We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great hotel for a family. Large room, patio, separate sitting area and fireplace.
We had two adult children that stayed with us, plenty of room for all of us.
They brought a free continental breakfast to your room at your requested time.

Best was the location to the sea and to shopping and dinning.
Worst pillows not good, and no small refrig in the room.

Hint: get your morning coffee in the office after 8 am

Room Tip: Not a room on Ocean Bl, too noisy take one over looking the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    132
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
221
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Sometimes things are as they appear on the Internet. That was the case with the original hotel I booked in Carmel. Realizing we didn't want to stay there, we jumped in the car and drove around town in search of an alternative. Heading down Ocean Blvd towards we spotted Lobos Lodge, a series of small, modern buildings. Even from the street, we knew this was our kind of place, as long as they had a room!

One two-night room was available so we said "We'll take it," without even seeing it. The rooms are spacious and each has a generous patio area made all the nicer by the lush landscaping on the property. A Spa and a small Gift shop are on the property, but I should mention that like most of Carmel, there are plenty of steps to navigate. One amenity we really enjoyed, was having our continental breakfast brought to our room. You can specify the delivery time during check-in.

Ocean Blvd is the main drag for shops and restaurants in Carmel, so the hotel's location made easy access to shopping and meals. We shared a pizza at La Bicyclette Restaurant, sitting at Van Gough's old table. Be sure to visit The Hog's Breath Inn and check out the tiny bar that holds about 15 people, and about as many hog heads!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have nice high ceilings but I'm not sure about the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Loved the Lobos Lodge and would stay again without hesiation! Our room was so cute, very large, and equipped with high ceilings, a fireplace, and a lovely living room area. The location was great, on the main street, right at the edge of "downtown" Carmel - near all the shops and restaurants, and just a short walk from the beach. And the best part? Breakfast delivered to our door each morning!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable.

The location was just what we wanted. Located right on main street for easy walking to shops and restaurants and with the beach/ocean right down the street,

Free continental breakfast was delivered to the room each morning.

I would definitely recommend staying here when visiting Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

lobos is truly a lovely property in a prime location in carmel. the room was very clean and spacious, and despite being on the main street, very quiet. everyone who works there is friendly. the only negative to our experience was the extremely slow wifi reception. no big deal if you're here on leisure, but if you need to get any work done, you might want to take note of this. still, we have stayed here many times and plan on returning the next opportunity we have.

Room Tip: call the front desk and ask for descriptions. they are all a little different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This is our fourth time here in about six years. Very satisfied. These folks make Yu feel at home. Rooms are a bit dated, but that is part of the charm. Immaculate. Quiet. Gardens are spectacular. In the heart of Carmel. Rooms are huge. Don't know why you would stay any place else when in Carmel.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We found this based on other reviews on TripAdvisor. The location couldn't be beat; just a few blocks from the beach, right in the middle of the city, close to coffee shops, restaurants, and other stores. They were very accommodating with our late night check-in.

The room itself was very nice; clean, spacious, a bit on the older side, but perfectly fine. The fireplace was a nice touch. The bathroom was large with plenty of towels and shampoo, etc. Breakfast each morning wasn't huge - just a pastry, fruit, and juice, but a good jumpstart to the day.

The only drawback we had was that our room was on the ground floor, and maybe it was our location, or maybe it was being on the ground floor near the street, but we could hear all the noise from above us and the room next to us - people walking, conversations in the morning,etc. No one was overly loud and obnoxious, but it was a bit irritating to hear people waking up at 8am when we wanted to sleep in a bit more. Next time we'll try to get a top floor (which would have a better view, too) and see if the noise problem goes away.

Out of all the hotels/B&Bs we looked at, this was definitely the best bang for the buck we found, and we greatly enjoyed our stay there. Next time, we'll look for a room that's not on the ground floor though!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the street (Ocean Ave.) are a bit on the noisy side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.