We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senator's Cottage like a home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Senator's Cottage like a home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked the Senator's Cottage for two nights with my wife and two children (10 and 8) as a treat on the way down the coast from SF to LA. Very welcoming staff and much appreciated touches like hand written notes, champagne and chocolates on arrival make you feel like you're being looked after. The Cottage garden has wonderful views over the ocean and feels secluded from the hotel and any other properties. Inside the space is generous, the shower being particularly large and the spa bath a real hit with the kids. One caveat is that the price of such a great view is proximity to Highway 1 so there is a good deal of road noise in the evenings if you have the windows open.
Carmel is twee and feels artificial, but was friendly enough and worth a visit. The beach is impeccably clean, but bracing, Bruno's is the best place for sandwiches and general supplies. 17 Mile Drive certainly worth taking, Pointe Lobos a must, spectacular scenery and you should go all the way to the end for the best access points.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    140
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
46
574
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ended our holiday in Carmel and we stayed at this hotel because it has been recommended by a friend and I definitively recommend it to everyone.
The view of the ocean is amazing and the room is very clean and beautiful, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is like new. The staff is very competent and helpful and the breakfast is good (having breakfast with that view is fantastic).
The are only two downsides: the price and no AC.
The price is quite high but it follows the principle "you get what you pay for", a great hotel priced right.
The AC is more an annoyance than a real problem: if you stay in the room at around 4pm is really hot but other than that (after 5.30pm and in the morning) heat isn't an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Want the best view in the Carmel area? Room 14 has to be one of the best. We also had firewood for a "real" fire for the one night we stayed here. Since it was our Anniversary we wanted a special room.

Room was quiet. Bed very comfortable. Pet seagull was waiting for us on the railing outside early in the morning.

Happy hour with better than average wine and cheese was a added pleasure. Breakfast also was better than most B&B's. Another guest told us that the breakfast was bad so we expected it to be sub par. It was great. ( can't please all the people all the time )

We were glad to have selected the Tickle Pink for our special day.

One minor problem. We emailed them the day before our arrival asking for help and info. No reply.

Other than this small issue, the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for firewood other wise you can use the fake oil log etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First you can't beat the surroundings. Hiking Point Lobos was a great way to view the ocean.
When we checked in we truly felt like they wanted us there, and wanted us to be comfortable.
In the room was complimentary water, yogurt, and chocolates. They said "you may be a little hungry or thirsty, so in the room we have provided some small snacks. Champagne chilled wwith 2 glasses was also waiting in the room.
If that isn't enough they had wine and cheese social from 4 - 6. And a complimentary breakfast.
Our room was a "partial view" but we felt it was a great view. The room felt very secluded, we had a balcony that overlooked the ocean. The room was fabulous.
The ambiance of this hotel and the staff may rank as the best stay I have had in a hotel. We were so sad we only had one night.
On this trip, we spent a few nights at the Terranea Resort in Rancho Palo Verdes, California,
We spent 2 nights at Santa Barbara at the Fess Parker Doubletree / Hilton
and one night at the Big Sur Lodge in the state park.
The Tickle Pink was our very favorite, romantic place to stay. We hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We wanted to spend a special few days in Carmel for our 44th anniversary and this was it. I can't speak for the other rooms but we booked a large suite with a wrap around porch ( room 32) and it was magnificent. We did not experience road noise from route 1 down below as one other reviewer mentioned and we slept very well. The views are stunning. Just remember that summer in Carmel is foggy so you may want to consider September.

As soon as we got there the staff brought us a bottle of campaign with flowers and chocolate's to celebrate our anniversary. What a nice unexpected touch. The service is outstanding. Afternoon wine and cheese is lovely as well as the buffet breakfast. The price is a little steep but this is Carmel in the high season and this is an exceptional Inn which is what you pay for. I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you can spring for the suites, do it. Best views, no adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

WOW! Tickle Pink Inn is just fantastic. We had an ocean view room and what a view. Spectacular location, setting and views. The room was simply breath taking. They pride themselves on the sleep quality and we had the best 2 nights sleep in the most comfortable, soft, squishy bed and pillows ever. The sound sleep box was greatly appreciated. The attention to detail was most impressive. The bathroom HUGE and beautifully appointed with soft fluffy towels and all kinds of toiletries to compliment the spa bath. Champagne and chocolates were a real treat, if somewhat indulgent! Wine and cheese in the afternoon was wonderful - you really did not need to eat after this afternoon delight. A great social time too and we met some lovely people who gave us valuable advice for our drive down the Big Sur. Could not fault this wonderful inn.

Room Tip: I think you really need an ocean view room to fully appreciate the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary here. It was our first trip to Carmel, and we were delighted with the Tickle Pink Inn. The location is spectacular, set high in the hills with an unbelievable view of the ocean. We especially appreciated the lovely champagne and chocolate treat, which we enjoyed as we watched a beautiful sunset. The building is old, but seems to be well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.