We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place we've ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tickle Pink Inn
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Van Buren, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nicest place we've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I got married on the balcony of our room at the Tickle Pink. While this place was expensive, it was the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff was incredibly helpful and the room was immaculate. We were upgraded to one of the Jacuzzi suites upon arrival and everything about the room was perfect.

My wife and I will return here as much as possible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    136
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
44
553
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The only thing close is another hotel. Five winding miles to Carmel. Lots of stairs. Staff reluctant to help with baggage. Stayed in two different rooms. The regular guest room was nice enough if you didn't mind hearing people walk overhead. The upstairs suite was lovely. No safes. Wine and cheese only O.K. and expanded buffet breakfast just so-so. Views are terrific. I have T-Mobil and didn't have any cell phone service. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We regret that this guest would not wish to stay with us again. We are very sorry and apologize for not having met their standards/requirements.

It is our policy to help guests with their luggage and we apologize that our staff appeared reluctant when offering assistance. We can assure you that issue has been addressed and resolved. On a more positive note, we will be adding safes and introducing a new expanded continental breakfast line-up this winter! We are excited...and are sure that this guest would be too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed last week. Between my boyfriend and I, we have stayed at a lot of places and seen many of views. As we walked in, my boyfriend looked at me and said, "Well, this is the best view of anywhere I have ever stayed". Enough said.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are great. we stayed in a king suite room 34...awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Tickle Pink Inn last week. This is a gorgeous inn tucked along the rocky coast. The bedding and the beds were extremely comfortable, they had fresh ground Starbucks coffee in our room, a lovely wine and cheese reception daily and a stunning balcony to see the magnificent coast. It was a fabulous spot! The only drawback that there is only one restaurant (very expensive) within walking distance, which is located at an adjacent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

my husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Tickle Pink. This is THE hotel in Carmel for a romantic getaway - we met couples at the wine tasting that return on their anniversary every 5 years, and we can see why. we will be back too.

Our room was a spacious king suite featuring a full balcony and glass wall with nearly a 180 degree view of the Pacific. The room included a mini fridge, full coffee maker with starbucks fresh ground coffee, spa robe and slippers, wine glasses, luxury linens, a whirlpool tub, fireplace with duraflame logs provided, water bottles replenished daily, champagne on arrival, continental breakfast delivered to our room every morning, and wine tasting every evening with the other guests. The rooms were exceptionally clean; the staff was unobtrusive and efficient, the grounds are lovely. When we first drove up we wondered if we were in the right place - until we opened the door to our room.
this hotel is not new, but it has been very meticulously upgraded and tended to. the glass doors roll with the touch of a finger (not an easy thing to accomplish in a salty climate) and the bathroom was modern and luxurious. The hard furnishings are a bit dated in the room but somehow suit the space, and the linens are wonderful. The hotel provides 2 luggage stands - one of my pet peeves is hotels that provide a place for only one piece of luggage in a king or double bed room. (?!) Just one more little thing they do right at the Tickle Pink.
the wine tasting is nightly on their ocean view cliff side deck. nice local wines were served with an assortment of cheeses and fruits. breakfast is also served here if you prefer not to have it delivered to you each morning.
we found that we didnt do much touring in the area. the hotel was so nice that we mainly stayed in our room!!! we were on a 10 day driving tour of San Francisco, yosemite, cambria, and carmel/monterrey, and happened on the Tickle Pink out of sheer luck using Trip Advisor reviews. We booked 2 nights and wish we had more time. Next time we will probably just go there and skip San Franciso! The Tickle Pink was just what 2 road-weary 50 somethings needed to end our journey before returning to SF to go home. we really wish we had more time and could have stayed longer!!
fyi - this hotel is in Carmel Highlands and it can be foggy there at night. We had dinner delivered one night from a nearby restaurant; the front desk made several recommendations when we mentioned that we did not feel like getting back in the car to go out. there is also a limited snack menu that can be delivered to you by the hotel staff. they also have movies and binoculars avaiable upon request.
our only negative comment was room 31 had a bit of road noise around rush hour, but the view more than made up for that.

Room Tip: we booked room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I think they keep the name to stop the hoard. Its has very clean rooms with upscale linens. Its allot less expensive than the Highlands next door, and you can still use their restaurants. I use it when the Highlands is booked and if their rates are ridiculous.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room, but all the views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights as part of our Californian road trip.
The reception staff are lovely and incredibly helpful.
Sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival were much appreciated.
Cheese and wine are served every afternoon but we were never there in time.
Breakfast is a simple but plentiful buffet.
There's no restaurant in teh hotel serving dinner but you can order items such as cheese platters and meat platters via room service but be careful how many you order as the portions were very generous and easily served 2 people.
A huge comfy bed and great blackout curtains ensured a peaceful sleep.
It's quite pricey and no doubt worth it if you do have a special anniversary planned or a large diamond secreted in your pocket to pop the question on the balcony - it appears to be a popular theme there. The hotel plays on its romantic location but a glass of bubbles and a truffle in front of a crackling log fire are just as much fun with a great friend and the bed's so big you don't ever meet in the middle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.