We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Fantastic View, Don't be scared by the name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Carmel
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Value, Fantastic View, Don't be scared by the name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I think they keep the name to stop the hoard. Its has very clean rooms with upscale linens. Its allot less expensive than the Highlands next door, and you can still use their restaurants. I use it when the Highlands is booked and if their rates are ridiculous.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room, but all the views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    132
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
41
518
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights as part of our Californian road trip.
The reception staff are lovely and incredibly helpful.
Sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival were much appreciated.
Cheese and wine are served every afternoon but we were never there in time.
Breakfast is a simple but plentiful buffet.
There's no restaurant in teh hotel serving dinner but you can order items such as cheese platters and meat platters via room service but be careful how many you order as the portions were very generous and easily served 2 people.
A huge comfy bed and great blackout curtains ensured a peaceful sleep.
It's quite pricey and no doubt worth it if you do have a special anniversary planned or a large diamond secreted in your pocket to pop the question on the balcony - it appears to be a popular theme there. The hotel plays on its romantic location but a glass of bubbles and a truffle in front of a crackling log fire are just as much fun with a great friend and the bed's so big you don't ever meet in the middle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

What a great place. We have been coming here for years.
It starts when we are greeted by freshly baked cookies at check-in. Right then we choose a couple of DVDs (usually including Play Misty For Me since it was filmed right in this area) and borrow a pair of binoculars. Next, champagne and chocolates are delivered to the room.
We have always stayed on the top floor and almost always in Suite 16. This is a spacious suite with two flat screen TVs and a fireplace. (If you have a family, the adjoining room can also be rented and accessed by a connecting door.) The balcony wraps around for a fantastic panoramic view.
There is an early evening wine and cheese reception on the deck. Sometimes we enjoy this alone and sometimes someone will join us and we'll have the most interesting conversations. The view from here is fabulous too.
Duraflame logs are provided in the rooms but we prefer real wood which is also available. You can get it yourself or have it brought up for you.
The beds and linens are so-o-o comfy. Breakfast is served on the deck or you can have it delivered to your room. Wi-fi works very well here. Parking is very near the rooms and there is never a problem finding a space.
There is a highway between the hotel and the ocean but (at least in the rooms we have stayed in) the noise is not an issue.
We have always found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. At checkout we always sign up for next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent a week in the Carmel area and stayed at Tickle Pink...everything was fabulous! The view, fireplace in the room and especially the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations and prompt service. If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay that is close to town, we highly recommend Tickle Pink!!

Room Tip: Room 21 had a fabulous view. Be sure to ask for a fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Beautiful inn with breathtaking views of the ocean. Really nice folks running the hotel. Room was nice and clean. Free bottle of Champagne at night and a nice free breakfast delivered to the room in the morning. Much nicer than the Hyatt next door.

Room Tip: Ocean view terrace a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

TicklePink offers privacy and a view unlike any other in my California experience. I have lived in California and travelled it extensively. If I was to suggest just 1 location and accommodation to see and feel the true natural beauty of California-TicklePink would be it. The number of rooms is limited and the privacy of our suite was absolute. It felt like we had the coastal view all to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed only one night for our anniversary - and I suspect most of the other couples were there for the same. The motel like exterior gave way to a comfortable, well-appointed room (if not spacious). The ocean views are incredible and the semi-private balcony was a nice touch. In a great location allowing easy access to Carmel/Monterey or the Big Sur area. The included breakfast can be delivered to your room and was decent. Our stay was only slightly marred by the noise of light construction work going on right outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Pink Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list