We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa rooms are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spa rooms are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

This review is only for the Spa rooms. This room was fantastic for a romantic getaway. The view is incredible but the best part is that it is totally private. The room has about 25-30 ft of glass walls looking out over the ocean. There was absolutely no need to close the curtains since no one could look in. My wife and I spent much of time naked (and in the tub) with this great view. We only closed the curtains to keep the room dark. Even most of the outside deck was private. We later compared this room to the next-door Highlands Inn and were very grateful that we chose the Tickle Pink Inn. The Highlands Inn Spa room is on two levels, neither of which were private. In addition, the Highlands Inn was $300 more per night!

My (very minor) complaints (I am nitpicking here folks!):

I will admit the Tickle Pink Inn is not as modern as it could be and it could use a small microwave. It did have a nice flat panel TV and DVD player. The morning breakfast and the afternoon wine/cheese were nice, but could use some variety. The wireless connection was a bit tenuous from our room (#32). Still, we had a perfect 2nd honeymoon.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Lack of microwave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    143
    48
    23
    10
See reviews for
52
614
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn has an amazing wesite, and you think that you are getting something very special. You are not! Our room was run down and was showing wear-and-tear. There is no air conditioning. We hit a hot spell and ended up sleeping on the balcony. We checked out after one night and found a wonderful hotel in Carmel Valley. The Inn is really a motel that they have tried very hard to look like something special. For $350 a night(for the basic room), you can do much better.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — It was just a motel.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed at the Tickle PInk from June 15th through June 18th and were very impressd. The Inn is very relaxing from the minute you check in. We were greeted with champagne & chocolates that we consumed on our patio that evening. The breakfast is more than adequate with several hot entrees and freshly baked strudel and croisants every morning, your choice of cereals fresh fruit juices and coffee & tea. In the evening there is a wine & cheese with many types of cheeses crackers fruit and several types of local wines. The Inn is centrally located so that you may enjoy going south to Big Sur or north to Monterey Carmel Pacific Grove. All within driving distance and doable for a day trip. If we return to the area again we will definitely return to Tickle Pink Inn for some spoiling.

  • Liked — The view and the Food!
  • Disliked — No Gym
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed at the Tickle Pink for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We reserved a Jacuzzi room and got room 34 which is one of the larger rooms and offers wonderful views of the ocean. The tickle pink is at the top of a small cliff like mountain. I really enjoyed this hotel for it’s serenity. The wine and cheese every day from 4:30 to 6 p.m. can be enjoyed on the outdoor patio while taking in the views. The wine selection and cheeses were very nice. The breakfast is a continental with a few hot items added and overall a very nice and peaceful atmosphere. It’s hard to not feel relaxed here!

I think the Tickle Pink is definitely worth a try but Carmel-by-the-Sea (about 5 minutes away) has wonderful Inns and B&B’s with more amenities. The downside at Tickle Pink is there is no restaurant and a very limited room service menu. The room service menu offers popcorn and wine and cheese..etc.. which they offer anyway from 4:30 to 6 in the lounge. Maybe not a problem for most but in our opinion it’s nice to know there’s the option of ordering a meal in your room. One other thing -there is many stairs to climb up and down to get to your room and not much help with your luggage so difficult dragging your bags. Not a huge deal but I think worth mentioning.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — limited room service menu-no restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

We had a superb room looking down on the Ocean. It was really roomy. The bathroom was very comfortable and lovely toiletries.
We had a bottle of bubbly in our room, and we sat out on our terrace to enjoy the view. They had a good DVD service and we made sure we saw a bit of Clint while we were in Carmel.

We went for dinner at the California Market, just down the road, as suggested by the hotel, and it was really sumptious.

All the staff were great, and breakfast the next day was the best breakfast we had in the whole of our month stay in the States.

Thank you Tickle Pink!

  • Liked — The view and the bed
  • Disliked — A little dated furnishings
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We loved this place! The breakfast, view, and wine happy hour were a perfect way to unwind after our long flight. The room was comfortable and had a great view. We were in room 1.

We met some great couples who were on their 25th and 50th anniversaries. The location is good. You do have to drive about 10 mins to get to restaurants, but if you have a big lunch, the food at the happy hour is plenty. Loved the chocolates on arrival!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We stayed here based on reviews from TripAdvisor and it lived up to the reviews. Complimentary champagne was delivered to our room upon check in, they had a wine and cheese 'happy hour' as well as breakfast the next day. My only real complaint would be the decor of the room. We stayed in room 23, which had an amazing view to our right, but to our left we only saw the top of the roof of the rooms below us (so, if you stay there, look right...). The room had a living room and fireplace, which was covered in smoky grey/gold mirrors. So was the wet bar. I haven't seen smoky mirrors since 1980. The furniture was a bit outdated (white washed) as was the bathroom. I'm not sure if the other rooms were also outdated, or if they are making improvements as they go, but if the rooms were modernized with new interiors, I would have no complaints at all (and, really, it is a minor complaint at that, but when you are paying $300+ for a room, it should be updated.) We would definately go back.

  • Liked — Beautiful views
  • Disliked — The decor of the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.