We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Oakton, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great views...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Most reviewers have it right; nice place... great views... friendly service/staff, etc... We did not find the Inn to be in any way "tired"... matter of fact we found it to be nicely appointed, clean with a lovely wine reception in the evening and well rounded continental breakfast brought to the room (a nice touch)... the view from our Ocean View Suite made the extra $$ well worth it... just lovely... though we did have contend with "june gloom" and the view was not nearly as clear as it would have been any other time of the year... the Inn is situated a bit South of the town of Carmel and the traffic can be heavy... no matter... we'd recommend the Inn..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    132
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
42
520
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Tickle Pink clearly has an loyal fan base, and from the visitors book it is obvious that many customers return year after year - for peace and quiet overlooking the calm Pacific, the comfort of the balcony and the log fire in the room (for when it gets chilly, which it does) this place ticks the boxes. A modest DVD collection, complimentary cheese and wine in the evenings and chocolates and champagne on arrival are also lovely touches - I can see why people like it.

So there is nothing really wrong with it, but for the price I expected something a bit more plush - this place is a bit tired, in need of a refurb (esp the rather chintzy rooms).

Most disappointing of all was breakfast - for a boutique hotel, the breakfast was an unimaginative, uninspiring buffet - I expected better.

If I were to visit this area again I would probably find somewhere in Carmel, which is a very pleasant little town. A few small changes to Tickle Pink are required though to make it worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtoff, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
We truly appreciate the positive comments in this review. Indeed, many of our valued guests return year after year to re-experience the breathtaking views, plush accommodations, and complimentary amenities and services that we provide. It is always satisfying to listen to couples reminisce about honeymoons spent with us, and even more thrilling to help plan an engagement. We are fortunate to be in a position to create meaningful memories for our clientele.

We are disheartened and surprised to read that this guest found our property to be tired, and our rooms chintzy. We know of no other property that has done more in the last 12 months to update rooms, improve services, and enhance amenities. During this time, we have installed new carpets, drape assemblies, lamps, artwork, recessed lighting, and curved shower rods throughout. For our in-room amenities, we have added slippers, loofah sponges, Starbucks coffee, portable fans, free local telephone calls and free wireless Internet access. Additionally, we have not initiated any reductions to our complimentary services. While we continuously thrive to provide more for our guests, we encourage and welcome any comments and suggestions for improving our property.

We are very sorry that this guest did not enjoy our complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, as most of our guests do. Included are an array of freshly baked pastries (in our own kitchen - muffins, strudels, scones, croissants and bagels), cream cheese, peanut butter, jams, yogurt, cottage cheese, eggs Florentine, ham, granola, fresh fruit, Starbucks coffee, and a wide variety of juices and teas. We believe it is a generous display offering a balanced variety for all.

We are hopeful that anyone considering a visit to this beautiful part of California takes the opportunity to stay at our special and unique Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed one night in Carmel driving from SF down Big Sur. Loved the TPI! Bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in - beautiful view & private room (Crow's Nest).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

The good: Beautiful location & great view; comfortable bed and linens; large soaking tub and marble bath; nice bath amenities; very clean; warm cookies, champagne and chocolates on arrival; large closet for suitcases and clothes; beautiful terrace for watching the sunset with good wine, cheese and friends!

The bad: the water in the bathroom smelled and tasted bad; the champagne was a nice touch but unfortunately, unlike the wine served at evening reception, it was the worst we'd ever drank - we're not wine snobs and didn't expect Dom Perignon, but for the price we paid for the room, a couple of steps up the quality ladder would have made a better impression; the first morning we asked for breakfast to be delivered to our room and it was not as ordered (thereafter we decided to eat on the terrace); breakfast is the exact same offering every morning - fine if you're staying one night but gets old if you're there several days - it was good but nothing outstanding - about what you'd get at an Embassy Suites; there's no a/c so we had to leave the balcony door open to keep from getting hot - imagine the lack of privacy when you have neighbors on their balconies!!!; with regard to the balconies themselves, they offer very little privacy - just a small piece of see-through lattice that only extends part-way down the side - we could plainly see and hear our neighbors (even at 1 am!); we tried to print boarding passes the day before our departure - first we had to wait about 10 min in the office for someone to get the key to open the Board Room for us - once there, we tried to print and the printer was out of ink (another guest had the same problem the day before and it was still left unaddressed when we got there) - we waited for the staff to go and look for a printer cartridge but none was to be found (no replacement cartridges in stock?) - finally we returned to the office where we had to wait again before finally being offered a computer station that worked - frustrating and time consuming!

