We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Carmel
New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not quite what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Carmel was the second stop on our trip after San Francisco. This inn came highly recommended by our travel agent. Since we were only spending one night in Carmel our original intention had been to choose a good basic motel. When we read about this inn, however, we were really impressed and decided to splurge on the $369/night. We were a little taken aback when we first pulled up to the inn. As mentioned in another review we were surprised by the look of the inn. From the outside it looks like a typical roadside motel. The parking lot was very small and not easy to navigate.

Once inside, though, the room was lovely. Not terribly large but very nicely and warmly furnished. The biggest payoff is, of course, the view. The view from our balcony overlooking the Pacific was breathtaking. We got to see the sunset which was fabulous. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception and were pleasantly surprised to find champagne and chocolates in our room when we returned from dinner.

Unfortunately we were not prepared for the lack of air conditioning. Until the sun set the room was pretty uncomfortable. At night we would not leave the door open. We probably could have put up with a few insects. We were not prepared, however, to possibly awaken to find a seagull in our room since one had been perched on our balcony the evening before. I can understand people finding screens unattractive. The inn might want to consider ceiling fans.

The breakfast, frankly, was a little disappointing. While it was perfectly adequate, I was led to believe it was going to be something really special.

My husband and I have stayed in many charming old inns over the years. What sets this place apart is the spectacular view. The staff was also extremely friendly and accomodating. If we ever return it would not be in warm weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    132
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
42
520
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Tickle Pink Inn was a 10 out of 10 at every turn from check in to check out. The rooms, we stayed in two separate rooms one room and one suite both were great. The Decore, the view, the service the afternoon wine and cheese, the breakfast were all outstanding. Compared to the others places in and round the area we visited the Tickle Pink far exceeded them all. If you want a place to relax and have some couples time away this is your spot, worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here with another couple to celebrate our 58th wedding anniversary. We were very pleased with our room and with the service. Of course, the setting itself is beautiful, and we had a great view of the cove and the ocean beyond in room No. 11. This is a basic king bed room, small but very adequate for a couple, and affordable. We were delighted to find a full-size coffeemaker, along with good quality ground beans, hidden within one of the cabinets. A cup of coffee to start the day is a must, and I don't mean one of those watery brews served up in so many hotel rooms!

We enjoyed the breakfast and cocktail hour on the covered deck, and found that if we appeared at the time they opened we were able to find a spot to sit. (The area is small for the size of the hotel, but very charming.)

We are somewhat disabled and knew there is no elevator. A staff person was available when we arrived and our bags were delivered to our room with minutes, along with champagne and chocolates. The time will come when we can no longer "do stairs", but until then this will be our top choice for a place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Room No. 11 is a flight of stairs up from the parking lot. The cove view was beautiful, even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This property sticks out as one of my favorite places I have ever stayed for the combination of reasons that all who have commented before have stated. The positioning of the building is dramatically set into the cliff side, the inn is as cozy as it looks, and the rooms are really, really nice. As are the people who work there. So nice in fact, that at my request of the nearest place to get some batteries, the innkeeper dug in a drawer and gave me four for the road. Clearly, not an expectation whatsoever but yet another detail that defines the experience. It is also within excellent proximity to getting your day going into Big Sur.

A few notes: 1) The road up to the inn is a little twisty and close, so just be prepared to pay attention once you turn off the main road. 2) For those who like a later dinner just be aware that you should plan your night accordingly as restaurants are not open real late in Carmel and you will have to get in the car. During the week, seems like most places close around 9ish so just keep it in mind.

Otherwise, enjoy the stay, the view, and this awesome Inn. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Tickle Pink, located high on the cliffs in the Carmel Highlands, was almost perfect in every respect. Our double queen ocean view room with a balcony was spacious and very well appointed. There are no elevators but access is quite easy. If you have accessibility issues make sure to note them when you make reservations. Parking is tight. Champagne and chocolates for our arrival. The clientele have high expectations and for the most part appear to always choose high end lodging. All of the staff were excellent and the breakfast buffet was quite sufficient. The Tickle Pink is absolutely perfect for a honeymoon or anniversary special occasion. If you go out at night, make sure to be very careful as there are almost no street lights in Carmel or in the Highlands area. If you are unfamiliar with the area pre plan your route!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a charming inn! A friend of mine suggested that my husband and I stay here while driving along California Highway !. This hotel is situated on top of a cliff overlooking the pacific ocean. We did not have advanced reservations, but luckily a room was available. When we arrived, we informed them that it was our anniversary. They put us in a room with an ocean view and we could not have been more pleased! To our surprise, they also had a bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us. We arrived just in time to watch the sun set from our balcony. Oh yeah, while we waited for them to set up our room, we were informed that it was wine and cheese hour. We enoyed this very much...the food was set up in this quaint little room with antiques, and we sat on the deck overlooking the ocean. If you are looking for a romantic place to stay, this is it! The price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Me and my sister stayed at Tickle Pink Inn for 2 nights in early September as part of a 12-day, California road trip. The location of the hotel was superb, the suite was spacious and the view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful. Very convenient for Carmel-by-the-Sea, Monterey and Route 1 with all the spectacular scenery the coast has to offer. The absolute highlight for me was arriving late afternoon and seeing two pods of humpback whales (about 40-50 in total) about a mile out at sea and right in front of us. Absolutely awe-inspiring and something I'll never forget. If you want a peaceful location where you can fall asleep listening to the sound of the ocean, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list