We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary weekend splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Simi Valley, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“10th Anniversary weekend splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked the hotel for our 10 year anniversary. I will admit I was concerned spending so much just for the view. But in the end it was truly worth it, once you open your room door and see the view right as you enter is just priceless. I guess I got lucky and got booked in a great room sweet 16, which is an ocean view suite. I would highly recommend this suite as the balcony of this room was huge and wrapped around the the corner, providing excellent views in all directions. The room was very comfortable with a fireplace and a very comfortable king size bed. The hotel is very close to Carmel which is great, a short 10 min drive into town. Point Lobos is just up the 1 about 5 minutes away. Staff were friendly and helpful. My wife had an amazing anniversary weekend and the Tickle Pink inn was a huge part of that. Drinking wine on the deck chairs and watching the sunset was a wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Sweet 16 if your looking for an ocean view suite is fantastic, very large balcony with amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    134
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
44
546
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night during the week of our 30th Anniversary. We actually walked in without a reservation after driving up US01 from Pismo, and were fortunate to have a few rooms to choose from (midweek). Deciding to book here is not a decision to take lightly, as it is $350 - $400+ per night, but they do treat you right, and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous, comfortable, and spotless. Being close to Carmel, and having a room with a spectacular view of the Pacific sunset is a plus too - we had a perfectly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barueri, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We drove from LA to Carmel by US01.
Got just in time to see the sunset in our room balcony. Breathtaking,
A few minuter after we´ve checked in hotel staff sent us a bottle of prosecco with a rose.
Room is amazing, with a very cozy fireplace.
friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tickle Pink for 5 nights in May. At 400.00 a night, this was quite an investment! I spent some time on the phone with the hotel as to the rooms, view, etc. Even though we booked at least 3 months in advance, we had to change rooms after the first night. That was fine... no problem. We were absolutely assured that rooms 5 and 12 were among their best rooms, and that the view would be spectacular. When we arrived to room 5, we were somewhat disappointed because the room was small, and the view was obstructed by the roof of the building below us. We could see the ocean and the cove, but the ugly roof was very distracting. We had to hold the camera up high off the balcony to avoid the roof in our photos. When we moved to room 12 the next day, it was WAY worse. Now we could see "the hillside", the cove, and the ocean off to the right. The roof was much more noticeable than before. We were so disappointed, especially since we were led to believe that the view would be fantastic. When we called to see if there were better rooms, the lady said, "You mean you can't see the ocean AT ALL?" We met many fun people at breakfast and at the wine and cheese gatherings. Most all of them were repeat customers, and were aware of the "better" rooms that we should have asked for. As first time visitors, we had no clue that there would be that much difference in the views, which is really why most people stay there. We won't be back since the staff was totally uninterested in the fact that we weren't happy. We have stayed at The Cypress Inn before, and made a mistake not going back there. Absolutely NO comparison in the two hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful location, large rooms with execellent views of the Ocean. After checking in a bottle of champage and a pink rose was delivered to our room, compliments of the hotel. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was very generous, great wine. Loved the area of Carmel by the sea. Book a reservation early to go to Demetre's restuarant, Greek food was awesome and the people there make you feel so welcome. One of the chef's came out and sand while we were there, very impressed.
Take the costal route and make sure you do the 17 mile drive, have lunch at Pebble beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Tickle Pink is a special hotel. The decor is five star and the view is ten star! They serve excellent complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon on a deck with a spectacular view of the Pacific Coast. This was a great place for a romantic anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: Spend the money on a full ocean view. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is not a Ritz Carlton in terms of service. If you are looking for an amazing view, a very nicely done room (high end sheets, towels, bathrooms, etc.) and some real nice perks, then this is the place.

Of the places I saw in Carmel, this is the one i would choose again. The view is amazing.

We aren't normally into the hotel cocktail hour bit, but the one that Tickle Pink puts on is legit. Some decent wines and great cheeses. Would no miss that.

Breakfast was kind of weak. Not much in terms of options. Pastries/Coffee was about it.

NOT a place for kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.