We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic hideaway - as advertised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A romantic hideaway - as advertised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

When we checked into the Tickle Pink Inn, like everyone else, we were thrilled! Yes, it is older. There really isn't any room service per se, and the rooms/grounds are a little smaller than they appear on the website. That being said, we were staying here for a romantic getaway and got just that! Greeted by an amazing staff, complimentary champagne, chocolates and a room with a view that we never wanted to leave! While the room was a little smaller than expected (#19), it was perfect and very clean - right down to the comfortable king sized bed! The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and we cannot imagine someone being dissatisfied with the choices. The wine and cheese reception is a must! Two different types of red, two of white, various cheeses with bread and/or crackers and fruit. A great place to meet and chat with others - or take back to your room! And the sunsets......ahhhhh. A wonderful meal can be found just steps away at the Highland Inn or a short drive into Carmel. One of the best parts is sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine (or whatever) and reading the stories written in the 'room's diary'. We felt a part of something special while there and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    139
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
45
557
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Maybe it depends on the room you get at the Tickle Pink Inn. We stayed in room 34, and it was absolutely terriffic! Our stay was part of a two-week journey that took us from San Francisco up to Lake Tahoe, down the Pacific Coast Highway to Los Angeles and back to San Francisco. We are glad we stayed at the Tickle Pink Inn!

We arrived in time for the wine and cheese reception, so we headed to the deck to enjoy that before settling into the room. We made sure we had a big lunch, so the reception would be enough to carry us through the night, as there is no restaurant on-site and we wanted to maximize our time in the room. The room itself was stunning! The wall of windows, a huge balcony and a view to die for! We immediately popped open a bottle of wine and parked our behinds on the balcony until the sun had fully set. Then we changed into our robes, and it was back onto the balcony. There was nobody on either side of us, but even if there would've been, the balcony was pretty-much private.

Our champagne arrived about 8:00, a little later than we would've liked, as we were well into lounge-mode! But, we stayed up late to fully enjoy the jacuzzi, the balcony and the view. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we stayed in it until the last minute! There wasn't a thing we wanted that wasn't provided in the room...hot chocolate, coffee, wine glasses, wine opener, fans, etc. I know I few times I said, "it would be nice if I had a...", and found it shortly thereafter right in the room.

There were two downsides:
1. No screen on the sliding glass doors, so if you want to leave the door open at night, expect a few insects to come in
2. The kitchen staff (for breakfast) doesn't speak very good English, so our order didn't get delivered, and we had to call again after an hour of waiting.

Other than that, kick back and enjoy the room to its fullest!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We were returning from a visit to see our Son and Family in SF. We stayed a TPI and loved it. They exceeded our expectations. Room was very nice, wine and cheese party excellent as we met many neat people and enjoyed the wonderful Xmas decor and fireplace.
Room view of ocean was great in Room # 18. We previewed more spacious rooms with our new friends but our room was clean, nicely decorated and fit our value/ cost budget.

We also like being outside of Carmel by the Sea but close enough for visits and dinner.

TPI was great for us and our budget.

Bill G, San Diego

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

All I can say is that you have to go to understand. Everything from the moment we arrived until the moment we left was great. If you go, be sure to read the guest books in the rooms -- they have some great stories and add to the charm of the place. We went for our anniversary and could see ourselves going back there many, many times in the future.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn was a stop on our 13-day driving trip around California for our 10th anniversary, and was our favorite night of the entire trip!

We booked the best suite in the house, for which comparable suites in the area were going for double the price. We knew about the wine and cheese reception, so we arrived at 4:30 to take part in that. It was a perfect way to begin our stay, as we were able to unwind from our day-long drive from Lake Tahoe on a deck overlooking the Pacific ocean.

We made our way through the long pathways to our room, #34, and were stunned when we placed the real key in the door and opened it! The photos on the web site don't do it justice...it was a GORGEOUS room! Windows from floor-to-ceiling with spectacular views of the waves crashing along the rocks below, a large comfortable bed, hot tub, beautiful bathroom, bar area, fireplace, flat screen TV and more.

