We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate customer care and service hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The ultimate customer care and service hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

What can I say other than it was everything I was expecting and more. I loved the tone and ambience of the hotel, very classy, quiet and upper crust. I was delighted to stay at this hotel, enjoyed the pampering and fine wine and cheese, champagne and chocolates and rose upon my arrival with a set of slippers and robes waiting for me and my husband. We enjoyed our own private deck and had. A gorgeous view of the pacific. The wine and cheese hour was beautiful and I wish I was there for more than a single night, so we Missed the complimentary breakfast and had to depart to continue our PCH journey. Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was wonderful, the service splendid and it was a customers dream of being pampered.

Room Tip: Request a room and deck that faces the ocean. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    133
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
44
541
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Tickle Pink for two nights in early September. Our room (#15) had an amazing view. The room itself was good sized and comfortable. We were welcomed with a rose, a bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us.
The afternoon wine & cheese (plus more!) in the Terrace Lounge is a great wind-down before dinner and the continental breakfast (also in the same place) offers plenty of variety (and some really good pastries!) The lounge has a great view of the cove in the open area plus an indoor area for those who prefer.
There is an outdoor spa area that looks lovely (however, we didn't use it).
Others have mentioned parking - there isn't a lot but enough for the guests. Often during the day staff will use it, but you can squeeze in. The lot itself is very small, so sometimes it's an adventure to back out and turn around. The inn doesn't have much for grounds - the view is its selling point.
The inn is pricey, but I would still recommend it - sitting on the balcony watching the sunset is worth the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I were getting married in Pebble Beach and we weren't sure where we were going to stay - The Tickle Pink Inn was mentioned one morning on KTLA Channel 5 News as one of the top most romantic places to stay. I'm glad we decided to reserve one of the suites for our 4 day stay in Carmel before flying on to the remainder of our honeymoon. The view was amazing, the remodeled bathroom was exceptional, the jacuzzi tub & fireplace were romantic touches, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in my entire life! However, it was the little details of having a container of fresh ground coffee in the room so that we could make an actual full pot of coffee, the complimentary breakfast every morning delivered to our room, and the fresh baked cookies every night that really stood out to us. The road below the room was overlooked since there's nothing we could do about it. I do think the decor in the rooms could be updated; however, we left there feeling peaceful, relaxed and with no question that we would return on our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at this establishment. The hotel is in a beautiful area of Carmel with our room having a spectacular view of the ocean and a nearby cove. However, the hotel itself feels more like a motel than a luxury resort. Our room was relatively small especially in view of the $400 a night charge. Upon arriving we inquired as to whether the bed coverlet, bedspread and decorative pillows were cleaned after each stay and were advised that they were only cleaned occasionally. We requested that they be removed from the room for the time we were to be there. Upon inspection the sheets had holes in them and the bed pillows were old and flat as a pancake. The parking lot for the hotel is too small to accommodate all of the vehicles that must use it when the hotel if fully occupied making it almost impossible to get in and out of the lot. The breakfasts are hit or miss with some days being better than others. There are no grounds at this hotel with only a small outdoor jacuzzi. The staff is very friendly and try to accommodate as best they can. Two nights we did not receive turn down service even though we requested it for each night of our stay. There is no air conditioning so we had to sleep with our balcony door open to cool down the room. Unfortunately there is no screen on the door so insects would come in the room. One morning we were woken up at 5:30 am by our next door neighbors' moving chairs on their balcony and talking. Overall our stay was pleasant but not memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
While we do not consider ourselves a luxury resort, we are very sorry that these guests anticipated us as such...and were therefore disappointed. We are a small intimate Inn that features rooms and suites of varying sizes and configurations. Our bedding includes Italian-crafted 100% Egyptian cotton (500 thread count) linens, and hypoallergenic Siberian and European goose down comforters and pillows...all of which are cleaned daily, if not regularly. As turndown service is not normally provided, it was our pleasure to provide it...one evening was unfortunately missed due to a misunderstanding (we came too early, and waited to be called back). The need for air conditioning is very uncommon in the Carmel area due to its proximity to the ocean (fog and coastal breezes)...and as we noted in a previous response, the sliders do not have screen doors because guests claim it detracts from the view (it was they who actually told us to remove them). We appreciate the fact that these guests thought our staff to be very friendly and that their overall stay was pleasant. We are very sorry, however, that we did not meet their expectations as we truly strive to make everyone's stay an enjoyable and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came down to Carmel for an overnight to see Lewis Black at Sunset Center, and although we could have stayed almost next door to that venue, we decided to stay about 10 min. outside Carmel south at Tickle Pink.
It is without doubt extremely expensive, but you DO get what you pay for... we had a complimentary bottle of champagne as well as a cheese & fruit platter (grapes) that was a pleasant surprise. Room 30 (suite) has a jetted whirlpool next to the king bed (honeymooners take note), the bathroom is huge (although it only has a single sink...in this day & age double sinks are de riguer), and the living room has a fireplace with a tiny kitchenette sink, frig & microwave.
Breakfast was superb..lots of choices from juice, to cereal, to eggs, ham, etc. Terrific coffee and pastries galore. Plus the Terrace Room where breakfast is served 7-10am gives you a view of the Pacific well worth the price of admission (I.e. staying here).
While we wouldn't (and couldn't) afford TWO nights here, ONE is certainly memorable enough to feel like TWO!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Saw this place 25 years ago...finally came back and stayed!
From the robes and slippers to the awesome views and Happy Hour and location...this is the place to stay.
Be sure to ask about your room view...I called months in ahead and was told the cove view was just as good as the ocean view... and I think it would have been if I had one of the cove views that didn't have the lower roof in my view, as well. That was the only negative...bummed me out because I called so far in advance.
Don't miss a hike at Pt Lobos!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and it was a great experience. We stayed in a room with a cove view and it was beautiful. Nice balcony to enjoy the view. The rooms are very nice, spacious, well decorated, comfortable and clean. The service was great! The breakfast was very good! And the 3:00 pm freshly made cookies where the best treat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.