.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROPHY CLUB TEXAS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The place is exactly like the reviews suggest. We received great service at check in . the room with King bed was spacious and the bath was also. Had a fan in the closet that came in handy even though it was cool there in July.Can't find anything to complain about and have to seriously quest the folks on this site that do. I say for the price you get more that a great bang for the buck. The Village is right there and so is the beach. We Love Carmel and will try to go back some day and spend more time.
I have just two tips:
Stay a couple of days
&
try Little Napoli for delicious Italian food.

Room Tip: it can be a bit cool even in July , spend at least two days there and we love Italian and found Litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located on the Ocean side of the downtown area, great for walking to the beach or around the town.

Room Tip: Count on going up and down a few steps to/from the room and office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, KY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel proved to be a great place to stay our three nights in Carmel. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient for walking to either the shops or the beach, so we did not have to leave our free parking at the hotel. The breakfasts brought to the room were pastries with fruit cups and orange juice. Good coffee was always available in the lobby, whcih is only a few steps away from most rooms. There is no onsite restaurant, but many good ones are only a block or two away. All in all this hotel is a really good value for Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,Va.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We unexpectedly had to change our room reservation to a different night, and Mark went out of his way to accommodate us! We weren't expecting a fire place in our room, but we did use it--in July! Try to arrive before dark since we had some difficulty finding the hotel. Street signs/poles, at night, are hard to read. In the morning, we discovered some wonderful shops and restaurants while walking around the town. If you are arriving late, make sure to schedule a time for the continental breakfast to be brought to your room before 9 p.m.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in room 44, but understand it's the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;