There wasn't anything we thought of that wasn't provided for in the room. Wine opener, wine glasses, coffee, candles, fans, bottled water, robe and slippers...everything! We started the evening with a bottle of wine we bought in Napa earlier that week and sat on the balcony to watch the sun set. At around 8:00, there was a knock at the door for a delivery of complimentary chilled champagne. What a great touch! Be sure to give the guy at least $5 for bringing it. Time for the hot tub (details omitted). Then, we started a fire in the fireplace and read through room #34's journal. It was fun to read about the people who stayed in the room throughout the year. Each patron seemed to have a special reason for staying at the Tickle Pink Inn, and a special story to share.

In the morning, we ordered breakfast (complimentary) to the room, rather than walking back down to the lounge where the wine and cheese reception was the night before. We sat on the balcony to soak up more of the viewe before checking out at the last minute.

This was a very special stay for us, mostly due to the Inn's staff, the beauty of the area, and our love for each other. We will return without hesitation!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed in an Ocean View suite (room 34) and it was just wonderful. The room was very large with a sitting area and woodburning stove. The balcolny was large with fantastic views over the ocean. The room was clean and fully equiped.

Carmel is a lovely town, very quaint with lots of shops and galleries and plenty of restaurants.

A drive down to the Big Sur is a must, the scenery is spectacular.

Tickle Pink Inn is a lovely hotel and a great base for exploring the surrounding areas. we will definately stay there again the next time we visit Carmel.

  • Liked — The view from the balcolny
  • Disliked — The road in front of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

$395.76 got us 1 night in Room 8 (we could not stand another night).
The hotel advertises rooms with views of the Pacific, log fires, jacuzzis etc.
What we got (for our $395.76) when we arrived at room 8 was a pile of the hotels dirty laundry that made getting through the door a challenge, a room that was bijou in size, a view of a 'cove', armchairs that faced away from the TV (and we couldn't move them), and little sign of much else.
$395.76 did get you the 'champagne' in a bucket. This turned out to be cava, and sickly sweet, flat, and with an aftertaste that reminded you of vegetables you were forced to eat as a child. We poured it down the wc.
$395.76 does however, get you a level of intimacy with your neighbours to either side, and spectacularly, in the room above. We can tell you their taste in music and tv, and for the room above exactly during the night when they made use of the facilties (and what they did!).
$395.76 does not appear to include ear plugs (perhaps this could be reviewed by management?), so it would be wise to take your own.
After a sleepless (and endless) night I asked reception if I could speak to the Manager (this was about 7.30am). I was told he would not be in until 10am, and when I asked to speak on his mobile was told this was not possible, I was also told a room change was not possible.
I was also told that in the circumstances the charge for taxes would be waived - comes as little surprise to discover they have been charged to my CC.
So, after a memorable 15 hour ($26.38 per hour!) stay we headed back in to Carmel where we found a great hotel - much nicer room, great people and much less cost. (It's the Homestead).
Our travel tip? When on Route 1 and you see the sign for the Tickle Pink - drive on! There's much better value in Carmel than this pretentious establishment.
Before writing this review I tried faxing the manager for his comments - the fax did not work, so I emailed him - still awaiting a response.
We stayed in a total of 8 hotels during our trip - all were vastly superior to the Tickle Pink.
D&M, Windsor, UK

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtoff, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
We are very sorry that this guest did not find anything positive to say about his experience with us. Regretfully, management only became fully aware of this situation upon the receipt of an email from the guest on October 27. A response was immediately sent out, but as of yet, we have not received a reply. It is our policy that, on a daily basis, whether the manager is on site or not, he is made available (by cell phone if need be) to all guests and for whatever reason. It is disappointing for us to learn that this guest experienced something different from our standard policy. We have since provided him with an appropriately generous discount in consideration of the hardships he endured.

Addressing these hardships, it was unfortunate that a laundry cart was inadvertently left near the entrance of his room during the time of his arrival. We have taken the appropriate steps to prevent this occurrence from happening again. It is equally unfortunate that he did not enjoy our complimentary bottle of sparkling wine (and chocolate truffles), as the great majority of our guests enjoy both its consistent body and flavor. While noise is a common complaint for many hotels, we make every effort to control and alleviate any disturbance when notified. Our resident night manager is also available after closing hours to respond to any complaints.

We apologize for the disappointing experience of this guest, and we would certainly hope that future potential Tickle Pink Inn visitors will take into consideration the overwhelming number of positive reviews and experiences shared by other previous guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.