We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Claremont, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Lobos Lodge April 14-16. We had a nice room with plenty of room, nice bathroom and easy access. The staff is great and this location is wonderful just a few blocks from the beach (2 blocks) and on Ocean Avenue which is the main street in Carmel. We are very picky and we were pleased. If I stayed here again, I would request room # 17 which has an ocean view. Otherwise, it was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    133
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Beautiful room with seating area, fireplace and patio. Very friendly staff. Nice muffin, fruit and juice delivered to your room in the morning. We had requested in inside room to avoid noise and were not disappointed. Convenient to the downtown area. Walkable to beach (4 blocks) Very reasonable in price. Bed was very comfortable but the pillows were hard. While there DO NOT MISS going to Los Lobos Reserve. Walking along the paths at the cliffs and watching the surf pound the rocks was breathtaking. We were able to watch seals and their pups.

Room Tip: Do ask for an inside room to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Great location and most pleasant personnel. We stayed for just one night in a pleasant room with a small balcony. The room was very clean and had good furnishings, gas fireplace, seating area and a continental breakfast (juice, cut-up fruit, muffin) were delivered to the room at a preselected time. Coffee and tea were available in the office or to make in the room . The bathroom is well supplied and a good shower/tub. Lighting is not quite adequate, and the rooms are on several levels, so stairs might be a problem for some guests. The outdoor hallways need new carpeting, and some of the trash receptacles were not cleaned. I would stay here again, but would probably try for another of the inns, if one was available. Carmel is a delightful place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

lobos lodge is exactly what you look for in a good hotel. comfortable rooms, nice staff, and more--breakfast served in your room with the newspaper (!) and a fireplace. we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Lobos Lodge and, unfortunately, they could not accommodate us for a second night because they were fully booked. Mark, at reception was very courteous and informative, and professional. He suggested places to eat which proved to be teriffic for us. The lodge is very clean and inviting with flowers everywhere. They even have turn down service in the evenings. A Continental breakfast (included in the room rate) is delivered to your door at a specified time in the morning, which is a nice touch. Free WiFi too! The next night we stayed at the Pine Inn which was not nearly as nice. It's no wonder Lobos Lodge is rated #1 in TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband and I decided to try Lobos Lodge thanks to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay! If you are looking to spend the majority of your time in Carmel-by-the-Sea and want a pleasant experience without paying a fortune, this is the place. You're right on Ocean Avenue (I wouldn't recommend staying in one of the rooms facing Ocean Ave, though; we paid a bit more for one on a side street to avoid all the noise) and can walk to the shops, galleries and restaurants. Parking on-site is free and it's SO nice not having to mess with the car and finding a parking space in town. You are also just a five minute walk to the beach.

Lobs Lodge sure tries its darndest to be a boutique hotel at a bargain price. And they succeed well enough given it's such a deal. Tea and coffee are available in the lobby, with apples in the morning and cookies in the afternoon. They bring you continental breakfast to your room (a nice touch) of juice, fresh fruit and a muffin with a newspaper. But the cookies and muffins tasted store-bought, as opposed to the freshly baked stuff you'll find in the finer B&Bs such as Seven Gables Inn over in Pacific Grove (where we stayed last year). Our huge room was decorated in a cute beachy style, but the furnishings were on the cheap side. The biggest drawback is the bed; the mattress was not at all inviting and the sheets were stiff. And while the main part of the bathroom with the sink is huge (with a nice closet) the toilet and shower/tub are in the separate section which is a little cramped and inconvenient. Also, walls are thin--we could hear our neighbor's TV going.

However, if you don't have a bad back or need a really romantic room, you should consider Lobos Lodge. The little gardens and courtyards around the lodge are adorable and it was decorated nicely for Christmas. The staff was also pleasant and helpful. And, the location can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of reviews on Trip Advisor, I was not disappointed!
A lovely warm friendly welcome at check in with complimentary cookies and hot drinks. We stayed in Room 45 which was fantastic, no-one above or below. Newly decorated, this was probably one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in! Coffee maker in room, plus a fridge, which came in useful for chilling some local microbrew beers! Breakfast (fresh pastries, orange juice and fruit) was great, delivered to room at a time of your choosing. Free parking and wifi (just ask for password at reception).
I cannot fault the lodge. Would love to come back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 rooms with spacious fireplaces and seating area, intimate setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.