We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Tickled Pink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I'm Tickled Pink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when my husband informed me our last couple of nights of our holiday were to be the Tickle Pink Inn. I had visions of a romantic novel property, all pink and frilly! Not so! We were impressed with the set up and although the outside of the building looked a bit tired and 60's (not in a funky retro way) the room we had was lovely. The decor and furnishings were good quality and tasteful. The bathroom was a good size and nice and clean. Champagne on arrival was a nice surprise. We really enjoyed the wine and cheese on the terrace each evening and we chatted with some lovely people. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and set us up beautifully each morning. We had a room with a fantastic view, and as with most properties with a view I know you have to book these room specifically (and pay a bit more). It is well worth it at this property. Perfect property for couples with no children in tow. Because of the location (out of township) and siting (steep hill setting) it is not perfect for all travellers. However, I would have no hesitation recommending the Tickle Pink Inn to specific friends and family and to couples looking for something a little different. It was a good surprise and we have taken very happy memories back to Australia with us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    130
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
36
497
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in July and we just loved it. The rooms have amazing views. And the rooms are so nice and comfortable- absolutely wonderful bedding. First class all around. The breakfasts are excellent as well. I highly recommend this as a place for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. We were greeted with wonderful views and champagne on arrival. Our stay went downhill after that. Never stay on a lower floor. We were awaken at 4:30 am one day and 7:00 am the next as the guests directly above us were packing to check out or just being loud. We brought this to managements attention and they said we should have called the night manager at 4:30 am. Then one of the housekeepers decided to to peek over the side wall into our room from the patio to see my wife applying sunscreen to her unclothed body. When we brought this to managements attention, they replied that the housekeepers shouldn't do that!. Finally, we checked out and left our jewelery bags in the safe. While the hotel called us and returned them to us by Fed ex overnight, we learned that our $3,000 diamond sapphire ring was not in the bag. When we brought this to managements attention and asked what they intended to do about this, they replied that they are not responsible for items left in the room. Upon my urging, they said they would check with the owner, search the room and the safe and maybe they would speak with the housekeeper. The manager said he would get back to me. He hasn't and doubt that he ever will (although this review might prompt a response). Bottom line is management did not care, never offered to comp a night or the 2 night stay due to the many inconveniences mentioned above. This is my first ever review. I am not one of those chronic complainers looking for a freebee. I'm sorry, you do not misplace a $3,000 ring, we didn't lose it, it was stolen. Management doesn't care, refuses to do anything about it and you should be made aware of this treatment before you ever consider staying an the Tickle Pink Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
This review is very unfair…we have been making every attempt to ascertain the details/whereabouts of his reported ring, we did whatever we could to keep the inconsiderate guests near his room quiet, and it was never reported to us that one of our housekeepers inadvertently glanced over the balcony partition. We can assure everyone and this guest that all of these issues will be resolved and dealt with appropriately. As for the reportedly missing ring, bags of jewelry were found by our housekeeping supervisor and immediately put into our property safe. After having called and questioning the contents of the found items, the guest felt assured that it was all there…whereupon we shipped them to him overnight (as he anticipated his wife might need the jewelry for an upcoming trip). We have spent the last few days questioning staff members (and awaiting the return of others that were on duty that day).When all of our due diligence is done, we can assure you that we will do whatever it takes to professionally resolve the circumstances surrounding this event (it is disconcerting, however, that he chose to use TripAdvisor in this manner). Nevertheless, we are of course very sorry and apologize to this guest that this regrettable incident even occurred. In the meantime, we suggest that he a file a police report so that we might receive some assistance in resolving this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a difficult review to write, because it was our own fault that we did not read certain things before booking here.

PROS:
View is fantastic from the Inn
Senator's cottage has a nice large terrace outside it
Price is good
Everyone was friendly and helpful

CONS:
No Air Conditioning. This is an issue for us, even when it cools at night. It was too hot during the day and not cool enough at night not to have AC.
Senator's cottage is "cute" but not worth the extra $$. It is difficult to drive up to it, and it is isolated from the rest of the inn, so nothing delivered to your cottage. Queen beds only sharing one bathroom that is from the 70's or 80's. Needs updating.

No room service, only from the Hyatt next door, but if you are staying at the Senator's Cottage, they won't deliver to you...

We would have been better off at the Hyatt next door. Same view, more updated rooms, amenities, etc.

Coming from the Ventana Inn in Big Sur to this Inn was a big let down, but then again, we did not read about the lack of amenities. Not an issue for most, but for us it was.

Nice place but not for everyone.

Would we return? No. Was it terrible? No, just not for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Such a fantastic place ! Nothing to be faulted, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, sunset sunrise everything was perfect.. Would return if ever possible. The owners loan all guests a pair of binoculars, to view the marine life in the Ocean, dolphins, whales ! Once again fantastic!

Room Tip: Also nice honeymoon hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The inn is a 10-minute drive away from Carmel's Ocean Avenue, standing on a cliff with unobstructed ocean view. We chose a room with private terrace and bathtub, huge, cosy, silent and clean. Amazing views (what a sunset!). They even give you binoculars upon request, to search for whales. Good staff, although the front desk could be a bit more sympathetic. The inn offers a free welcome champagne, as well as wine and cheese every afternoon! Although there is no restaurant, in room dining is available from next door Hyatt, which is very convenient. The only two things standing between them and a maximum 5-star rating were a slow free Wi-Fi internet and no air-conditioning. I was actually surprised and even inquired them about it, but that's right: no cold AC available, only heater. That's completely disparate from all the rest and we hope it is changed for our return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were shocked when we pulled into the Tickle Pink. After driving up the coast for about 2 hours, we puled into a tiny parking lot and what looked to be a dated motel. The room was dated as well..not at all what you would expect for over $500/night. There was no air conditioner in the room, so we opened the window. The smoke from another room was so overwheelming, it soon filled our room an our clothes!! YUCK! I'm really not sure why this is rated #1....You are only paying for the view. Drive up the coast for the view and save your $500/night for somewhere else!!

The front desk closes down at 10pm. We ended u leaving that night and moving to the Carmel Valley Ranch. Thankfully, the Tickle Pink did refund our money, which was very kind since it is so expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are saddened by this review...and sorry that we were not what this guest was expecting or even wanted. It is unfortunate that they arrived late...missing our view, our sunset, and our evening Wine & Cheese Reception. The staff on duty that evening was puzzled, as they could not detect any odor or problem with the Suite. Nevertheless, they made every effort to alleviate the mystery smell, and we are sorry that it was not completely removed (further to this, management carefully inspected the Suite the following morning and could not detect any smoke scent).
We believe that this guest was looking for something else in general...perhaps a resort experience...as this room has been recently renovated and their need for air conditioning conflicts with their appreciation of fireplaces elsewhere ("...for the September weather."). While we are proud of our view, of course, we feel that our staff, accommodations, amenities, and gracious atmosphere are just as worthy. In this instance, we felt it prudent not to charge the guest for the room night, and we are pleased that they found what they considered to be more appropriate accommodations elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Hotel
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list