We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Carmel
San Jose
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tuesday, October 30; my husband and I started our life together at Tickle Pink Inn on the balcony of room 33. Tickle Pink is such a beautiful place and the staff is very accommodating. Our guests were very happy to have joined us in this little piece of heaven. I cannot think of a better place to have started our life together. Thank you Tickle Pink for making our day so special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. Even the room without the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    133
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
43
530
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We treated ourselves to a 4 night stay here after a frenetic week in Vegas and it was the perfect antidote. We had a room with ocean view and balcony and it was spectacular, both during the day and through sunsets to evenings.

The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated if a little dated and twee- but that seems to be the norm for this type of hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable, especially once you removed the 6 extra cushions that decorated it.

The cheese and wine reception each evening was delightful with some customers clearly feeling that there was no need to restrict their intake at all (is it really necessary to help yourself to 4 heaped plates of cheese??). Again the views at this time of day were wonderful and it was nice to chat to other guests.

Breakfast is included each morning and this is varied and set out buffet style-there is so much choice and so little room in this area that things can get a little tight. There is a hot selection, but this was our biggest disappointment as it was never hot only lukewarm at best and this did affect the taste, making it bland. The juices, pastries, breads and fruit were lovely.

The staff are discreet and pleasant and immediately responsive to any requests.

There is a wonderfully positioned hot tub which we enjoyed and soft robes to wear there and back.

Parking is a little tight but that is to be expected given the location and everyone is pretty good natured about moving cars around etc. Easy driving distance to Carmel and Monterey.

Do go if you get a chance.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a balcony to access your own private view of the amazing sunset and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Tickle Pink Inn in Carmel is the most GEORGEOUS, Relaxing, Incredible views, wonderful food, and terrific staff!!! The view from our room, the Crows Nest," of the ocean was breath taking!!! We did not leave the Inn except to go for a run!! We will definately be going back!!! Thank you Tickle Pink Inn!!!

Room Tip: The "Crows Nest Room" is the BEST!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This small hotel is just above a bed-n-breakfast in size but is is over the top in experience and service. The rooms are well appointed, neat, comfortable and I could go on BUT the view is just amazing! The balcony at sunset or late night stargazing over the dark Pacific night is truly an experience! Every afternoon they have a wine and cheese "get together" on a hotel balcony with the other guests and an atmosphere that "promotes" conversation...it is just so at ease it is hard to NOT put it on your daily schedule! Great hotel for a "honeymoon destination" AND it is right near Carmel By The Sea! The service personell are just fantastic...in our short stay we turned to the several times and their response is with the best of any hotel I've stayed. I will go back!

Room Tip: I did not see all of the room but there is NOT a bad view...you may want a fireplace if the time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a beautiful location perched across the street from the Pacific with spectacular views and situated near all the attractions one would want to be close to. The amenities of the Inn were extraordinary. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the guests shared a sense of camaraderie at breakfast and at the wine and cheese evening get together. Privacy was abundant if desired. Very romantic and well appointed rooms. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If only all accommodation was like this. Travelling would always be a pleasure. In a fantastic setting overlooking the ocean it was sheer indulgence. Beautiful room with huge balcony, brilliant, helpful staff (especially Pamela), cheese and wine on the terrace each afternoon and cookies!
Treat yourself - you won't regret it. Carmel is a wonderful town and this unique Inn is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher the better. We had Room 14 which was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booking a room at Tickle Pink Inn has always been a dream of mine and the hubby was so wonderful to book a room for us to celebrate a special occasion. We wanted a room with the jacuzzi and fireplace but the best room we could get in short notice was an ocean view room (Rm 19) with a balcony (we only called a month in advance to reserve). The view of the water is amazing especially during the sunset which is really what you are paying for- the views! However, the room is just ok and frankly was a bit underwhelming given the rate of the room ($400 with tax). The decor and furniture of the room felt either mish mash or outdated. I understand the room is suppose to have a classic traditional look but it doesn't have to be outdated. We have stayed at other less expensive hotels where the details of the rooms were more superior compared to Tickle Pink Inn's (i.e. The Fairmont in Sonoma).The room does provide you with toiletries, robes and slippers, and a bottle of champagne upon arrival - but for me that was not enough for the price. They do have the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon which was nice and the complimentary breakfast that you can have delivered in your room. Basically, without the balcony with the ocean view, I would have been really disappointed. I would recommend getting a room with the Rm #s 30 and up(i.e. Rm #33, 34, etc.) where you have better views. I also think the rooms with a cove view are better vs. the ocean view room. The cove gives you the view of the ocean with the rocks. Also, during our stay there was construction going on right across so that bothered us a bit. Overall, if you want to stay in Carmel and are willing to splurge I would still recommend Tickle Pink Inn to celebrate those special occasions. However, I suggest looking at other places and accommodations to get what you're paying for and to experience a true 5 star romantic luxury experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with the Rm #s 30 and up (i.e. Rm 33, 34, etc.) where you have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.