This lack of service at every turn left us scratching our heads at the other reviews of good service - if it had been an isolated incident, we'd have looked the other way. To be fair, there were times that we got adequate service (though never outstanding), but too many times it was less than adequate. As for the price, we weren't initially bothered by it or we wouldn't have stayed to begin with, but at this price point, we definitely expected better privacy, service and quality. Tickle Pink would be a WONDERFUL place at $100 less per night, but at the current rate it is by no means worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Tickle Pink based on tripadvisor recommendations of it being the top hotel in Carmel. We both liked it a lot, but I expected a little more for the price and tripadvisor rating. Upon arriving, we did receive complimentary champagne and chocolates which was nice.

My only complaints: 1) It was very hot in the room and I tried to cool it down by turning on the AC. That didn't work, it only pumped out hotter air. We opened the windows and turned on a fan and quickly cooled down. 2) Privacy - We were on the first floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the terrace where everyone had breakfast and cocktails in the evening. It felt like they were in the room with us.

But overall, it was a really nice stay. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Tickle Pink upon recommendation from a friend who has been going there for over ten years. All I can say is that the Inn is beautiful, the service impeccable, and the location is very picturesque and romantic. We stayed there one night on a trip up the coast of California, and it was by far our favorite hotel. We had warm cookies upon arrival, and then headed to the deck for a great wine and cheese reception. As we had been on the road for several days and were looking for a laid back place to eat dinner, the hotel booked dinner for us at the Rio Grill, which was perfect. We came back to our room with a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling for us. A perfect end to the evening.

The beds in this hotel are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and even though we were there for only one night, it was very memorable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

My husband and I arrived in Carmel after a beautiful five hour drive along the coast from Santa Barbara, CA for our honeymoon. We had decided we wanted a place to go that we could get to by car, avoiding airlines and such, and choose Carmel. We wanted to splurge on a hotel that would offer amenities like a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, etc. Upon arrival, I was slightly surprised at how much more rustic the Inn was than I had expected...it would have been something good to know for me - but not necessarily something that would have kept me from staying there.
My favorite things about this hotel included the daily continental breakfast that is included in the room cost, and can either be enjoyed on a terrace overlooking the ocean or in the privacy of your own room - at NO extra cost! We took advantage of this almost every morning. Frankly, it's way too quiet at the breakfast on the terrace. Just make sure you go down to see what they have the first day. They'll bring you anything they have, but they don't always offer it on the phone. We didn't even know they had certain things until we went down!
The staff does a remarkable job at keeping your room clean and towels refreshed. And if you have the luxury of having a wood-burning fireplace, they keep you well-stocked with wood to burn and also clean up the fireplace each time after you use it.
Parking was easy and convenient, access to Carmel-by-the-Sea, Carmel Valley (wineries) and Monterey were all very close and easy too.
The weather is another story. And that's not the fault of Tickle Pink Inn - but just as a word to the wise - we were so disappointed in the cooler temperatures and almost constant cloudiness near the bay/ocean. Beware that the beautiful ocean view room you pay for may not give you much of a view. But the privacy is wonderful!
Enjoyed our stay very much.
Oh and p.s. the BEST champagne we've ever had (and we are certainly not strangers to champagne) was brought to our room within minutes of arrival - compliments of the staff. Delicious and the PERFECT way to start our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list