We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice, spacious, well furnished L- shaped room with seating area and dinning table. We stayed in one of the lower level rooms which backed out onto the street, which made it a bit dark as we kept the street level shutters closed for privacy, but there was plenty of lighting in the room so it wasn't a problem. No issues with noise from the street as Carmel is a nice quiet place. The location was great as it is right on the main street with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The beach is a short walk down the same street. The continental breakfast delivered to your door, at exactly the agreed time, was a nice touch. Carmel is beautiful and this hotel is a good choice and great value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    130
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
59
214
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz Mts. Calif.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a disappointment this hotel has turned out to be. We were so excited when we first discovered it, as location and price are very good. However, we have now stayed here 4 times and 3 out of the 4 times, we have had plumbing and odor problems. The toilets have backed up, the showers have backed up and there is a moldy smell in some of the rooms. This has also happened to friends who have stayed here. They claim that it is tree roots, but the hotel should do a thorough re-plumbing of their units. There has also been problems with dirty rugs. The staff is wonderful, but the owners need to take better charge of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our "tour" of California. They're located in the heart of the Carmel Beach area. It was nice to just walk over to the local restaurants and shops. I recommend parking at the hotel and walking around town as it's challenging to find close parking. It's a five minute walk to the beach although it's all uphill coming back. We had picked up some wine in Napa and we enjoyed it next to the room's fireplace. The beds/bath were clean and the room was charming. The employees we interacted with were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for three nights on our way to San Francisco and selected the Lobos on the basis of the reviews, we made an excellent choice. The hotel is conveniently situated close to most restaurants and the beach, The room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony on which we had the continental breakfast which was delivered to our room every morning. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We absolutely loved our time at Los Lobos Lodge! Super quaint, clean, spacious room. Loved waking up within walking distance of the water and then enjoying a glass of wine by the fireplace come evening. The location is fantastic, as it is tucked between the beach and plenty of cute shops/restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price can't be beat. When we come back to Carmel in the future, we won't be staying anywhere else! Hands down, this is Carmel's Best Kept Secret...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way down the coast and over to King's Canyon and Yosemite. The room (37) was big and includes a sitting area with a partial view of the ocean. The bathroom was nice and clean and looked newly renovated. It is on the second floor so it was pretty quiet. The bed was comfortable and the room has a small refrigerator and a gas fireplace. The included breakfast was nice but the earliest delivery time is 8:00 AM which since this was our first night after flying from the east coast seemed really late to us.

There was a slight stale musty odor, probably from the climate and the older carpet. The wifi was very slow so don't plan on doing any major downloading here.

Room Tip: Room 37 is their most expensive room but it is on the second floor with no elevators so you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We loved everything about our recent 3 night stay at Lobos Lodge. Our expectations were high having consulted Tripadvisor before we booked but even these were surpassed. The beds and pillows were so comfortable, the room (no. 14) was so large it felt like a complete apartment, it was very peaceful although so close to Ocean Avenue and we had a view of the sea. It was actually very pleasant to have breakfast delivered to the room as it meant we didn't have to keep to a fixed schedule. The landscaped gardens are kept immaculately as our the rooms themselves, the free parking in a town as popular as Carmel is a real bonus, so in summary, full marks from us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.