We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we Expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than we Expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Tickle Pink Inn last week. This is a gorgeous inn tucked along the rocky coast. The bedding and the beds were extremely comfortable, they had fresh ground Starbucks coffee in our room, a lovely wine and cheese reception daily and a stunning balcony to see the magnificent coast. It was a fabulous spot! The only drawback that there is only one restaurant (very expensive) within walking distance, which is located at an adjacent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    150
    53
    24
    10
See reviews for
56
659
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

my husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Tickle Pink. This is THE hotel in Carmel for a romantic getaway - we met couples at the wine tasting that return on their anniversary every 5 years, and we can see why. we will be back too.

Our room was a spacious king suite featuring a full balcony and glass wall with nearly a 180 degree view of the Pacific. The room included a mini fridge, full coffee maker with starbucks fresh ground coffee, spa robe and slippers, wine glasses, luxury linens, a whirlpool tub, fireplace with duraflame logs provided, water bottles replenished daily, champagne on arrival, continental breakfast delivered to our room every morning, and wine tasting every evening with the other guests. The rooms were exceptionally clean; the staff was unobtrusive and efficient, the grounds are lovely. When we first drove up we wondered if we were in the right place - until we opened the door to our room.
this hotel is not new, but it has been very meticulously upgraded and tended to. the glass doors roll with the touch of a finger (not an easy thing to accomplish in a salty climate) and the bathroom was modern and luxurious. The hard furnishings are a bit dated in the room but somehow suit the space, and the linens are wonderful. The hotel provides 2 luggage stands - one of my pet peeves is hotels that provide a place for only one piece of luggage in a king or double bed room. (?!) Just one more little thing they do right at the Tickle Pink.
the wine tasting is nightly on their ocean view cliff side deck. nice local wines were served with an assortment of cheeses and fruits. breakfast is also served here if you prefer not to have it delivered to you each morning.
we found that we didnt do much touring in the area. the hotel was so nice that we mainly stayed in our room!!! we were on a 10 day driving tour of San Francisco, yosemite, cambria, and carmel/monterrey, and happened on the Tickle Pink out of sheer luck using Trip Advisor reviews. We booked 2 nights and wish we had more time. Next time we will probably just go there and skip San Franciso! The Tickle Pink was just what 2 road-weary 50 somethings needed to end our journey before returning to SF to go home. we really wish we had more time and could have stayed longer!!
fyi - this hotel is in Carmel Highlands and it can be foggy there at night. We had dinner delivered one night from a nearby restaurant; the front desk made several recommendations when we mentioned that we did not feel like getting back in the car to go out. there is also a limited snack menu that can be delivered to you by the hotel staff. they also have movies and binoculars avaiable upon request.
our only negative comment was room 31 had a bit of road noise around rush hour, but the view more than made up for that.

Room Tip: we booked room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I think they keep the name to stop the hoard. Its has very clean rooms with upscale linens. Its allot less expensive than the Highlands next door, and you can still use their restaurants. I use it when the Highlands is booked and if their rates are ridiculous.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room, but all the views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights as part of our Californian road trip.
The reception staff are lovely and incredibly helpful.
Sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival were much appreciated.
Cheese and wine are served every afternoon but we were never there in time.
Breakfast is a simple but plentiful buffet.
There's no restaurant in teh hotel serving dinner but you can order items such as cheese platters and meat platters via room service but be careful how many you order as the portions were very generous and easily served 2 people.
A huge comfy bed and great blackout curtains ensured a peaceful sleep.
It's quite pricey and no doubt worth it if you do have a special anniversary planned or a large diamond secreted in your pocket to pop the question on the balcony - it appears to be a popular theme there. The hotel plays on its romantic location but a glass of bubbles and a truffle in front of a crackling log fire are just as much fun with a great friend and the bed's so big you don't ever meet in the middle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

What a great place. We have been coming here for years.
It starts when we are greeted by freshly baked cookies at check-in. Right then we choose a couple of DVDs (usually including Play Misty For Me since it was filmed right in this area) and borrow a pair of binoculars. Next, champagne and chocolates are delivered to the room.
We have always stayed on the top floor and almost always in Suite 16. This is a spacious suite with two flat screen TVs and a fireplace. (If you have a family, the adjoining room can also be rented and accessed by a connecting door.) The balcony wraps around for a fantastic panoramic view.
There is an early evening wine and cheese reception on the deck. Sometimes we enjoy this alone and sometimes someone will join us and we'll have the most interesting conversations. The view from here is fabulous too.
Duraflame logs are provided in the rooms but we prefer real wood which is also available. You can get it yourself or have it brought up for you.
The beds and linens are so-o-o comfy. Breakfast is served on the deck or you can have it delivered to your room. Wi-fi works very well here. Parking is very near the rooms and there is never a problem finding a space.
There is a highway between the hotel and the ocean but (at least in the rooms we have stayed in) the noise is not an issue.
We have always found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. At checkout we always sign up for next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent a week in the Carmel area and stayed at Tickle Pink...everything was fabulous! The view, fireplace in the room and especially the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations and prompt service. If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay that is close to town, we highly recommend Tickle Pink!!

Room Tip: Room 21 had a fabulous view. Be sure to ask for a fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Beautiful inn with breathtaking views of the ocean. Really nice folks running the hotel. Room was nice and clean. Free bottle of Champagne at night and a nice free breakfast delivered to the room in the morning. Much nicer than the Hyatt next door.

Room Tip: Ocean view terrace a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.