We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But Not Sure It's Worth the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice, But Not Sure It's Worth the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at the Tickle Pink Inn try very hard to wow you with little "luxuries," like a bottle of champagne upon check-in, fancy bathroom amenities, nice linens, etc. Clearly, they are trying to make guests feel the experience is worth the steep price. If you've got the money to spend and don't care about the price, it's a nice stay. But, if you're watching your pennies and money is a factor, I'm not sure it's fully worth it. The room we had was really nice and the view of the cove - a direct view of the ocean is even more expensive -- was lovely. They offer a wine and cheese selection in the afternoons, but the space alotted for this on the deck is small for the number of guests who show up and there's some jockeying for seats. The same problem occurs at breakfast -- which is a relatively nice spread -- as people have to maneuver around each other to select food. Cramped quarters is an ongoing issue: the parking lot is tight, and the views, while beautiful, are sometimes limited by trees, other buildings, etc. Also, there is no elevator, and no air conditioning; the desk clerk said that the area doesn't get hot and advised us to open the doors. It's a nice place, but not as special as we had hoped, considering the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    149
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
54
651
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Coming up from Big Sur, we spent one night at the Tradewinds in Carmel (not worth the $) and then had 2 nights at TICKLE PINK. Nice wine and cheese reception, but the view and location up in the Carmel Highlands were spectacular. Nice feeling of being tucked away in a little oasis. Great spot for couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in one of the larger rooms (number 30)
The room was sumptuous, from the layout to furnishings and fittings, including amazing water views from our hilltop position.
The service was excellent, and unobtrusive.
Complimentary extras include afternoon cookies, buffet breakfast, newspapers and wi fi.
In addition Pam and her staff provided champagne and chocolates as we were celebrating my husband's 60th.
Positioned on the hilltop, Tickle Pink is within easy driving distance of Carmel by the sea, Monterey, 17 mile drive and Pebble Beach.
Nothing to fault.
Congratulations to everyone at Tickle Pink. Hope you make it to #1 on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this as part of our road trip down Highway 1. We loved what we saw on the website and decided to blow the budget for two nights here. To be honest, there's nothing 'wrong' with the hotel, it just wasn't what we were expecting.
Firstly, it's about a 4 mile drive past Carmel itself, high up on the cliff top. Great views of the ocean but as some of the contributors here have mentioned, it really is a motel dressed up to look better than it is.
The good points:
1. The views
2. The bed/bed linen - very comfortable, have to say.
3. Free wi-fi
The bad points:
1. Room isn't actually that big
2. No air conditioning
3. DVD collection - the 'recent hits' avaialble weren't that recent...!
4. Breakfast - not a great selection and given the room capacity of the hotel, not enough places available to sit both mornings we were there.
5. Room service charges - on our first night we decided to eat in and accepted that the cost of the food might be a little higher than usual. But we were shocked when the final bill came - they add 20% as a service charge as well as a $4 delivery charge! So a steak, pasta and a diet coke came to over $90!!!!!!

And the 'free' champagne and chocolates on arrival - well, given that the room was over-priced anyway, I think I would rather have paid less for the room and bought my own treats!

As I said at the beginning, there is nothing wrong with the hotel. But the website makes it look better than it is.

With hindsight, I'd have booked into Carmel itself - fabulous town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in an adequate room overlooking the cove, the view was spectacular and the sound from the ocean was nice to listen to. Room was sufficient for what we needed. Breakfast and afternoon wine reception were awesome where you can watch the sunset. This hotel is not within walking distance of the city of Carmel but very easy to get to the city and to Point Lobos state park. It was a great experience and the staff was very helpful. We went into the hot tub at night and it was beautiful. Would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This Inn has a very picturesque setting overlooking the craggy pacific coast and generally our stay was good. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate - quite foggy and cool, but we had nice day trips to Monterey, Carmel, and the Seventeen Mile Drive. You do need a car as this location is a little too far from town to walk. Don't book this inn if you enjoy nice breakfasts as they really leave a lot to be desired. You won't get soft cooked eggs - they're hard boiled or in overcooked quiche like tarts when we were there, and the buffet itself was rather lacking. The hot tub setting is nice, and it was particularly good to have this amenity in light of our poor weather. The afternoon wine and cheese is a really nice touch. The inn staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You need to be facing the ocean. Room 25 was good. Great, private balcony. Would get good sun if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked the Senator's Cottage for two nights with my wife and two children (10 and 8) as a treat on the way down the coast from SF to LA. Very welcoming staff and much appreciated touches like hand written notes, champagne and chocolates on arrival make you feel like you're being looked after. The Cottage garden has wonderful views over the ocean and feels secluded from the hotel and any other properties. Inside the space is generous, the shower being particularly large and the spa bath a real hit with the kids. One caveat is that the price of such a great view is proximity to Highway 1 so there is a good deal of road noise in the evenings if you have the windows open.
Carmel is twee and feels artificial, but was friendly enough and worth a visit. The beach is impeccably clean, but bracing, Bruno's is the best place for sandwiches and general supplies. 17 Mile Drive certainly worth taking, Pointe Lobos a must, spectacular scenery and you should go all the way to the end for the best access points.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#4 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.