We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it and planning on coming back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Save
You added Tickle Pink Inn to your Saves list
155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it and planning on coming back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent a week in the Carmel area and stayed at Tickle Pink...everything was fabulous! The view, fireplace in the room and especially the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations and prompt service. If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay that is close to town, we highly recommend Tickle Pink!!

Room Tip: Room 21 had a fabulous view. Be sure to ask for a fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Beautiful inn with breathtaking views of the ocean. Really nice folks running the hotel. Room was nice and clean. Free bottle of Champagne at night and a nice free breakfast delivered to the room in the morning. Much nicer than the Hyatt next door.

Room Tip: Ocean view terrace a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen_Mark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

TicklePink offers privacy and a view unlike any other in my California experience. I have lived in California and travelled it extensively. If I was to suggest just 1 location and accommodation to see and feel the true natural beauty of California-TicklePink would be it. The number of rooms is limited and the privacy of our suite was absolute. It felt like we had the coastal view all to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed only one night for our anniversary - and I suspect most of the other couples were there for the same. The motel like exterior gave way to a comfortable, well-appointed room (if not spacious). The ocean views are incredible and the semi-private balcony was a nice touch. In a great location allowing easy access to Carmel/Monterey or the Big Sur area. The included breakfast can be delivered to your room and was decent. Our stay was only slightly marred by the noise of light construction work going on right outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awatanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The service we received at the TP was incredible. The staff was very accomodating. The room was beyond nice. We stayed in room 6 (fireplace suite). The balcony was large and gave us the opportunity to see the beautiful coastline. The location was perfect. The TP is right on a cliff so we were able to sit on the balcony/deck and have breakfast each morning. We did not make it to the lounge for breakfast, we had it on our balcony. Warning: dont leave the food unattended on the balcony because the birds will come and take your food!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AishaProvost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Tickle Pink Inn really delivered. My girlfriend and I decided to stay here for our second anniversary. It was such a great decision. For some perspective, it was a mostly older crowd here. Retired/middle aged. However, my girlfriend and I are in our early 20's.

Check-in was quick and simple. The ladies at the front office are so kind and courteous. At $400-500 a night, you might expect snooty service. Not at all here. They had warm, soft cookies available also. We checked out a pair of binoculars based on reviews. They also have updated their movie collection, which includes a ton of classics as well as new releases. Because they are so popular and we only booked a couple months in advance, we had a room move in the middle of our stay. (Tickle Pink Inn is one of those hotels that reserves specific rooms when you make a reservation rather than assigning the room at check-in). I will get into the room move later...It went smoothly.

They rooms are categorized as having some of or all of the following: partial view, ocean view, balcony, fireplace, hot tub. Depending on the price, your room will have some or all of these characteristics. Our first room was the ocean view with fireplace for two nights. It was so warm and cozy in this room. At first, we were worried about noise based on the location (I won't give it away, because I don't want you to request it!). However, it ended up being the perfect spot noise-wise and no one ever parked near our room. (parking was never an issue here, even with no vacancy).

The beds were very comfy. I've never slept with a duvet before. I didn't even use the sheets or blankets. The duvet was perfect. We never used the fireplace, as the room had the perfect temperature. I would recommend sitting on the balcony if you stick around at sunset. The room got a little warm, as the sun was beaming right into the windows. We tried the A/C, but I'm fairly certain that it is a heater and not an A/C, even though it went down to 50. (50 blew out hot air in both rooms). We never called, as it was not that stuffy. They supply two fans under the sink, and one fan was enough to circulate the air and cool us down. Our room had a large flat screen with a DVD player. We also had a balcony, although the access was outside our door and not through a sliding glass door like you may think. It was still fairly private. We had a seagull that hung around.

The wine and cheese reception was great. My girlfriend and I are not wine drinkers, so we went with the apple cider varieties. They had great cheese, bread, and cracker selections. The selections were the same each night, but no big deal there. Go early to get a nice spot on the deck. We only had breakfast on our last day and were not disappointed we missed it the other days. It was almost Motel 6 bad.... No big deal there as well. We like eating out for breakfast. You'd think they would ship in some delicious baked goods from somewhere based on the price of the rooms. But that's ok.

Our second room was huge. It was the ocean view, fireplace, and hot tub. It had all the same amenities as above, except a larger balcony. We felt like the room was just too big. We missed our first room, which felt more like a bed and breakfast. The location of this room was not great, as you had to walk down lots of stairs and deep into the property. The hot tub in the room was nice though. And as long as you put the towel down, there was no problem with the room getting wet as some have complained. Only complaint with the bathroom was that the closet, sink, shower, vanity, full length mirror, and toilet are all in bathroom. If you want to use the toilet, there is no separate area. I know everyone likes a little privacy now and then. This room was also a little noisier, with so many rooms around it and some kind of service room behind us.

None of these complaints were intolerable or in any way ruined our stay. I work for a hotel in Vegas and know that just like your own home, nothing can be perfect. This is why I gave the Tickle Pink Inn such a good rating. The location is perfect. Our first room was perfect. The service was excellent and friendly. The amenities were great. And I think it was worth every penny!

Room Tip: go with the ocean view fireplace - best size and price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We found Tickle Pink on Trip Advisor and I was slightly concerned by some comments. The Tickle Pink was fantastic. Front desk were helpful and welcoming, loved the wine and cheese reception, birthday sparkling wine, amazing beds and linen and the fastest room service ever known.

It is one of those hotels you arrive and feel at home. Complimentary DVDs perfect for a night after a long drive and chill out with wine and cheese.

Thank you Tickle Pink, hope to return from Sydney again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing